Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

All library locations are closed beginning at 6 PM Wednesday, Nov 21, and reopen for normal hours on Saturday, Nov 24. Happy Thanksgiving!

A small indiscretion: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For readers of Meg Wolitzer, Elizabeth Strout, and Anna Quindlen, A Small Indiscretion is a gripping and ultimately redemptive novel of love and its dangers, marriage and its secrets, youth and its treacherous mistakes.   A Small Indiscretion fixes an unflinching eye on the power of desire and the danger of obsession as it unfolds the story of one woman's reckoning with a youthful mistake.   At nineteen, Annie Black trades a bleak future in her washed-out hometown for a London winter of drinking to oblivion and yearning for deliverance. Some two decades later, she is married to a good man and settled in San Francisco, with a son and two daughters and a successful career designing artistic interior lights. One June morning, a photograph arrives in her mailbox, igniting an old longing and setting off a chain of events that rock the foundations of her marriage and threaten to overturn her family's hard-won happiness.   The novel moves back and forth across time between San Francisco in the present and that distant winter in Europe. The two worlds converge and explode when the adult Annie returns to London seeking answers, her indiscretions come to light, and the phone rings with shocking news about her son. Now Annie must fight to save her family by piecing together the mystery of her past--the fateful collision of liberation and abandon and sexual desire that drew an invisible map of her future.   A Small Indiscretion is a riveting debut novel about a woman's search for understanding and forgiveness, a taut exploration of a modern marriage, and of love--the kind that destroys, and the kind that redeems. Advance praise for A Small Indiscretion "An engrossing, believable, gracefully written family drama that reveals our past's bare-knuckle grip on our present." --Emma Donoghue, New York Times bestselling author of Room   "A stunning debut by Jan Ellison . . . Like the photograph that arrives in the mail and sets in motion the plot of this gorgeous novel, A Small Indiscretion reminds us of the intensity of youthful desire and of the fragile nature of a marriage built on secrecy." --Ann Packer, New York Times bestselling author of The Dive from Clausen's Pier   "It might be convenient if our mistakes would fade with time rather than hunt us down complete with consequence, but that wouldn't make for the kind of taut, hypnotic story Jan Ellison tells. The impact of narrator Annie Black's 'small' indiscretion is anything but, and in a brilliantly paced unraveling, Ellison makes vivid the sometimes tragic interplay of choice and fate, lust and love, youth and adulthood--which can bring its own mistakes. Absorbing, chilling, and moving, A Small Indiscretion is the debut of an elegant writer who will be known and admired from the start." --Robin Black, author of Life Drawing "An emotional thriller of the Anita Shreve variety, with revelations that continue and relationships that evolve until the final pages . . . Connoisseurs of domestic suspense will finish this book in a few breathless sittings, then wait eagerly for Ellison's next trick." --Kirkus Reviews   "[A] cleverly constructed debut . . . a deftly crafted, absorbing novel that peels back the layers of Annie's character as it reveals the secrets of her past and present." -- Booklist
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780812995442
141047867
9780553399790
9780812995459
9781410478672
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID d3e0fced-e2d9-2d40-1866-b568f89a6e34
Grouping Title small indiscretion
Grouping Author ellison jan
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-18 23:28:41PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-19 00:37:05AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Ellison, Jan.
author_display Ellison, Jan
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Donelson, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction, Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Large Print, Donelson - Adult Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Large Print, Hermitage - Adult Fiction, Main Library - Adult Fiction, Main Library - Adult Large Print
display_description "At nineteen, Annie Black trades a bleak future in her washed-out hometown for a London winter of drinking to oblivion and yearning for deliverance. Some two decades later, she is married to a good man and settled in San Francisco, with a son and two daughters and a successful career designing artistic interior lights. One June morning, a photograph arrives in her mailbox, igniting an old longing and setting off a chain of events that [rocks] the foundations of her marriage and [threatens] to overturn her family's hard-won happiness"--Dust jacket flap.
format_catalog Book, Large Print, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id d3e0fced-e2d9-2d40-1866-b568f89a6e34
isbn 141047867, 9780553399790, 9780812995442, 9780812995459, 9781410478672
item_details ils:CARL0000453508|35192047007780|Donelson - Adult Fiction|Fiction Ellison|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DO||, ils:CARL0000453508|35192047007806|Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction|Fiction Ellison|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000453508|35192047007814|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Ellison|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000453508|35192047007822|Hermitage - Adult Fiction|Fiction Ellison|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000453508|35192047007855|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Ellison|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000465028|35192047314681|Bellevue - Adult Large Print|Fiction Ellison Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000465028|35192047314699|Green Hills - Adult Large Print|Fiction Ellison Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000465028|35192047314707|Main Library - Adult Large Print|Fiction Ellison Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:116b5feb-4dc8-44e2-a56b-44a1fa546578|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:1b825ac3-c090-49ed-9285-2db32e6e83dc|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|3|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, Large Print Book
last_indexed 2018-11-19T06:37:05.777Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Novels
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Ellison, Fiction Ellison Large Type
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Donelson, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780812995442
publishDate 2014, 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000453508|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Random House, an imprint of The Random House Publishing Group, a division of Random House LLC, a Penguin Random House Company,|[2014]|323 pages ; 25 cm., ils:CARL0000465028|Large Print|Books|Large print edition.|English|Thorndike Press,|2015.|481 pages (large print) ; 23 cm., overdrive:116b5feb-4dc8-44e2-a56b-44a1fa546578|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2015|, overdrive:1b825ac3-c090-49ed-9285-2db32e6e83dc|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Books on Tape|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:116b5feb-4dc8-44e2-a56b-44a1fa546578 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:1b825ac3-c090-49ed-9285-2db32e6e83dc -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000465028 35192047314699 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000465028 35192047314707 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000465028 35192047314681 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000453508 35192047007822 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000453508 35192047007814 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000453508 35192047007855 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000453508 35192047007780 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000453508 35192047007806 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Coma -- Fiction, Large type books, London (England) -- Fiction, Love stories, American, Man-woman relationships -- Fiction, Mothers and sons -- Fiction, San Francisco (Calif.) -- Fiction, Traffic accidents -- Fiction
title_display A small indiscretion : a novel
title_full A Small Indiscretion A Novel, A small indiscretion : a novel / Jan Ellison, A small indiscretion [text (large print)] / Jan Ellison
title_short A small indiscretion :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Coma, Fiction, Large type books, Literature, Love stories, American, Man-woman relationships, Mothers and sons, Suspense, Thriller, Traffic accidents