Crime of privilege: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2013.
Language:
English
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY" THE SACRAMENTO BEE" In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, "Crime of Privilege" is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America--and the dangerous ways they come together. A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach. All they have in common is the presence of one of America's most beloved and influential families. But nobody is asking questions. Not the police. Not the prosecutors. And certainly not George Becket, a young lawyer toiling away in the basement of the Cape & Islands district attorney's office. George has always lived at the edge of power. He wasn't born to privilege, but he understands how it works and has benefitted from it in ways he doesn't like to admit. Now, an investigation brings him deep inside the world of the truly wealthy--and shows him what a perilous place it is. Years have passed since a young woman was found brutally slain at an exclusive Cape Cod golf club, and no one has ever been charged. Cornered by the victim's father, George can't explain why certain leads were never explored--leads that point in the direction of a single family--and he agrees to look into it. What begins as a search through the highly stratified layers of Cape Cod society, soon has George racing from Idaho to Hawaii, Costa Rica to France to New York City. But everywhere he goes he discovers people like himself: people with more secrets than answers, people haunted by a decision years past to trade silence for protection from life's sharp edges. George finds his friends are not necessarily still friends and a spouse can be unfaithful in more ways than one. And despite threats at every turn, he is driven to reconstruct the victim's last hours while searching not only for a killer but for his own redemption. Praise for "Crime of Privilege" "Twisting, engrossing, irresistible."--William Landay, author of "Defending Jacob" "Stunning . . . an outstanding crime story."--"Library Journal "(starred review) "A terrifically entertaining race of a read . . . jam-packed with intelligence, insight, morality and heart. Top-notch and highly recommended "--John Lescroart "A gripping thriller . . . an unsettling, multilayered look at the insidious symbiosis between power and corruption."--"Maclean's" "A legal thriller and a murder mystery cloaked in pure enjoyment . . . The author's wit, dry and cutting, is razor-sharp."--"Bookreporter"" " "An engaging, very well-paced novel . . . exciting and unpredictable.""--Examiner.com"

"From the Hardcover edition."

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780345541536
9780345541543
9780385367233
038536721
9781410459282
9780385367219
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ff5666ef-09d8-aaf2-2a85-b841255f15a2
Grouping Title crime of privilege
Grouping Author walker walter
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2020-01-24 22:44:27PM
Last Indexed 2020-01-24 23:42:59PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Hoye, Stephen.
author Walter Walker
author2-role Hoye, Stephen.
author_display Walker, Walter
available_at_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Southeast
collection_catalog Audiobook
Fiction
Large Print
detailed_location_catalog Bellevue - Adult Fiction
Bellevue - Adult Large Print
Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction
Edmondson Pike - Adult Large Print
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Hermitage - Adult Fiction
Southeast - Adult Audiobook
Southeast - Adult Large Print
display_description Pitted against a powerful family when he reopens the scandalous case of a young woman's unsolved murder, George Becket is forced to confront a haunting mistake from his own past while outmaneuvering wealth-driven corruption.
format_catalog Book
CD audio book
Large Print
eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books
Books
eBook
id ff5666ef-09d8-aaf2-2a85-b841255f15a2
isbn 038536721
9780345541536
9780345541543
9780385367219
9780385367233
9781410459282
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000407737 35192044240319 Green Hills - Adult Fiction Fiction Walker 1 false false On Shelf GH
ils:CARL0000407737 35192044240350 Green Hills - Adult Fiction Fiction Walker 1 false false Checked Out GH
ils:CARL0000407737 35192044240335 Hermitage - Adult Fiction Fiction Walker 1 false false Checked Out HM
ils:CARL0000407737 35192044240392 Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction Fiction Walker 1 false false On Shelf EP
ils:CARL0000407737 35192044240269 Bellevue - Adult Fiction Fiction Walker 1 false false On Shelf BL
ils:CARL0000415703 35192045427402 Southeast - Adult Large Print Fiction Walker Large Type 1 false false On Shelf SE
ils:CARL0000415703 35192046878819 Bellevue - Adult Large Print Fiction Walker Large Type 1 false false On Shelf BL
ils:CARL0000415703 35192044300287 Edmondson Pike - Adult Large Print Fiction Walker Large Type 1 false false On Shelf EP
overdrive:57a1f425-ccae-4065-ae83-b2194c18bfbd -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 2 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000407259 35192045456047 Southeast - Adult Audiobook CD AUDIO Fiction Walker 1 false false On Shelf SE
itype_catalog
Book
CD audio book
Large Print Book
last_indexed 2020-01-25T05:42:59.435Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD AUDIO Fiction Walker
Fiction Walker
Fiction Walker Large Type
owning_library_catalog Nashville Public Library
owning_location_catalog Bellevue
Bellevue Kids
Edmondson Pike
Edmondson Pike Kids
Green Hills
Green Hills Kids
Hermitage
Hermitage Kids
Southeast
primary_isbn 9780345541536
publishDate 2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000407737 Book Books First edition. English Ballantine Books, 2013. 413 pages ; 25 cm.
ils:CARL0000415703 Large Print Books Large Print edition. English Thorndike Press, A part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2013. 685 pages (large print) ; 22 cm.
overdrive:57a1f425-ccae-4065-ae83-b2194c18bfbd eBook eBook English Random House Publishing Group 2013
ils:CARL0000407259 CD audio book Audio Books Unabridged. English Random House Audio, 2013. 11 sound discs (840 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000407737 35192044240319 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000407737 35192044240350 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000407737 35192044240335 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000407737 35192044240392 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000407737 35192044240269 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000415703 35192045427402 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000415703 35192046878819 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000415703 35192044300287 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:57a1f425-ccae-4065-ae83-b2194c18bfbd -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000407259 35192045456047 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Audiobooks
Large type books
Legal stories, American
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Murder victims' families -- Fiction
Suspense fiction, American
Upper class -- Fiction
title_display Crime of privilege : a novel
title_full Crime of Privilege A Novel
Crime of privilege : a novel / Walter Walker
Crime of privilege [sound recording] / Walter Walker
Crime of privilege [text (large print)] / by Walter Walker
title_short Crime of privilege :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Audiobooks
Fiction
Investigation
Large type books
Legal stories, American
Literature
Murder
Murder victims' families
Mystery
Suspense fiction, American
Thriller
Upper class