Hadley Park Branch Library is closed Saturday, October 19.

Meridian

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For the Millions of Readers who loved The Color Purple, Alice Walker's award-winning novel, Meridian is a poignant and powerful story of the American South in the 1960s and of one woman who risks her life for the people she loves. Meridian Hill, a courageous young activist, creates peace and understanding by dedicating herself heart and soul to her civil rights work, touching the lives of all those she meets even when her health begins to deteriorate. With the old rules of Southern society collapsing around her, Meridian fights a lonely battle to reaffirm her own humanity -- and that of all her people. Book jacket.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780156028349
9781453223963
9780151592654
067172701
Lexile measure:
1010L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e4afcd61-44a9-869d-0337-5d26334c6be7
Grouping Title meridian
Grouping Author walker alice
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-18 22:43:46PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-18 23:48:01PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Alice Walker
author_display Walker, Alice
available_at_catalog Annex
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Annex - Adult Fiction
Bordeaux - Adult Fiction
Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction
Hermitage - Adult Fiction
Southeast - Adult Fiction
display_description

"A classic novel of both feminism and the Civil Rights movement" in 1960s Atlanta by the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of The Color Purple (Ms.).
As she approaches the end of her teen years, Meridian Hill has already married, divorced, and given birth to a son. She's looking for a second chance, and at a small college outside Atlanta, Georgia, in the early 1960s, Meridian discovers the civil rights movement. So fully does the cause guide her life that she's willing to sacrifice virtually anything to help transform the conditions of a people whose subjugation she shares.


Meridian draws from Walker's own experiences working alongside some of the heroes of the civil rights movement, and the novel stands as a shrewd and affecting document of the dissolution of the Jim Crow South.

This ebook features an illustrated biography of Alice Walker including rare photos from the author's personal collection.

format_catalog Book
eBook
format_category_catalog Books
eBook
id e4afcd61-44a9-869d-0337-5d26334c6be7
isbn 067172701
9780151592654
9780156028349
9781453223963
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:49c10e71-0e2f-4074-a065-dba49bde41c6 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000043618 35192051003758 Bordeaux - Adult Fiction Fiction Walker 1 false false Checked Out BX
ils:CARL0000043618 35192051003774 Southeast - Adult Fiction Fiction Walker 1 false false On Shelf SE
ils:CARL0000043618 35192051003766 Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction Fiction Walker 1 false false Checked Out EP
ils:CARL0000043618 35192025542147 Annex - Adult Fiction Fiction Walker 1 false false On Shelf AX
ils:CARL0000043618 35192022897148 Hermitage - Adult Fiction Fiction Walker 1 false false On Shelf HM
itype_catalog
Book
last_indexed 2019-10-19T04:48:01.975Z
lexile_score 1010
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Walker
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Annex
Bordeaux
Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
Southeast
primary_isbn 9780156028349
publishDate 1976
2011
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:49c10e71-0e2f-4074-a065-dba49bde41c6 eBook eBook English Open Road Media 2011
ils:CARL0000043618 Book Books 1st ed. English Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, c1976. 228 p. ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:49c10e71-0e2f-4074-a065-dba49bde41c6 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000043618 35192051003758 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000043618 35192051003774 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000043618 35192051003766 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000043618 35192025542147 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000043618 35192022897148 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
title_display Meridian
title_full Meridian
Meridian / by Alice Walker
title_short Meridian
title_sub
topic_facet Fiction
Literature