Comfort: an atlas for the body and soul

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2011.
Language:
English
Description
For readers of Kathleen Norris and Gretchen Rubin, a thought-provoking examination of the meaning of comfort. Comfort is a universal human need. It's that craving to feel at one with the world we live in, warm (but not hot), protected (but not smothered), and secure (but not marooned) in what the future holds. Yet in our increasingly complex and overstressed world, we tend to overlook this important aspect in our lives.

In Comfort: An Atlas for the Body and Soul , Brett C. Hoover, a scholar and Catholic priest, explores what comfort means-and it means different things to different people. He delves into the psychological, emotional, and spiritual facets of comfort and offers ways to rediscover it. With insight and humor, Hoover writes about the advantages and the pitfalls of seeking-and finding-comfort as he guides us towards the goal we should strive for: to find comfort in our own lives as we offer comfort to others.

By turns lyrical and thought-provoking, funny and poignant, Comfort is full of engaging and unexpected insights in our very human search for personal fulfillment.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781594485480
9781101545638
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID d3792739-a12f-7ec4-3d85-527b279b571b
Grouping Title comfort an atlas for the body and soul
Grouping Author hoover brett c
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-12-07 23:12:40PM
Last Indexed 2019-12-07 23:55:55PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Hoover, Brett C., 1967-
author_display Hoover, Brett C
available_at_catalog Goodlettsville
Inglewood
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Goodlettsville - Adult Non-Fiction
Inglewood - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description Comfort is a universal human need. Hoover explores what comfort means-- and how it means different things to different people. He delves into the psychological, emotional, and spiritual facets of comfort and offers ways to rediscover it.
format_catalog Book
eBook
format_category_catalog Books
eBook
id d3792739-a12f-7ec4-3d85-527b279b571b
isbn 9781101545638
9781594485480
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000382163 35192042240568 Inglewood - Adult Non-Fiction 128.4 H7894c 1 false false On Shelf IN
ils:CARL0000382163 35192042240550 Goodlettsville - Adult Non-Fiction 128.4 H7894c 1 false false On Shelf GO
overdrive:5ea06215-79b3-4f46-9ab3-c18c28c597a9 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
itype_catalog
Book
last_indexed 2019-12-08T05:55:55.753Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 128.4 H7894c
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Goodlettsville
Inglewood
primary_isbn 9781594485480
publishDate 2011
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000382163 Book Books 1st Riverhead trade pbk. ed. English Riverhead Books, 2011. ix, 292 p. ; 21 cm.
overdrive:5ea06215-79b3-4f46-9ab3-c18c28c597a9 eBook eBook English Penguin Publishing Group 2011
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000382163 35192042240568 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000382163 35192042240550 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:5ea06215-79b3-4f46-9ab3-c18c28c597a9 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Contentment
Human comfort
Peace of mind
Quality of life
Satisfaction
Senses and sensation
title_display Comfort : an atlas for the body and soul
title_full Comfort : an atlas for the body and soul / Brett C. Hoover
Comfort An Atlas for the Body and Soul
title_short Comfort :
title_sub an atlas for the body and soul
topic_facet Contentment
Human comfort
Nonfiction
Peace of mind
Quality of life
Religion & Spirituality
Satisfaction
Senses and sensation