The three-year swim club: the untold story of Maui's Sugar Ditch kids and their quest for Olympic glory

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2015.
Language:
English
Description
For readers of Unbroken and The Boys in the Boat comes the inspirational, untold story of impoverished children who transformed themselves into world-class swimmers.

In 1937, a schoolteacher on the island of Maui challenged a group of poverty-stricken sugar plantation kids to swim upstream against the current of their circumstance. The goal? To become Olympians.

They faced seemingly insurmountable obstacles. The children were Japanese-American, were malnourished and barefoot and had no pool; they trained in the filthy irrigation ditches that snaked down from the mountains into the sugarcane fields. Their future was in those same fields, working alongside their parents in virtual slavery, known not by their names but by numbered tags that hung around their necks. Their teacher, Soichi Sakamoto, was an ordinary man whose swimming ability didn't extend much beyond treading water.

In spite of everything, including the virulent anti-Japanese sentiment of the late 1930s, in their first year the children outraced Olympic athletes twice their size; in their second year, they were national and international champs, shattering American and world records and making headlines from L.A. to Nazi Germany. In their third year, they'd be declared the greatest swimmers in the world, but they'd also face their greatest obstacle: the dawning of a world war and the cancellation of the Games. Still, on the battlefield, they'd become the 20 th century's most celebrated heroes, and in 1948, they'd have one last chance for Olympic glory.

They were the Three-Year Swim Club. This is their story.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781455523443
9781455579556
9781619693845
Lexile measure:
1260L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID f8cb818c-343b-e2df-1ac5-00197aadb9cb
Grouping Title three year swim club the untold story of mauis sugar ditch kids and their quest for olympic glory
Grouping Author checkoway julie
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-17 22:54:22PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-17 23:25:04PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Chadwick, Alex.
author Checkoway, Julie.
author2-role Chadwick, Alex.
author_display Checkoway, Julie
collection_catalog Audiobook, Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Green Hills - Adult Audiobook, Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction, Southeast - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description The inspirational story of a group of impoverished children who were transformed into champion swimmers. In 1937 an ordinary grammar school teacher on the island of Maui took a group of underprivileged children mostly of Japanese ancestry and, in three short years, transformed them into Olympic champions.
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id f8cb818c-343b-e2df-1ac5-00197aadb9cb
isbn 9781455523443, 9781455579556, 9781619693845
item_details ils:CARL0000475330|35192048073732|Green Hills - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO 797.21 C5149t|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000475332|35192048042208|Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction|797.21 C5149t|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||HM||, ils:CARL0000475332|35192048042216|Southeast - Adult Non-Fiction|797.21 C5149t|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||SE||, overdrive:089278b2-e972-4d29-87c6-6fb796ff7306|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book
last_indexed 2018-07-18T04:25:04.098Z
lexile_score 1260
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog 797.21 C5149t, CD AUDIO 797.21 C5149t
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Southeast
primary_isbn 9781455523443
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000475330|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged retail ed.|English|Hachette Audio,|2015.|14 sound discs (900 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., ils:CARL0000475332|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Grand Central Publishing,|2015.|viii, 415 pages, 16 unumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm., overdrive:089278b2-e972-4d29-87c6-6fb796ff7306|eBook|eBook||English|Grand Central Publishing|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000475332 35192048042216 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000475332 35192048042208 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000475330 35192048073732 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
overdrive:089278b2-e972-4d29-87c6-6fb796ff7306 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Audiobooks, Japanese American children -- Hawaii -- Maui, Olympic Games -- (14th : -- 1948 : -- London, England), Swimmers -- Hawaii -- Maui -- Biography, Swimming -- Hawaii -- Maui -- History
title_display The three-year swim club : the untold story of Maui's Sugar Ditch kids and their quest for Olympic glory
title_full The Three-Year Swim Club The Untold Story of Maui's Sugar Ditch Kids and Their Quest for Olympic Glory, The Three-year Swim Club [sound recording] : the untold story of Maui's Sugar Ditch kids and their quest for Olympic glory / Julie Checkoway, The three-year swim club : the untold story of Maui's Sugar Ditch kids and their quest for Olympic glory / Julie Checkoway
title_short The three-year swim club :
title_sub the untold story of Maui's Sugar Ditch kids and their quest for Olympic glory
topic_facet Audiobooks, History, Japanese American children, Military, Nonfiction, Sports & Recreations, Swimmers, Swimming