Haints stay

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

"In his astonishing portrait of American violence, Haints Stay , Colin Winnette makes use of the Western genre to stunning effect. But this isn't a chummy oater penned by the likes of Zane Grey or Louis L'Amour. Winnette's frontier feels more Homeric. His knack for tapping into scenes of primal fear and poetic violence serves as an indictment of our species' base nature and worst instincts. While the novel flouts most of the conventions of the traditional horse opera, the rewards of Haints Stay belong to the reader." --Jim Ruland, Los Angeles Times "Striking and powerful... a Western as reimagined through the transgressive lens of Dennis Cooper. What Winnette does here is less about undermining the traditions of the Westerns and more about pushing them in unexpected directions." --Tobias Carroll, Electric Literature "The most anticipated independent novel of the summer." -- Flavorwire "Winnette's already sharp prose is honed here to a razor edge. It rolls across the stark, lawless world he evokes like approaching thunder." -- Midnight Breakfast

Brooke and Sugar are killers. Bird is the boy who mysteriously woke beside them while between towns. For miles, there is only desert and wilderness, and along the fringes, people.

The story follows the middling bounty hunters after they've been chased from town, and Bird, each in pursuit of their own sense of belonging and justice. It features gunfights, cannibalism, barroom piano, a transgender birth, a wagon train, a stampede, and the tenuous rise of the West's first one-armed gunslinger.

Haints Stay is a new acid western in the tradition of Rudolph Wurlitzer, Kelly Reichardt's Meek's Cutoff , and Jim Jarmusch's Dead Man : meaning it is brutal, surreal, and possesses an unsettling humor.

Colin Winnette is the author of Revelation , Animal Collection , and Fondly --which was listed among Salon 's Best Books of 2013. He is an associate editor of PANK Magazine , and conducts a regular interview series for the Believer' s "Logger." His writing has appeared on BuzzFeed, Electric Literature , and in the Believer .

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781937512323
9781937512330
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID d682e050-3d01-6f84-cde5-417c6fdc7009
Grouping Title haints stay
Grouping Author winnette colin
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-20 22:45:09PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-20 23:43:39PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Winnette, Colin,
author_display Winnette, Colin
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description Brooke and Sugar are contract killers without a contract. Bird is the 13-year-old boy who mysteriously appears in their camp one night, with no memory and palms as smooth as stones. For miles, there is only desert and wilderness, and along the fringes, people. It's only a matter of time before the sheriffs will find them. Before the canniblas and stampedes and marauders will find them. Before the past will clamber up from where they buried it, covered in animals skins and teeth.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id d682e050-3d01-6f84-cde5-417c6fdc7009
isbn 9781937512323, 9781937512330
item_details ils:CARL0000469473|35192047820521|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Winnett|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:3da88a9c-3aa9-4a9e-87e1-f9b2b115e5fc|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-21T04:43:39.286Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Winnett
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9781937512323
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000469473|Book|Books||English|Two Dollar Radio,|[2015]|212 pages ; 19 cm., overdrive:3da88a9c-3aa9-4a9e-87e1-f9b2b115e5fc|eBook|eBook||English|Two Dollar Radio|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:3da88a9c-3aa9-4a9e-87e1-f9b2b115e5fc -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000469473 35192047820521 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Survival -- Fiction, Voyages and travels -- Fiction, Western stories
title_display Haints stay
title_full Haints Stay, Haints stay / Colin Winnette
title_short Haints stay
title_sub
topic_facet Fiction, Literature, Survival, Voyages and travels, Western stories