Green Hills Branch Library is closed Nov 19-24 for parking lot maintenance. Get details.

All library locations are closed beginning at 6 PM Wednesday, Nov 21, and reopen for normal hours on Saturday, Nov 24. Happy Thanksgiving!

The other typist: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(4)
3 star
 
(3)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Description
"Take a dollop of Alfred Hitchcock, a dollop of Patricia Highsmith, throw in some Great Gatsby flourishes, and the result is Rindell's debut, a pitch-black comedy about a police stenographer accused of murder in 1920s Manhattan.... A deliciously addictive, cinematically influenced page-turner, both comic and provocative." -- Kirkus Reviews , starred review For fans of The Talented Mr. Ripley and The Great Gatsby comes one of the most memorable unreliable narrators in years.   Rose Baker seals men's fates. With a few strokes of the keys that sit before her, she can send a person away for life in prison. A typist in a New York City Police Department precinct, Rose is like a high priestess. Confessions are her job. It is 1923, and while she may hear every detail about shootings, knifings, and murders, as soon as she leaves the interrogation room she is once again the weaker sex, best suited for filing and making coffee.

This is a new era for women, and New York is a confusing place for Rose. Gone are the Victorian standards of what is acceptable. All around her women bob their hair, they smoke, they go to speakeasies. Yet prudish Rose is stuck in the fading light of yesteryear, searching for the nurturing companionship that eluded her childhood. When glamorous Odalie, a new girl, joins the typing pool, despite her best intentions Rose falls under Odalie's spell. As the two women navigate between the sparkling underworld of speakeasies by night and their work at the station by day, Rose is drawn fully into Odalie's high-stakes world. And soon her fascination with Odalie turns into an obsession from which she may never recover.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780399161469
9781101928387
9781611761740
9781101621080
9780425268421
9781611739152
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ff50bf8d-3776-2b6c-45f8-9f78eed1c10e
Grouping Title other typist
Grouping Author rindell suzanne
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-20 22:48:45PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-20 23:52:15PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Mol, Gretchen.
author Suzanne Rindell
author2-role Mol, Gretchen.
author_display Rindell, Suzanne
available_at_catalog Annex, Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Donelson, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast
collection_catalog Audiobook, Book Club In A Bag, Fiction, Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Annex - Adult Book Club In A Bag, Annex - Adult Fiction, Bellevue - Adult Fiction, Donelson - Adult Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Adult Audiobook, Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Audiobook, Green Hills - Adult Fiction, Green Hills - Adult Large Print, Hermitage - Adult Audiobook, Hermitage - Adult Large Print, Main Library - Adult Fiction, Richland Park - Adult Audiobook, Southeast - Adult Audiobook
display_description Working as a typist for the NYC Police Department in 1923, Rose Baker documents confessions of harrowing crimes and struggles with changing gender roles while clinging to her Victorian ideals and searching for nurturing companionship before becoming obsessed with a glamorous newcomer and her world of bobbed hair, smoking and speakeasies.
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, Kit, Large Print, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id ff50bf8d-3776-2b6c-45f8-9f78eed1c10e
isbn 9780399161469, 9780425268421, 9781101621080, 9781101928387, 9781611739152, 9781611761740
item_details ils:CARL0000407272|35192044248320|Green Hills - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Rindell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000407272|35192044248338|Richland Park - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Rindell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000407272|35192044248346|Edmondson Pike - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Rindell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000407272|35192044248387|Hermitage - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Rindell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000407272|35192045451162|Southeast - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Rindell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000407802|35192044128316|Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction|Fiction Rindell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000407802|35192044128365|Annex - Adult Fiction|Fiction Rindell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||AX||, ils:CARL0000407802|35192044199697|Bellevue - Adult Fiction|Fiction Rindell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000407802|35192044199713|Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction|Fiction Rindell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000407802|35192044205403|Annex - Adult Fiction|Fiction Rindell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||AX||, ils:CARL0000407802|35192044205411|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Rindell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000407802|35192044247702|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Rindell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000407802|35192045733528|Donelson - Adult Fiction|Fiction Rindell|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DO||, ils:CARL0000416995|35192044506065|Green Hills - Adult Large Print|Fiction Rindell Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000416995|35192044506073|Hermitage - Adult Large Print|Fiction Rindell Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000487099|35192048330512|Annex - Adult Book Club In A Bag|Book Club in a Bag|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||AX||, overdrive:1a92617e-0af1-40c3-b9ce-bb96aeb9e78e|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:ee7ea3a3-80a2-4bf2-9c59-1cdf3adcfcee|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book, Kit, Large Print Book
last_indexed 2018-11-21T05:52:15.54Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog Book Club in a Bag, CD AUDIO Fiction Rindell, Fiction Rindell, Fiction Rindell Large Type
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Annex, Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Donelson, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Main Kids, Main Library, Richland Park, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780399161469
publishDate 2013, 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000407272|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Penguin Audio,|p2013.|8 sound discs (ca. 600 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., ils:CARL0000407802|Book|Books||English|G.P. Putnam's Sons, a member of the Penguin Group (USA) Inc.,|[2013]|356 pages ; 24 cm., ils:CARL0000416995|Large Print|Books|Center Point Large Print edition.|English|Center Point Large Print,|2013.|447 pages (large print) ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000487099|Kit|Books||Unknown|Berkley Books,|2014, c2013.|1 bag (Black and yellow) ; 30 x 44 cm. + 10 books, discussion questions, author's biography, "Tips for starting a successful Book club" and instructions for Book Club in a Bag program., overdrive:1a92617e-0af1-40c3-b9ce-bb96aeb9e78e|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Publishing Group|2013|, overdrive:ee7ea3a3-80a2-4bf2-9c59-1cdf3adcfcee|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000416995 35192044506065 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000416995 35192044506073 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000407802 35192044205411 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000407802 35192044247702 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000407802 35192044128365 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000407802 35192045733528 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000407802 35192044199697 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000407802 35192044128316 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000407802 35192044199713 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000407802 35192044205403 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:1a92617e-0af1-40c3-b9ce-bb96aeb9e78e -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:ee7ea3a3-80a2-4bf2-9c59-1cdf3adcfcee -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000407272 35192044248320 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000407272 35192044248387 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000407272 35192044248338 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000407272 35192045451162 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000407272 35192044248346 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000487099 35192048330512 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Audiobooks, Historical fiction, American, Large type books, New York (N.Y.) -- History -- 1898-1951 -- Fiction, Nineteen twenties -- Fiction, Police stations -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction, Suspense fiction, American, Typists -- Fiction, Women -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction
title_display The other typist
title_full The Other Typist, The Other Typist A Novel, The other typist / Suzanne Rindell, The other typist [sound recording] : a novel / Suzanne Rindell, The other typist [text (large print)] / Suzanne Rindell
title_short The other typist
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Audiobooks, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Historical fiction, American, History, Large type books, Literature, Nineteen twenties, Police stations, Suspense fiction, American, Thriller, Typists, Women