All library locations are closed Monday, May 28, in observance of Memorial Day.

The crown of embers: Fire and Thorns Series, Book 2

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2012.
Language:
English
Description

The second book in Rae Carson's award-winning The Girl of Fire and Thorns fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Game of Thrones and Kristin Cashore. Tamora Pierce called the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "A unique and engrossing read!" A seventeen-year-old princess turned war queen faces sorcery, adventure, untold power, and romance as she fulfills her epic destiny.

In The Girl of Fire and Thorns, Elisa won the war. She saved her kingdom. But no one prepared her for how hard it is to recover from a battle, or to rule a people who still don't trust her. She's still fighting--against assassination attempts and more--and her enemies lie both outside her court and within it. So Elisa will cross the ocean in search of the perilous, uncharted, and mythical source of the Godstone's power. With her go a one-eyed warrior, a loyal friend, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with. A breathtaking, romantic, and dangerous second volume to Rae Carson's ambitious trilogy. Cinda Williams Chima proclaimed about the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "I LOVED this book!" and Veronica Roth agreed, saying, "Definitely recommended."

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062026514
9780062221858
9781464049347
9780062190086
Reading Level:
UG
Level 5, 15 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 730L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID fd0e55d3-1808-69fa-9efe-35b873eae605
Full title crown of embers
Author carson rae
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-23 23:09:43PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-23 23:39:38PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 15
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5
author Rae Carson
author_display Carson, Rae
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Richland Park, Southeast
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Teen Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction, Hermitage - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction, Richland Park - Teen Fiction, Southeast - Teen Fiction
display_description "Hero. Foreigner. Queen. Elisa, at the age of seventeen, is all three. And all three draw enemies. Faced with assassins, court politics, and the threat of civil war, Elisa despairs of being the ruler her people need. Her only hope is the Godstone. She must master its power once and for all. She finds clues hidden in a long forgotten--and forbidden--scripture. Accompanied by a one-eyed warrior, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with, Elisa takes a leap of faith and crosses an ocean in search of the ultimate source of the Godstone's power. But her faith has always had a price, and doing the right thing might mean giving up the power she desperately needs. And it might mean giving up the man she desperately loves. Rae Carson continues the epic story begun in The Girl of Fire and Thorns with a novel that is remarkable, adventurous, and even more romantic than the first"--
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id fd0e55d3-1808-69fa-9efe-35b873eae605
isbn 9780062026514, 9780062190086, 9780062221858, 9781464049347
item_details ils:CARL0000397611|35192043052327|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Carson|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000397611|35192043052335|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Carson|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000397611|35192043052343|Richland Park - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Carson|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000397611|35192043052376|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Carson|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000397611|35192043052384|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Carson|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000397611|35192045360488|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Carson|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000397611|A01905789|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, ils:CARL0000397611|B00606307|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000397611|B00631951|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000397611|B00635239|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000397611|B00737562|Wright Middle - Teen Fiction|FANT F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4X805||, ils:CARL0000397611|B00740232|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000397611|B00744483|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000397611|FF00057622|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000397611|FF00061245|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000397611|FF00096917|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000397611|FF00106020|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|FAN F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000397611|FF00126049|Apollo Middle - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4P577||, ils:CARL0000397611|QQ00144786|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4N555||, ils:CARL0000397611|QQ00163288|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, overdrive:e430560c-cd54-462e-9bc2-81d519541ba0|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||, overdrive:e6a77825-b8e0-41a5-848f-d5d08a4df046|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:eac65074-6b22-4063-86f0-a03176e2342b|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-24T04:39:38.007Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 730
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Carson
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780062026514
publishDate 2012
record_details ils:CARL0000397611|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Greenwillow Books,|2012.|410 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:e430560c-cd54-462e-9bc2-81d519541ba0|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2012|, overdrive:e6a77825-b8e0-41a5-848f-d5d08a4df046|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books|2012|, overdrive:eac65074-6b22-4063-86f0-a03176e2342b|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HarperCollins|2012|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000397611|35192043052327|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000397611|35192043052335|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000397611|35192043052343|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000397611|35192043052376|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000397611|35192043052384|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000397611|35192045360488|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:e430560c-cd54-462e-9bc2-81d519541ba0|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:e6a77825-b8e0-41a5-848f-d5d08a4df046|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:eac65074-6b22-4063-86f0-a03176e2342b|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
series Fire and thorns trilogy
series_with_volume Fire and thorns trilogy|2
subject_facet Kings, queens, rulers, etc. -- Fiction, Love stories, American, Magic -- Fiction, Prophecies -- Fiction, Young adult fiction
title_display The crown of embers
title_full The Crown of Embers Fire and Thorns Series, Book 2, The crown of embers / by Rae Carson
title_short The crown of embers
title_sub Fire and Thorns Series, Book 2
topic_facet Fantasy, Kings, queens, rulers, etc, Love stories, American, Magic, Prophecies, Young Adult Fiction