Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

All library locations are closed Thursday, Nov 22 and Friday, Nov 23 for the Thanksgiving holiday.

Tell us what you think! Take our Facilities Satisfaction Survey.

Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
The hilarious, poignant, and true story of one teen's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East, perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Trevor Noah's books. "Very funny but never flippant, Saedi mixes '90s pop culture references, adolescent angst and Iranian history into an intimate, informative narrative that thoroughly defies current divisive view on immigration."-- The New York Times At thirteen, bright-eyed, straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret: she was breaking the law simply by living in the United States. Only two years old when her parents fled Iran, she didn't learn of her undocumented status until her older sister wanted to apply for an after-school job, but couldn't because she didn't have a Social Security number. Fear of deportation kept Sara up at night, but it didn't keep her from being a teenager. She desperately wanted a green card, along with clear skin, her own car, and a boyfriend. Americanized follows Sara's progress toward getting her green card, but that's only a portion of her experiences as an Iranian-"American" teenager. From discovering that her parents secretly divorced to facilitate her mother's green card application to learning how to tame her unibrow, Sara pivots gracefully from the terrifying prospect that she might be kicked out of the country at any time to the almost-as-terrifying possibility that she might be the only one of her friends without a date to the prom. This moving, often hilarious story is for anyone who has ever shared either fear. FEATURED ON NPR'S FRESH AIR! FOUR STARRED REVIEWS! " A must-read, vitally important memoir . . . . Poignant and often LOL funny, Americanized is utterly of the moment ." -- Bustle " Read Saedi's memoir to push out the poison." -- Teen Vogue "A funny, poignant must read for the times we are living in today." -- Pop Sugar
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781524717803
9781524717797
9781524717810
Reading Level:
UG
Level 7.5, 11 Points
Lexile measure:
1030L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ee7148b1-b231-2870-0e66-05bd5e9802eb
Grouping Title americanized rebel without a green card
Grouping Author saedi sara
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-15 22:45:21PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-16 02:48:53AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 11
accelerated_reader_reading_level 7.5
author Sara Saedi
author_display Sara Saedi
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast, Thompson Lane
collection_catalog Biography
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Teen Biography, Edmondson Pike - Teen Biography, Green Hills - Teen Biography, Hermitage - Teen Biography, Main Library - Teen Biography, Richland Park - Teen Biography, Southeast - Teen Biography, Thompson Lane - Teen Biography
display_description "At thirteen, bright-eyed, straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret: she was breaking the law simply by living in the United States. Only two years old when her parents fled Iran, she didn't learn of her undocumented status until her older sister wanted to apply for an after-school job, but couldn't because she didn't have a Social Security number. Fear of deportation kept Sara up at night, but it didn't keep her from being a teenager. She desperately wanted a green card, along with clear skin, her own car, and a boyfriend. From discovering that her parents secretly divorced to facilitate her mother's green card application to learning how to tame her unibrow, Sara pivots gracefully from the terrifying prospect that she might be kicked out of the country to the almost-as-terrifying possibility that she might be the only one without a date to the prom. This moving, often hilarious story is for anyone who has ever shared either fear."--Jacket flap.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id ee7148b1-b231-2870-0e66-05bd5e9802eb
isbn 9781524717797, 9781524717803, 9781524717810
item_details ils:CARL0000702279|35192050157712|Bellevue - Teen Biography|YA B S1273a|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000702279|35192050157720|Edmondson Pike - Teen Biography|YA B S1273a|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000702279|35192050157738|Green Hills - Teen Biography|YA B S1273a|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000702279|35192050157746|Hermitage - Teen Biography|YA B S1273a|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000702279|35192050157753|Main Library - Teen Biography|YA B S1273a|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000702279|35192050157761|Richland Park - Teen Biography|YA B S1273a|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000702279|35192050157779|Southeast - Teen Biography|YA B S1273a|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000702279|35192050157787|Thompson Lane - Teen Biography|YA B S1273a|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, ils:CARL0000702279|B00779840|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000702279|B00779842|Cane Ridge High - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000702279|B00779845|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000702279|B00779846|Whites Creek High - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000702279|B00779850|Antioch High - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000702279|B00779852|Glencliff High - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000702279|B00779855|Overton High - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000702279|B00779857|Hillsboro High - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||66435||, ils:CARL0000702279|B00779858|Hillwood High - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000702279|B00779860|McGavock High - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000702279|B00779862|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000702279|B00779865|Maplewood High - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000702279|B00779872|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000702279|B00779875|Cameron College Prep - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||71181||, ils:CARL0000702279|FF00166296|Litton Middle - Teen Non-Fiction|305.89 Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4I510||, ils:CARL0000702279|QQ00311961|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000702279|TT00014245|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Biography|B Sae Sae|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, overdrive:97a48a8f-8a15-4b6e-8b0a-8f4936de7ed5|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-16T08:48:53.966Z
lexile_score 1030
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA B S1273a
local_time_since_added_catalog Year
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast, Thompson Lane
primary_isbn 9781524717803
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:CARL0000702279|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Alfred A. Knopf,|[2018]|280 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm, overdrive:97a48a8f-8a15-4b6e-8b0a-8f4936de7ed5|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2018|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000702279 35192050157753 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000702279 35192050157712 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000702279 35192050157746 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000702279 35192050157738 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000702279 35192050157720 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000702279 35192050157779 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000702279 35192050157787 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000702279 35192050157761 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:97a48a8f-8a15-4b6e-8b0a-8f4936de7ed5 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Autobiographies, Families -- California -- Biography, Illegal aliens -- Biography, Immigrants -- Biography, Iranian Americans -- Biography, Saedi, Sara
title_display Americanized : rebel without a green card
title_full Americanized : rebel without a green card / Sara Saedi, Americanized Rebel Without a Green Card
title_short Americanized :
title_sub Rebel Without a Green Card
topic_facet Families, Geography, Humor (Nonfiction), Illegal aliens, Immigrants, Iranian Americans, Saedi, Sara, Sociology, Young Adult Nonfiction