The night garden: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Nestled in the bucolic town of Green Valley in upstate New York, the Pennywort farm appears ordinary, yet at its center lies something remarkable- a wild maze of colorful gardens that reaches beyond the imagination. Local legend says that a visitor can gain answers to life's most difficult problems simply by walking through its lush corridors. Yet the labyrinth has never helped Olivia Pennywort, the garden's beautiful and enigmatic caretaker. She has spent her entire life on her family's land, harboring a secret that forces her to keep everyone at arm's length. But when her childhood best friend, Sam Van Winkle, returns to the valley, Olivia begins to question her safe, isolated world and wonders if she at last has the courage to let someone in. As she and Sam reconnect, Olivia faces a difficult question- Is the garden maze that she has nurtured all of her life a safe haven or a prison? Praise for Lisa Van Allen's The Wishing Thread oReader to reader, knitter to knitter- You're going to love this book.o -Debbie Macomber oWhimsical . . . great for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Alice Hoffman.o - Library Journal Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345537836
9780345537577
9781494520823
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e31611ad-fcc4-b485-1669-c63e1f2e6e60
Grouping Title night garden
Grouping Author van allen lisa
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-20 23:34:33PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-21 00:36:33AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Lisa Van Allen
author_display Van Allen, Lisa
available_at_catalog Donelson, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Donelson - Adult Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Fiction
display_description "In the Pennywort [farm], there is a garden of edible flowers, a garden meant for touching, and one in which the flowers only bloom at night ... Since her mother's death 5 years ago, Olivia has been carrying on her legacy, caring for Pennywort Gardens and running an informal program that provides safe haven to women in exchange for their help with the lush gardens. The townspeople hate having what they call a 'halfway house' around, and Olivia's neighbors are convinced she's using more than her allotment of water in a drought year, and keep calling the police. But Olivia has secrets of her own and needs everyone to just keep their distance"--
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id e31611ad-fcc4-b485-1669-c63e1f2e6e60
isbn 9780345537577, 9780345537836, 9781494520823
item_details ils:CARL0000449636|35192046554493|Donelson - Adult Fiction|Fiction VanAlle|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DO||, ils:CARL0000449636|35192046554501|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction VanAlle|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, overdrive:02a48b43-f4a6-43d1-bde1-22ac483110e0|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||, overdrive:65a3eb23-05d8-4f86-9b52-5f29d12f4627|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-21T05:36:33.202Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction VanAlle
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Donelson, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids
primary_isbn 9780345537836
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000449636|Book|Books||English|Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks,|[2014]|335 pages ; 21 cm., overdrive:02a48b43-f4a6-43d1-bde1-22ac483110e0|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2014|, overdrive:65a3eb23-05d8-4f86-9b52-5f29d12f4627|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Tantor Media|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:65a3eb23-05d8-4f86-9b52-5f29d12f4627 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000449636 35192046554501 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000449636 35192046554493 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:02a48b43-f4a6-43d1-bde1-22ac483110e0 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
series Reader's circle)
series_with_volume Reader's circle)|
subject_facet Droughts -- Fiction, Edible landscaping -- Fiction, Flowers -- Fiction, Gardens -- Fiction, Love stories, American, Man-woman relationships -- Fiction, New York (State) -- Fiction, Secrecy -- Fiction
title_display The night garden : a novel
title_full The Night Garden, The Night Garden A Novel, The night garden : a novel / Lisa Van Allen
title_short The night garden :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Droughts, Edible landscaping, Fiction, Flowers, Gardens, Literature, Love stories, American, Man-woman relationships, Romance, Secrecy