Red clocks: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A National Bestseller A New York Times Editor's Choice An Amazon Best Book of the Month An Indie Next Pick One of Wall Street Journal 's Twelve Books to Read This Winter An Esquire most anticipated book of 2018 An Elle Best Book of Winter A Popsugar most anticipated book of Fall A Ploughshares most anticipated book of Fall A Nylon Best Book of the Month One of Publishers Weekly 's most anticipated titles of Fall 2017 Five women. One question. What is a woman for? In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom. Ro , a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eiv#65533;r , a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt. RED CLOCKS is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking THE HANDMAID'S TALE for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780316434812
9780316510660
9781549116353
9781549169564
9781549116339
9781432850548
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e768c162-21e5-b0a5-e10b-21fad7125375
Full title red clocks
Author zumas leni
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-20 17:19:50PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-20 17:21:14PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Bennett, Erin,, Vacker, Karissa,
author Leni Zumas
author2-role Bennett, Erin,narrator., Vacker, Karissa,narrator.
author_display Zumas, Leni
available_at_catalog Inglewood, Richland Park, Thompson Lane
collection_catalog Large Print, New
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult New, Edmondson Pike - Adult New, Green Hills - Adult New, Inglewood - Adult New, Main Library - Adult New, Richland Park - Adult New, Southeast - Adult New, Thompson Lane - Adult Large Print, Thompson Lane - Adult New
display_description A National Bestseller
A New York Times Editor's Choice
An Amazon Best Book of the Month

An Indie Next Pick
One of Wall Street Journal's Twelve Books to Read This Winter
An Esquire most anticipated book of 2018
An Elle Best Book of Winter
A Popsugar most anticipated book of Fall
A Ploughshares most anticipated book of Fall
A Nylon Best Book of the Month
One of Publishers Weekly's most anticipated titles of Fall 2017
Five women. One question. What is a woman for?

In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom.
Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.
RED CLOCKS is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking THE HANDMAID'S TALE for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times.
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, Large Print Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id e768c162-21e5-b0a5-e10b-21fad7125375
isbn 9780316434812, 9780316510660, 9781432850548, 9781549116339, 9781549116353, 9781549169564
item_details ils:CARL0000699018|35192050341050|Bellevue - Adult New|Fiction Zumas|||1|false|false|||||On Hold Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000699018|35192050341068|Edmondson Pike - Adult New|Fiction Zumas|||1|false|false|||||On Hold Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000699018|35192050341076|Green Hills - Adult New|Fiction Zumas|||1|false|false|||||On Hold Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000699018|35192050341084|Main Library - Adult New|Fiction Zumas|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000699018|35192050341092|Southeast - Adult New|Fiction Zumas|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||SE||, ils:CARL0000699018|QQ00311933|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Zum|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000715120|35192050485790|Green Hills - Adult New|CD AUDIO Fiction Zumas|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000715120|35192050485808|Richland Park - Adult New|CD AUDIO Fiction Zumas|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000715120|35192050485816|Thompson Lane - Adult New|CD AUDIO Fiction Zumas|||1|false|false|||||In Transit for Hold||TL||, ils:CARL0000715684|35192050530207|Green Hills - Adult New|Fiction Zumas Large Type|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000715684|35192050530215|Inglewood - Adult New|Fiction Zumas Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, ils:CARL0000715684|35192050530223|Thompson Lane - Adult Large Print|Fiction Zumas Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, overdrive:86a9858a-a61d-4e99-8245-6a707d29cf2b|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|3|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||, overdrive:e4c2f840-0da5-49d2-be53-80e1fcfcbb48|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|7|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book, Large Print Book
last_indexed 2018-05-20T22:21:14.992Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Zumas, Fiction Zumas, Fiction Zumas Large Type
local_time_since_added_catalog Six Months, Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast, Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9780316434812
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:CARL0000699018|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Little, Brown and Company,|2018.|356 pages ; 22 cm, ils:CARL0000715120|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Hachette Audio,|[2018]|8 audio discs (approximately 9 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in., ils:CARL0000715684|Large Print Book|Books|Large print edition.|English|Wheeler Publishing, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company,|2018.|517 pages (large print) ; 23 cm., overdrive:86a9858a-a61d-4e99-8245-6a707d29cf2b|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Hachette Audio|2018|, overdrive:e4c2f840-0da5-49d2-be53-80e1fcfcbb48|eBook|eBook||English|Little, Brown and Company|2018|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000699018|35192050341050|Currently Unavailable|On Hold Shelf|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000699018|35192050341068|Currently Unavailable|On Hold Shelf|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000699018|35192050341076|Currently Unavailable|On Hold Shelf|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000699018|35192050341084|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000699018|35192050341092|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000715120|35192050485790|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000715120|35192050485808|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000715120|35192050485816|Currently Unavailable|In Transit for Hold|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000715684|35192050530207|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000715684|35192050530215|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000715684|35192050530223|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:86a9858a-a61d-4e99-8245-6a707d29cf2b|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:e4c2f840-0da5-49d2-be53-80e1fcfcbb48|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Audiobooks, Dystopian fiction, Large type books, Motherhood -- Fiction, Oregon -- Fiction, Reproductive rights -- Fiction, Women -- Fiction, Women's rights -- Fiction
title_display Red clocks : a novel
title_full Red Clocks A Novel, Red clocks / Leni Zumas, Red clocks : a novel / Leni Zumas
title_short Red clocks :
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Fiction, Large type books, Literature, Motherhood, Reproductive rights, Women, Women's rights