All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

The Blackhouse: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Lewis trilogy volume 1.
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
From acclaimed author and television dramatist Peter May comes the first book in the Lewis Trilogy--a riveting mystery series set on the Isle of Lewis in Scotland's Outer Hebrides, a formidable and forbidding world where tradition rules and people adhere to ancient ways of life.   When a grisly murder occurs on the Isle of Lewis that has the hallmarks of a killing he's investigating on the mainland, Edinburgh detective and native islander Fin Macleod is dispatched to see if the two deaths are connected. His return after nearly two decades not only represents a police investigation, but a voyage into his own troubled past. As Fin reconnects with the places and people of his tortured childhood, he feels the island once again asserting its grip on his psyche. And every step forward in solving the murder takes him closer to a dangerous confrontation with the tragic events of the past that shaped--and nearly destroyed--Fin's life.   The Blackhouse is a thriller of rare power and vision that explores the darkest recesses of the soul.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ec3eb8f0-f478-4d78-3dd9-aa5f454b927c
Full title blackhouse
Author may peter
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-26 23:42:58PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-26 14:53:19PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author May, Peter, 1951-
author_display May, Peter
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Adult Fiction, Southeast - Adult Fiction
display_description When a grisly murder occurs on a Scottish island, Edinburgh detective Fin Macleod must confront his past if he is ever going to discover if the killing has a connection to another one that took place on the mainland.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id ec3eb8f0-f478-4d78-3dd9-aa5f454b927c
isbn 9781454901273, 9781623659998, 9781681448947
item_details ils:CARL0000401153|35192045425950|Southeast - Adult Fiction|Fiction May|||1|false|false|||||In Transit for Hold||SE||, ils:CARL0000401153|35192047700012|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction May|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, overdrive:4cf5a780-299e-43a0-aa6f-197438f53c20|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-26T19:53:19.609Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction May
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Southeast
primary_isbn 9781454901273
publishDate 2012, 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000401153|Book|Books||English|SilverOak,|2012.|357 p. : maps ; 24 cm., overdrive:4cf5a780-299e-43a0-aa6f-197438f53c20|eBook|eBook||English|Quercus|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000401153|35192045425950|Currently Unavailable|In Transit for Hold|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000401153|35192047700012|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:4cf5a780-299e-43a0-aa6f-197438f53c20|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
series Lewis trilogy
series_with_volume Lewis trilogy|1
subject_facet Detective and mystery stories, Scottish, Lewis with Harris Island (Scotland) -- Fiction, Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
title_display The Blackhouse : a novel
title_full The Blackhouse : a novel / Peter May, The Blackhouse Lewis Trilogy, Book 1
title_short The Blackhouse :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Detective and mystery stories, Scottish, Fiction, Investigation, Murder, Mystery