Being wrong: adventures in the margin of error

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it." --Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet

In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780061176043
9780061997938
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID d645f26d-2332-bedc-5113-a3240e3acc62
Grouping Title being wrong adventures in the margin of error
Grouping Author schulz kathryn
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-20 03:50:25AM
Last Indexed 2018-09-20 03:54:16AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Kathryn Schulz
author_display Schulz, Kathryn
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction, Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description Journalist "explores why we find it so gratifying to be right and so maddening to be mistaken, and how this attitude toward error corrodes relationships." She claims that "error is both a given and a gift -- one that can transform our worldviews, our relationships, and, most profoundly, ourselves."
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id d645f26d-2332-bedc-5113-a3240e3acc62
isbn 9780061176043, 9780061997938
item_details ils:CARL0000350740|35192039981257|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|153.74 S389b|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000350740|35192039981265|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|153.74 S389b|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, overdrive:6d4bdf67-5603-4ca6-bf00-950ef354a839|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-20T08:54:16.371Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 153.74 S389b
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780061176043
publishDate 2010
record_details ils:CARL0000350740|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Ecco Press,|c2010.|viii, 405 p. : ill. ; 24 cm., overdrive:6d4bdf67-5603-4ca6-bf00-950ef354a839|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins||
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000350740 35192039981257 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000350740 35192039981265 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
overdrive:6d4bdf67-5603-4ca6-bf00-950ef354a839 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
subject_facet Decision making -- Psychological aspects, Errors, Fallibility, Philosophical anthropology
title_display Being wrong : adventures in the margin of error
title_full Being Wrong Adventures in the Margin of Error, Being wrong : adventures in the margin of error / Kathryn Schulz
title_short Being wrong :
title_sub adventures in the margin of error
topic_facet Decision making, Errors, Fallibility, Nonfiction, Philosophical anthropology, Psychological aspects, Psychology