What's the big deal about freedom

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Philomel Books,
Pub. Date:
[2017]
Language:
English
Description
From the Constitution to civil rights, from women's rights to the four freedoms, this kid-friendly picture book filled with fun facts and historical trivia shows how America got the nickname "land of the free." It?s a "free country"! Why? Because in America we're free speak our minds, choose our leaders and set the rules. Since way back when Thomas Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence, Americans have stood up for freedom again and again - but it wasn?t always easy! Did you know that Henry "Box" Brown escaped slavery by shipping himself north in a box? Or that Susan B. Anthony was arrested when she tried to vote? Did you know that even young kids protested for the right to go to school? This entertaining, fact-filled book celebrates how, with every generation, more and more Americans won the right to be free. Find out how they did it and why standing up for the "land of the free" is such a big deal!Perfect for fans of The One and Only Declaration of Independence , John, Paul, George & Ben , and Shh! We're Writing the Constitution - and after this fraught election year, is a great way to talk about America, its values, and the rights we all enjoy.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780399547287
Reading Level:
LG
Level 6.3, 1 Points
Lexile measure:
NC: Non-Conforming 1100L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID fdafca7d-4b1e-69e3-a0a0-e4ebea0d5916
Grouping Title what s the big deal about freedom
Grouping Author shamir ruby
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-20 23:13:15PM
Last Indexed 2018-12-16 03:49:46AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level LG
accelerated_reader_point_value 1
accelerated_reader_reading_level 6.3
auth_author2 Faulkner, Matt,
author Shamir, Ruby,
author2-role Faulkner, Matt,illustrator.
author_display Shamir, Ruby
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
collection_catalog Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Kids Non-Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Kids Non-Fiction, Green Hills - Kids Non-Fiction, Hermitage - Kids Non-Fiction, Main Library - Kids Non-Fiction, Southeast - Kids Non-Fiction
display_description Explains how America got the nickname "land of the free" and shares facts on subjects ranging from the Constitution and abolition to suffrage and the four freedoms, while offering insight into the progression and setbacks of democracy.
format_catalog Book
format_category_catalog Books
id fdafca7d-4b1e-69e3-a0a0-e4ebea0d5916
isbn 9780399547287
item_details ils:CARL0000511878|35192049673415|Bellevue - Kids Non-Fiction|j323.44 S5282w|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000511878|35192049673423|Edmondson Pike - Kids Non-Fiction|j323.44 S5282w|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000511878|35192049673431|Green Hills - Kids Non-Fiction|j323.44 S5282w|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000511878|35192049673449|Hermitage - Kids Non-Fiction|j323.44 S5282w|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000511878|35192049673456|Main Library - Kids Non-Fiction|j323.44 S5282w|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000511878|35192049673464|Southeast - Kids Non-Fiction|j323.44 S5282w|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000511878|FF00151898|Mt. View Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction|323.44 Sha|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||2E576||, ils:CARL0000511878|FF00167662|Robert Churchwell Elementary - Kids Non-Fiction|323.44 Sha|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||2Z784||
itype_catalog Book
last_indexed 2018-12-16T09:49:46.966Z
lexile_code NC: Non-Conforming
lexile_score 1100
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog j323.44 S5282w
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780399547287
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:CARL0000511878|Book|Books||English|Philomel Books,|[2017]|1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 30 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000511878 35192049673456 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000511878 35192049673431 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000511878 35192049673464 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000511878 35192049673423 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000511878 35192049673415 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000511878 35192049673449 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
series What's the big deal about
series_with_volume What's the big deal about|
subject_facet Civil rights, Civil rights -- United States -- Juvenile literature, Freedom, Liberty -- Juvenile literature, United States. -- Constitution, United States. -- Constitution. -- 1st-10th Amendments -- Juvenile literature
title_display What's the big deal about freedom
title_full What's the big deal about freedom / written by Ruby Shamir ; illustrated by Matt Faulkner
title_short What's the big deal about freedom
topic_facet Civil rights, Freedom, Liberty