North Branch Library is closed until further notice due to restroom plumbing issues.

Crime of privilege: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY" THE SACRAMENTO BEE" In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, "Crime of Privilege" is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America--and the dangerous ways they come together. A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach. All they have in common is the presence of one of America's most beloved and influential families. But nobody is asking questions. Not the police. Not the prosecutors. And certainly not George Becket, a young lawyer toiling away in the basement of the Cape & Islands district attorney's office. George has always lived at the edge of power. He wasn't born to privilege, but he understands how it works and has benefitted from it in ways he doesn't like to admit. Now, an investigation brings him deep inside the world of the truly wealthy--and shows him what a perilous place it is. Years have passed since a young woman was found brutally slain at an exclusive Cape Cod golf club, and no one has ever been charged. Cornered by the victim's father, George can't explain why certain leads were never explored--leads that point in the direction of a single family--and he agrees to look into it. What begins as a search through the highly stratified layers of Cape Cod society, soon has George racing from Idaho to Hawaii, Costa Rica to France to New York City. But everywhere he goes he discovers people like himself: people with more secrets than answers, people haunted by a decision years past to trade silence for protection from life's sharp edges. George finds his friends are not necessarily still friends and a spouse can be unfaithful in more ways than one. And despite threats at every turn, he is driven to reconstruct the victim's last hours while searching not only for a killer but for his own redemption. Praise for "Crime of Privilege" "Twisting, engrossing, irresistible."--William Landay, author of "Defending Jacob" "Stunning . . . an outstanding crime story."--"Library Journal "(starred review) "A terrifically entertaining race of a read . . . jam-packed with intelligence, insight, morality and heart. Top-notch and highly recommended "--John Lescroart "A gripping thriller . . . an unsettling, multilayered look at the insidious symbiosis between power and corruption."--"Maclean's" "A legal thriller and a murder mystery cloaked in pure enjoyment . . . The author's wit, dry and cutting, is razor-sharp."--"Bookreporter"" " "An engaging, very well-paced novel . . . exciting and unpredictable."""

"From the Hardcover edition."

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ff5666ef-09d8-aaf2-2a85-b841255f15a2
full_title crime of privilege
author walker walter
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-03-17 15:22:04PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Hoye, Stephen.
author Walker, Walter.
author2-role Hoye, Stephen.
author_display Walker, Walter
available_at_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Southeast
collection_catalog Audiobook, Fiction, Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Audiobook, Bellevue - Adult Fiction, Bellevue - Adult Large Print, Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction, Edmondson Pike - Adult Large Print, Green Hills - Adult Fiction, Hermitage - Adult Fiction, Southeast - Adult Audiobook, Southeast - Adult Fiction, Southeast - Adult Large Print
display_description Pitted against a powerful family when he reopens the scandalous case of a young woman's unsolved murder, George Becket is forced to confront a haunting mistake from his own past while outmaneuvering wealth-driven corruption.
format_catalog Book, CD audio book, Large Print, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id ff5666ef-09d8-aaf2-2a85-b841255f15a2
isbn 038536721, 9780345541536, 9780345541543, 9780385367219, 9780385367233, 9781410459282
item_details ils:CARL0000407259|35192044277816|Bellevue - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Walker|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000407259|35192045456047|Southeast - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Walker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000407737|35192044240269|Bellevue - Adult Fiction|Fiction Walker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000407737|35192044240293|Southeast - Adult Fiction|Fiction Walker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000407737|35192044240319|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Walker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000407737|35192044240335|Hermitage - Adult Fiction|Fiction Walker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000407737|35192044240350|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Walker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000407737|35192044240392|Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction|Fiction Walker|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000415703|35192044300287|Edmondson Pike - Adult Large Print|Fiction Walker Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000415703|35192045427402|Southeast - Adult Large Print|Fiction Walker Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000415703|35192046878819|Bellevue - Adult Large Print|Fiction Walker Large Type|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, overdrive:57a1f425-ccae-4065-ae83-b2194c18bfbd|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog , Book, CD audio book, Large Print Book
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Walker, Fiction Walker, Fiction Walker Large Type
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue, Bellevue Kids, Edmondson Pike, Edmondson Pike Kids, Green Hills, Green Hills Kids, Hermitage, Hermitage Kids, Southeast
primary_isbn 9780345541536
publishDate 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000407259|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Random House Audio,|2013.|11 sound discs (840 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., ils:CARL0000407737|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Ballantine Books,|2013.|413 pages ; 25 cm., ils:CARL0000415703|Large Print|Books|Large Print edition.|English|Thorndike Press, A part of Gale, Cengage Learning,|2013.|685 pages (large print) ; 22 cm., overdrive:57a1f425-ccae-4065-ae83-b2194c18bfbd|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:CARL0000407259|35192044277816|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000407259|35192045456047|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000407737|35192044240269|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000407737|35192044240293|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000407737|35192044240319|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000407737|35192044240335|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000407737|35192044240350|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000407737|35192044240392|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000415703|35192044300287|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000415703|35192045427402|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000415703|35192046878819|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:57a1f425-ccae-4065-ae83-b2194c18bfbd|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Audiobooks, Large type books, Legal stories, American, Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction, Murder victims' families -- Fiction, Suspense fiction, American, Upper class -- Fiction
title_display Crime of privilege : a novel
title_full Crime of Privilege A Novel, Crime of privilege : a novel / Walter Walker, Crime of privilege [sound recording] / Walter Walker, Crime of privilege [text (large print)] / by Walter Walker
title_short Crime of privilege :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Audiobooks, Fiction, Investigation, Large type books, Legal stories, American, Literature, Murder, Murder victims' families, Mystery, Suspense fiction, American, Thriller, Upper class