Orient: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

Amazon Best Mystery of 2015

A gripping novel of culture clash and murder: as summer draws to a close, a small Long Island town is gripped by a series of mysterious deaths--and one young man, a loner taken in by a local, tries to piece together the crimes before his own time runs out.

Orient is an isolated town on the north fork of Long Island, its future as a historic village newly threatened by the arrival of wealthy transplants from Manhattan--many of them artists. One late summer morning, the body of a local caretaker is found in the open water; the same day, a monstrous animal corpse is found on the beach, presumed a casualty from a nearby research lab. With rumors flying, eyes turn to Mills Chevern--a tumbleweed orphan newly arrived in town from the west with no ties and a hazy history. As the deaths continue and fear in town escalates, Mills is enlisted by Beth, an Orient native in retreat from Manhattan, to help her uncover the truth. With the clock ticking, Mills and Beth struggle to find answers, faced with a killer they may not be able to outsmart.

Rich with character and incident, yet deeply suspenseful, Orient marks the emergence of a novelist of enormous talent.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062329950
9781504611039
9780062329974
9780062404862
9781504611022
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID d76e354c-4667-ea1a-fc36-4528fc6fbb08
Grouping Title orient
Grouping Author bollen christopher
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-21 23:35:05PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-22 00:28:15AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Rahhal, Michael,
author Christopher Bollen
author2-role Blackstone Audio, Inc., Harper Audio (Firm)., Rahhal, Michael,narrator.
author_display Bollen, Christopher
available_at_catalog Donelson, Goodlettsville, Old Hickory
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Donelson - Adult Audiobook, Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction, Old Hickory - Adult Fiction
display_description Suspenseful and haunting, Bollen's thrilling novel Orient is a provocative take on the troubled American dream, in the vein of Lionel Shriver or AM Homes. At the eastern edge of Long Island, far from the hustle of New York City, stands Orient, a village that has been home to a few families for hundreds of years and is now - reluctantly - opening up to wealthy weekenders and artists from the city. On the last day of summer, a young man with a hazy past appears, and not long after comes a series of events that shatters the peace in this isolated community. A strange, twisted creature washes ashore on the Sound and then a human corpse is found floating in the water. A woman dies in bizarre circumstances and a house fire erupts out of nowhere. Fear and suspicion mount until everyone's secrets threaten to be exposed. But who is Mills Chevern? What is his real name and why is he here? As all eyes shift towards the orphan drifter, Mills elicits the support of Beth Shepherd, an Orient native who is hiding a secret of her own.
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id d76e354c-4667-ea1a-fc36-4528fc6fbb08
isbn 9780062329950, 9780062329974, 9780062404862, 9781504611022, 9781504611039
item_details ils:CARL0000460513|35192047437961|Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction|Fiction Bollen|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000460513|35192047437979|Old Hickory - Adult Fiction|Fiction Bollen|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||OH||, ils:CARL0000465425|35192047627892|Donelson - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO FIction Bollen|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DO||, overdrive:93d6f329-31c1-4569-a31d-1fe7b1bc4d53|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:c850ed5c-4050-47f4-b3ef-39e3711268d0|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book
last_indexed 2018-07-22T05:28:15.559Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO FIction Bollen, Fiction Bollen
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Donelson, Goodlettsville, Old Hickory
primary_isbn 9780062329950
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000460513|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|[2015]|612 pages : map ; 24 cm., ils:CARL0000465425|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Blackstone Audio, Inc. :|[2015]|18 audio discs (21 hr., 30 min.) : digital, CD audio ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:93d6f329-31c1-4569-a31d-1fe7b1bc4d53|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HarperCollins|2015|, overdrive:c850ed5c-4050-47f4-b3ef-39e3711268d0|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000465425 35192047627892 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000460513 35192047437961 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000460513 35192047437979 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:93d6f329-31c1-4569-a31d-1fe7b1bc4d53 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:c850ed5c-4050-47f4-b3ef-39e3711268d0 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
subject_facet Audiobooks, Drifters -- Fiction, Islands -- New York (State) -- Fiction, Orient (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs -- Fiction, Secrecy -- Fiction
title_display Orient : a novel
title_full Orient : a novel / Christopher Bollen, Orient A Novel, Orient [sound recording] : a novel / by Christopher Bollen
title_short Orient :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Audiobooks, Drifters, Fiction, Islands, Literature, Secrecy, Social life and customs, Suspense, Thriller