All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

The association of small bombs

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

National Book Award Finalist Winner of the New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award Winner of the American Academy of Arts & Letters Rosenthal Family Foundation Award Winner of the Anisfield-Wolf Award Winner of the Bard Fiction Prize One of the New York Times Book Review 's Ten Best Books of the Year One of Granta 's Best Young American Novelists A Washington Post Notable Fiction Book of the Year PEN Center USA Literary Award Finalist for Fiction Shortlisted for the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature Longlisted for the FT/Oppenheimer Emerging Voices Award Named a Best Book of the Year by: Buzzfeed, Esquire, New York magazine, The Huffington Post , The Guardian , The AV Club , The Fader , Redbook , Electric Literature , Book Riot , Bustle , Good magazine , PureWow , and PopSugar "Wonderful. . . . Smart, devastating, unpredictable. . . . I suggest you go out and buy this one. Post haste." --Fiona Maazel, The New York Times Book Review

"Brilliant." --Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal "[Mahajan's] eagerness to go at the bomb from every angle suggests a voracious approach to fiction-making." -- The New Yorker For readers of Mohsin Hamid, Dave Eggers, Arundhati Roy, and Teju Cole, The Association of Small Bombs is an expansive and deeply humane novel that is at once groundbreaking in its empathy, dazzling in its acuity, and ambitious in scope When brothers Tushar and Nakul Khurana, two Delhi schoolboys, pick up their family's television set at a repair shop with their friend Mansoor Ahmed one day in 1996, disaster strikes without warning. A bomb--one of the many "small" bombs that go off seemingly unheralded across the world--detonates in the Delhi marketplace, instantly claiming the lives of the Khurana boys, to the devastation of their parents. Mansoor survives, bearing the physical and psychological effects of the bomb. After a brief stint at university in America, Mansoor returns to Delhi, where his life becomes entangled with the mysterious and charismatic Ayub, a fearless young activist whose own allegiances and beliefs are more malleable than Mansoor could imagine. Woven among the story of the Khuranas and the Ahmeds is the gripping tale of Shockie, a Kashmiri bomb maker who has forsaken his own life for the independence of his homeland. Karan Mahajan writes brilliantly about the effects of terrorism on victims and perpetrators, proving himself to be one of the most provocative and dynamic novelists of his generation.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780143109273
9780698407060
9781504685184
9780525429630
Lexile measure:
990L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID de9ef1a4-7e56-2ef7-cd7f-f070cca87b6f
Full title association of small bombs
Author mahajan karan
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-22 22:53:33PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-22 23:59:29PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Mahajan, Karan,
author_display Mahajan, Karan
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Fiction, Hermitage - Adult Fiction, Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description After witnessing his two friends killed by a "small" bomb that detonated in a Dehli marketplace, Mansoor Ahmed becomes involved with a charismatic young activist, whose allegiances and beliefs are more changeable than he could have imagined.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id de9ef1a4-7e56-2ef7-cd7f-f070cca87b6f
isbn 9780143109273, 9780525429630, 9780698407060, 9781504685184
item_details ils:CARL0000480431|35192048090975|Bellevue - Adult Fiction|Fiction Mahajan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000480431|35192048090983|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Mahajan|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000480431|35192048090991|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Mahajan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000480431|35192049132644|Bellevue - Adult Fiction|Fiction Mahajan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000480431|35192049132651|Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction|Fiction Mahajan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000480431|35192049132669|Hermitage - Adult Fiction|Fiction Mahajan|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||HM||, ils:CARL0000480431|35192049132677|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Mahajan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000480431|QQ00252921|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F MAH|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, overdrive:0d247470-0160-480f-982d-1707078b927b|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|3|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||, overdrive:a478c0f5-0fc1-435d-80f9-80f632e27ff7|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-23T04:59:29.51Z
lexile_score 990
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Mahajan
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780143109273
publishDate 2016
record_details ils:CARL0000480431|Book|Books||English|Viking,|[2016]|276 pages ; 24 cm., overdrive:0d247470-0160-480f-982d-1707078b927b|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Publishing Group|2016|, overdrive:a478c0f5-0fc1-435d-80f9-80f632e27ff7|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Blackstone Audio|2016|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000480431|35192048090975|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000480431|35192048090983|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000480431|35192048090991|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000480431|35192049132644|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000480431|35192049132651|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000480431|35192049132669|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000480431|35192049132677|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:0d247470-0160-480f-982d-1707078b927b|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:a478c0f5-0fc1-435d-80f9-80f632e27ff7|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Bombings -- India -- Fiction, India -- Fiction, Terrorism -- India -- Fiction, Victims of terrorism -- India -- Fiction
title_display The association of small bombs
title_full The Association of Small Bombs, The Association of Small Bombs A Novel, The association of small bombs / Karan Mahajan
title_short The association of small bombs
title_sub
topic_facet Bombings, Fiction, Literature, Terrorism, Victims of terrorism