North Branch Library has reopened and resumed its normal operating hours. 

Find current Main Library parking garage construction information

A natural woman

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From the fresh new talent behind after the Dance comes a sparkling novel with charm, wit and a side dish of Southern Hospitality - a real treat for fans of Pearl Cleage and Mary Monroe.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780758222398
9780758278630
9780758222404
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID eb5f23f7-63ad-f3e5-c707-c8bf1e15a372
full_title natural woman
author johnson lori
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-04-19 23:06:14PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Johnson, Lori.
author_display Johnson, Lori
available_at_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description He Can "Do" Her Right. . .
Aliesha is a dark-skinned beauty who seemingly has it all—a prestigious academic job, a respected role at church, and an adoring boyfriend. All she thinks she needs when she lands in Dante's barber's chair is someone capable of handling her natural, unchemically-treated hair. But her encounter with the handsome barber forces her to confront what's been missing from her life all along.
. . .But Is He Mr. Right?
Dante is a laid-back brother who isn't easily rattled. But everything about Aliesha—from her big-city attitude to her wild, defiant hair—begs his attention. His offer to work his magic on her hair sends both of their worlds into a tailspin. But does Dante really have what it takes to finish what he's started?
"A thought-provoking look at contemporary African American life." —Booklist
"Johnson's strong depiction of the characters allows each one to take shape and become life-like." —The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers
"An enticing read." —Books2Mention Magazine
"A five star new author!" —Mary Monroe
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id eb5f23f7-63ad-f3e5-c707-c8bf1e15a372
isbn 9780758222398, 9780758222404, 9780758278630
item_details ils:CARL0000343852|35192039827062|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Johnson|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:06d52177-312f-4363-b99f-50d59cd4b441|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Johnson
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780758222398
publishDate 2009, 2012
record_details ils:CARL0000343852|Book|Books||English|Kensington Pub. Corp.,|c2009.|x, 371 p. ; 21 cm., overdrive:06d52177-312f-4363-b99f-50d59cd4b441|eBook|eBook||English|Kensington|2012|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000343852|35192039827062|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:06d52177-312f-4363-b99f-50d59cd4b441|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet African Americans -- Fiction, Barbers -- Fiction, Love stories, American
title_display A natural woman
title_full A Natural Woman, A natural woman / Lori Johnson
title_short A natural woman
title_sub
topic_facet African American Fiction, African Americans, Barbers, Fiction, Love stories, American, Romance