Meridian

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For the Millions of Readers who loved The Color Purple, Alice Walker's award-winning novel, Meridian is a poignant and powerful story of the American South in the 1960s and of one woman who risks her life for the people she loves. Meridian Hill, a courageous young activist, creates peace and understanding by dedicating herself heart and soul to her civil rights work, touching the lives of all those she meets even when her health begins to deteriorate. With the old rules of Southern society collapsing around her, Meridian fights a lonely battle to reaffirm her own humanity -- and that of all her people. Book jacket.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780156028349
9781453223963
9780151592654
067172701
Lexile measure:
1010L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e4afcd61-44a9-869d-0337-5d26334c6be7
Grouping Title meridian
Grouping Author walker alice
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-20 23:54:40PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-21 00:27:25AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Alice Walker
author_display Walker, Alice
available_at_catalog Hermitage, Hermitage Kids
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Annex - Adult Fiction, Hermitage - Adult Fiction
display_description

"A classic novel of both feminism and the Civil Rights movement" in 1960s Atlanta by the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of The Color Purple (Ms.).
As she approaches the end of her teen years, Meridian Hill has already married, divorced, and given birth to a son. She's looking for a second chance, and at a small college outside Atlanta, Georgia, in the early 1960s, Meridian discovers the civil rights movement. So fully does the cause guide her life that she's willing to sacrifice virtually anything to help transform the conditions of a people whose subjugation she shares.


Meridian draws from Walker's own experiences working alongside some of the heroes of the civil rights movement, and the novel stands as a shrewd and affecting document of the dissolution of the Jim Crow South.

This ebook features an illustrated biography of Alice Walker including rare photos from the author's personal collection.

format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id e4afcd61-44a9-869d-0337-5d26334c6be7
isbn 067172701, 9780151592654, 9780156028349, 9781453223963
item_details ils:CARL0000043618|35192022897148|Hermitage - Adult Fiction|Fiction Walker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000043618|35192025542147|Annex - Adult Fiction|Fiction Walker|||1|false|false|||||In Transit for Hold||AX||, overdrive:49c10e71-0e2f-4074-a065-dba49bde41c6|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-21T05:27:25.156Z
lexile_score 1010
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Walker
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Annex, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids
primary_isbn 9780156028349
publishDate 1976, 2011
record_details ils:CARL0000043618|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Harcourt Brace Jovanovich,|c1976.|228 p. ; 22 cm., overdrive:49c10e71-0e2f-4074-a065-dba49bde41c6|eBook|eBook||English|Open Road Media|2011|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:49c10e71-0e2f-4074-a065-dba49bde41c6 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000043618 35192022897148 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000043618 35192025542147 Checked Out In Transit for Hold false false true false false true
title_display Meridian
title_full Meridian, Meridian / by Alice Walker
title_short Meridian
title_sub
topic_facet Fiction, Literature