Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

Red clocks: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Five women. One question. What is a woman for?In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom.Ro, a single high school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivor, a little-known nineteenth-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.Red Clocks is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking The Handmaid's Tale for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780316434812
9781432850548
9780316510660
9781549116339
9781549169564
9781549116353
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e768c162-21e5-b0a5-e10b-21fad7125375
Grouping Title red clocks
Grouping Author zumas leni
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-14 12:49:30PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-14 12:53:44PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Bennett, Erin,, Vacker, Karissa,
author Leni Zumas
author2-role Bennett, Erin,narrator., Vacker, Karissa,narrator.
author_display Zumas, Leni
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Thompson Lane
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction, Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Audiobook, Green Hills - Adult Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Large Print, Inglewood - Adult Large Print, Main Library - Adult Fiction, Richland Park - Adult Audiobook, Thompson Lane - Adult Audiobook, Thompson Lane - Adult Large Print
display_description A National Bestseller
A New York Times Editor's Choice
A Time Magazine Best Book of the Year
An Amazon Best Book of the Month

An Indie Next Pick
One of Wall Street Journal's Twelve Books to Read This Winter
An Esquire most anticipated book of 2018
An Elle Best Book of Winter
A Popsugar most anticipated book of Fall
A Ploughshares most anticipated book of Fall
A Nylon Best Book of the Month
One of Publishers Weekly's most anticipated titles of Fall 2017
Five women. One question. What is a woman for?

In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom.
Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.
RED CLOCKS is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking THE HANDMAID'S TALE for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times.
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, Large Print, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id e768c162-21e5-b0a5-e10b-21fad7125375
isbn 9780316434812, 9780316510660, 9781432850548, 9781549116339, 9781549116353, 9781549169564
item_details ils:CARL0000699018|35192050341050|Bellevue - Adult Fiction|Fiction Zumas|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000699018|35192050341068|Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction|Fiction Zumas|||1|false|false|||||In Transit for Hold||EP||, ils:CARL0000699018|35192050341076|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Zumas|||1|false|false|||||On Hold Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000699018|35192050341084|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Zumas|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000699018|QQ00311933|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Zum|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000715120|35192050485790|Green Hills - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Zumas|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000715120|35192050485808|Richland Park - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Zumas|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||RP||, ils:CARL0000715120|35192050485816|Thompson Lane - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Zumas|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, ils:CARL0000715684|35192050530207|Green Hills - Adult Large Print|Fiction Zumas Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000715684|35192050530215|Inglewood - Adult Large Print|Fiction Zumas Large Type|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||IN||, ils:CARL0000715684|35192050530223|Thompson Lane - Adult Large Print|Fiction Zumas Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, overdrive:86a9858a-a61d-4e99-8245-6a707d29cf2b|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|3|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||, overdrive:e4c2f840-0da5-49d2-be53-80e1fcfcbb48|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|7|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book, Large Print Book
last_indexed 2018-11-14T18:53:44.544Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Zumas, Fiction Zumas, Fiction Zumas Large Type
local_time_since_added_catalog Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9780316434812
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:CARL0000699018|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Little, Brown and Company,|2018.|356 pages ; 22 cm, ils:CARL0000715120|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Hachette Audio,|[2018]|8 audio discs (approximately 9 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in., ils:CARL0000715684|Large Print|Books|Large print edition.|English|Wheeler Publishing, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company,|2018.|517 pages (large print) ; 23 cm., overdrive:86a9858a-a61d-4e99-8245-6a707d29cf2b|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Hachette Audio|2018|, overdrive:e4c2f840-0da5-49d2-be53-80e1fcfcbb48|eBook|eBook||English|Little, Brown and Company|2018|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000715684 35192050530207 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000715684 35192050530215 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000715684 35192050530223 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:e4c2f840-0da5-49d2-be53-80e1fcfcbb48 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:86a9858a-a61d-4e99-8245-6a707d29cf2b -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000699018 35192050341050 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000699018 35192050341084 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000699018 35192050341068 Checked Out In Transit for Hold false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000699018 35192050341076 Checked Out On Hold Shelf false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000715120 35192050485790 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000715120 35192050485808 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000715120 35192050485816 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Audiobooks, Dystopian fiction, Large type books, Motherhood -- Fiction, Oregon -- Fiction, Reproductive rights -- Fiction, Women -- Fiction, Women's rights -- Fiction
title_display Red clocks : a novel
title_full Red Clocks A Novel, Red clocks / Leni Zumas, Red clocks : a novel / Leni Zumas
title_short Red clocks :
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Fiction, Large type books, Literature, Motherhood, Reproductive rights, Women, Women's rights