The Main Library's Public Technology dept. (3rd floor) will be closed Monday, Dec 16 - Friday, Dec 20. Get details.

The Main Library's Popular Materials dept. (1st floor) will be closed Monday, Dec 16 - Wednesday, Dec 25. Get details.

A natural woman

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From the fresh new talent behind after the Dance comes a sparkling novel with charm, wit and a side dish of Southern Hospitality - a real treat for fans of Pearl Cleage and Mary Monroe.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780758222398
9780758278630
9780758222404
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID eb5f23f7-63ad-f3e5-c707-c8bf1e15a372
Grouping Title natural woman
Grouping Author johnson lori
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-12-14 23:00:10PM
Last Indexed 2019-12-14 23:58:14PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Johnson, Lori.
author_display Johnson, Lori
available_at_catalog Madison
Madison Kids
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Madison - Adult Fiction
display_description He Can "Do" Her Right. . .
Aliesha is a dark-skinned beauty who seemingly has it all—a prestigious academic job, a respected role at church, and an adoring boyfriend. All she thinks she needs when she lands in Dante's barber's chair is someone capable of handling her natural, unchemically-treated hair. But her encounter with the handsome barber forces her to confront what's been missing from her life all along.
. . .But Is He Mr. Right?
Dante is a laid-back brother who isn't easily rattled. But everything about Aliesha—from her big-city attitude to her wild, defiant hair—begs his attention. His offer to work his magic on her hair sends both of their worlds into a tailspin. But does Dante really have what it takes to finish what he's started?
"A thought-provoking look at contemporary African American life." —Booklist
"Johnson's strong depiction of the characters allows each one to take shape and become life-like." —The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers
"An enticing read." —Books2Mention Magazine
"A five star new author!" —Mary Monroe
format_catalog Book
eBook
format_category_catalog Books
eBook
id eb5f23f7-63ad-f3e5-c707-c8bf1e15a372
isbn 9780758222398
9780758222404
9780758278630
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:06d52177-312f-4363-b99f-50d59cd4b441 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000343852 35192043390081 Madison - Adult Fiction Fiction Johnson 1 false false On Shelf MA
itype_catalog
Book
last_indexed 2019-12-15T05:58:14.428Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Johnson
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Madison
Madison Kids
primary_isbn 9780758222398
publishDate 2009
2012
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:06d52177-312f-4363-b99f-50d59cd4b441 eBook eBook English Kensington Books 2012
ils:CARL0000343852 Book Books English Kensington Pub. Corp., c2009. x, 371 p. ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:06d52177-312f-4363-b99f-50d59cd4b441 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000343852 35192043390081 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet African Americans -- Fiction
Barbers -- Fiction
Love stories, American
title_display A natural woman
title_full A Natural Woman
A natural woman / Lori Johnson
title_short A natural woman
title_sub
topic_facet African American Fiction
African Americans
Barbers
Fiction
Love stories, American
Romance