The bone witch: Bone Witch Series, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Bone witch volume 1.
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

A Publishers WeeklyMost Anticipated Young Adult Book of Spring 2017!

In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price...

Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there's anything I've learned from him in the years since, it's that the dead hide truths as well as the living.

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she's a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha--one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles...and make a powerful choice.

Memoirs of a Geisha meets The Name of the Windin this brilliant new fantasy series by Rin Chupeco!

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781492652786
9781492635826
9781504784924
9781492635833
Reading Level:
MG+
Level 6.5, 17 Points
Lexile measure:
900L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ff2fef22-dcd0-919d-a592-4e3817c63036
Grouping Title bone witch
Grouping Author chupeco rin
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-19 23:16:26PM
Last Indexed 2018-10-19 09:40:38AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG+
accelerated_reader_point_value 17
accelerated_reader_reading_level 6.5
author Chupeco, Rin,
author_display Chupeco, Rin
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Inglewood, Richland Park
collection_catalog Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Teen Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction, Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction, Green Hills - Teen Fiction, Hermitage - Teen Fiction, Inglewood - Teen Fiction, Main Library - Teen Fiction, Richland Park - Teen Fiction
display_description Tea's gift for death magic means that she is a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community, but when an older bone witch trains her to become an asha--one who can wield elemental magic--Tea will have to overcome her obstacles and make a powerful choice in the face of danger as dark forces approach.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id ff2fef22-dcd0-919d-a592-4e3817c63036
isbn 9781492635826, 9781492635833, 9781492652786, 9781504784924
item_details ils:CARL0000505217|35192049391729|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Chupeco|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000505217|35192049391737|Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Chupeco|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GO||, ils:CARL0000505217|35192049391745|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Chupeco|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||EP||, ils:CARL0000505217|35192049391752|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Chupeco|||1|false|false|||||On Display||GH||, ils:CARL0000505217|35192049391760|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Chupeco|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||HM||, ils:CARL0000505217|35192049391786|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Chupeco|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000505217|35192049391794|Richland Park - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Chupeco|||1|false|false|||||On Hold Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000505217|A01983359|Hillsboro High - Teen Fiction|F Chu|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||66435||, ils:CARL0000505217|FF00140231|Litton Middle - Teen Fiction|F Chu|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4I510||, ils:CARL0000505217|FF00143638|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F Chu|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000505217|SE00001770|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F Chu|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000505217|TT00011925|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F Chu|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000709289|35192050404064|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Chupeco|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000709289|35192050404072|Inglewood - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Chupeco|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, ils:CARL0000709289|35192050404080|Richland Park - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Chupeco|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000709289|A02184861|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F Chu|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||4W783||, overdrive:2a590dfa-0eee-48c9-ba4b-e5d30c1d6cba|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||, overdrive:979568f6-488b-4acc-a585-b61f2eb0e821|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog , Book
last_indexed 2018-10-19T14:40:38.977Z
lexile_score 900
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog YA Fiction Chupeco
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Goodlettsville, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Inglewood, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park
primary_isbn 9781492652786
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:CARL0000505217|Book|Books||English|Sourcebooks Fire,|[2017]|xiii, 411 pages ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000709289|Book|Books||English|Sourcebooks Fire,|[2017]|xv, 425 pages : maps ; 21 cm, overdrive:2a590dfa-0eee-48c9-ba4b-e5d30c1d6cba|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Blackstone Publishing|2017|, overdrive:979568f6-488b-4acc-a585-b61f2eb0e821|eBook|eBook||English|Sourcebooks|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:979568f6-488b-4acc-a585-b61f2eb0e821 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000505217 35192049391737 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000505217 35192049391752 On Shelf On Display false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000505217 35192049391786 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000505217 35192049391760 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000505217 35192049391794 Checked Out On Hold Shelf false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000505217 35192049391729 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000505217 35192049391745 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000709289 35192050404072 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000709289 35192050404080 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000709289 35192050404064 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
overdrive:2a590dfa-0eee-48c9-ba4b-e5d30c1d6cba -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
series Bone witch
series_with_volume Bone witch|1
subject_facet Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, Good and evil -- Fiction, Magic -- Fiction, Science fiction, Witches -- Fiction, Young adult fiction
title_display The bone witch
title_full The Bone Witch Bone Witch Series, Book 1, The bone witch / Rin Chupeco
title_short The bone witch
title_sub Bone Witch Series, Book 1
topic_facet Fantasy, Good and evil, Magic, Witches, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature, Young adult fiction