We now automatically renew eligible items for you! Read more in the Renewals section on this page.

The lake effect

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Fans of Nick Hornby, Huntley Fitzpatrick, and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl will love this smart, funny, poignant YA romance and coming-of-age story-from the boy's perspective a lake effect | n. Theaeffectaofaanyalake,aespeciallyatheaGreataLakes,ainamodifyingatheaweatherainanearbyaareas a It's the summer after his senior year, and driven, focused Briggs Henry is ready to leave behind his ex-girlfriend, his comically aggressive grandmother, and his parents' money troubles for Lake Michigan and its miles of sandy beaches. He's lined up a summer job working as a personal assistant and living in a gorgeous Victorian on the water-exactly the kind of house Briggs plans to buy his parents once he's a multi-millionaire. But when he arrives, his boss, the eccentric Mrs. Bosic, tells him to get dressed for her funeral. Uh . . . aIt's the first of many funerals they'll attend this summer-to hilarious and eye-opening effect. Add to this a new set of friends-cum-enemies-cum-friends-again, and Abigail, the mysterious girl next door on whom Briggs's charms repeatedly fail, and othe lake effecto is beginning to take on a whole new meaning.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780803740525
9781101625989
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID db39ce7e-d9eb-53a4-d6ff-804e16df4913
Grouping Title lake effect
Grouping Author mccahan erin
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-18 23:33:43PM
Last Indexed 2018-08-19 03:21:47AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author McCahan, Erin,
author_display Erin McCahan
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Thompson Lane - Teen Fiction
display_description "The summer after senior year of high school, Briggs Henry works as a personal assistant to an eccentric elderly woman in a house on the shores of Lake Michigan, and finds himself distracted by the mysterious girl next door"--
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id db39ce7e-d9eb-53a4-d6ff-804e16df4913
isbn 9780803740525, 9781101625989
item_details ils:CARL0000511355|35192049570504|Thompson Lane - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction McCahan|||1|false|false|||||On Hold Shelf||TL||, ils:CARL0000511355|FF00143811|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F McC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, overdrive:0b351a79-5b3c-4c0c-b743-a2f10e2c3911|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-08-19T08:21:47.303Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction McCahan
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9780803740525
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:CARL0000511355|Book|Books||English|Dial Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC,|[2017]|391 pages ; 22 cm, overdrive:0b351a79-5b3c-4c0c-b743-a2f10e2c3911|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Young Readers Group|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000511355 35192049570504 Checked Out On Hold Shelf false false true false false true
overdrive:0b351a79-5b3c-4c0c-b743-a2f10e2c3911 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Bildungsromans, Dating (Social customs) -- Fiction, Family problems -- Fiction, Michigan, Lake -- Fiction, Old age -- Fiction, Serbian Americans -- Fiction, Summer employment -- Fiction, Young adult fiction
title_display The lake effect
title_full The Lake Effect, The lake effect / Erin McCahan
title_short The lake effect
title_sub
topic_facet Bildungsromans, Dating (Social customs), Family problems, Old age, Romance, Serbian Americans, Summer employment, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature, Young adult fiction