A thousand pardons: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee's novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness?   Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home--a change that weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben's recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels, swiftly and spectacularly.   Thrust back into the working world, Helen finds a job in public relations and relocates with Sara from their home in upstate New York to an apartment in Manhattan. There, Helen discovers she has a rare gift, indispensable in the world of image control: She can convince arrogant men to admit their mistakes, spinning crises into second chances. Yet redemption is more easily granted in her professional life than in her personal one.   As she is confronted with the biggest case of her career, the fallout from her marriage, and Sara's increasingly distant behavior, Helen must face the limits of accountability and her own capacity for forgiveness. Praise for A Thousand Pardons   " A Thousand Pardons is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times." --Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad "Hugely enjoyable . . . Dee is a snappy, cinematic writer. . . . A Thousand Pardons moves fast. It's a mere 200 or so pages, and it packs a lot of turns of fate within there." -- The Boston Globe   "Dee's gifts are often dazzling and his material meticulously shaped. . . . [He] articulates complex emotional dynamics with precision and insight." --The New York Times Book Review   "Some stories begin with a bang. And some begin with a roaring fireball of truth. Jonathan Dee's latest novel belongs in the latter camp." --O: The Oprah Magazine   "Dee bounds gracefully among Helen's, Ben's, and Sara's points of view as they try to reassemble their lives. Their stories feel honest, and the prose is beautiful." --Entertainment Weekly   "A page turner . . . What a triumph." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)   "Graceful prose and such a sharp understanding of human weakness that you'll wince as you laugh." --People   "Propulsively readable." --The Millions   "Dee continues to establish himself as an ironic observer of contemporary behavior. . . . The plot is energetic. . . . But most compelling is the acuteness of the details." --The Atlantic
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780812993219
9780385393751
9780679645009
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ef7c0560-af29-54b1-2ec5-b8fbb438a60f
Grouping Title thousand pardons
Grouping Author dee jonathan
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-22 23:50:37PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-23 00:30:48AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Jonathan Dee
author_display Dee, Jonathan
available_at_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Adult Fiction, Main Library - Adult Fiction
display_description What do we really want when we ask for forgiveness? Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home. The change weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben's recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels. As she is confronted with the biggest case of her career, the fallout from her marriage, and Sara's increasingly distant behavior, Helen must face the limits of accountability and her own capacity for forgiveness.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id ef7c0560-af29-54b1-2ec5-b8fbb438a60f
isbn 9780385393751, 9780679645009, 9780812993219
item_details ils:CARL0000400063|35192043874795|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Dee|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000400063|35192043874803|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Dee|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:672e913a-b755-4d0e-813f-fcfab01768fb|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:f8f2d3a6-7418-4c56-9a9d-a3ceff95156e|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-23T05:30:48.254Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Fiction Dee
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Main Kids, Main Library
primary_isbn 9780812993219
publishDate 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000400063|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Random House,|c2013.|214 p. ; 25 cm., overdrive:672e913a-b755-4d0e-813f-fcfab01768fb|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2013|, overdrive:f8f2d3a6-7418-4c56-9a9d-a3ceff95156e|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:f8f2d3a6-7418-4c56-9a9d-a3ceff95156e -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000400063 35192043874795 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000400063 35192043874803 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:672e913a-b755-4d0e-813f-fcfab01768fb -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Businesswomen -- Fiction, Corporations -- Corrupt practices -- Fiction, Divorced women -- Fiction, Man-woman relationships -- Fiction, Political corruption -- Fiction
title_display A thousand pardons : a novel
title_full A Thousand Pardons A Novel, A thousand pardons : a novel / Jonathan Dee
title_short A thousand pardons :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Businesswomen, Corporations, Corrupt practices, Divorced women, Fiction, Literature, Man-woman relationships, Political corruption