Pieces of Why
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(2)
Author:
Published:
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group 2015
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description
From the award winning author of Fat Kid Rules the World and The Liberation of Gabriel King comes a lyrical, middle grade gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes—perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and Mockingbird by Kathryn ErskineTia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend. Tia's dream is to change the world with her voice; and by all accounts, she might be talented enough. But when a shooting happens in her neighborhood and she learns the truth about the crime that sent her father to prison years ago, Tia finds she can't sing anymore. The loss prompts her to start asking the people in her community hard questions—questions everyone has always been too afraid to ask.Full of humanity, Pieces of Why is a timely story that addresses grief, healing, and forgiveness, told through the eyes of a gifted girl who hears rhythm and song everywhere in her life.From the Hardcover edition.
Also in This Series
Formats
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
09/08/2015
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781101917510
Reading Level:
MG
Level 4.9, 6 Points
Lexile measure:
790
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

K. L. Going. (2015). Pieces of Why. Unabridged Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

K. L. Going. 2015. Pieces of Why. Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

K. L. Going, Pieces of Why. Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, 2015.

MLA Citation (style guide)

K. L. Going. Pieces of Why. Unabridged Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, 2015.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
0e15e0a4-6cba-aa60-c357-242f85f1db90
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Oct 07, 2015 06:07:39
Date Updated:
Nov 18, 2017 22:11:58
Last Metadata Check:
May 19, 2019 07:53:21
Last Metadata Change:
Jul 27, 2018 20:10:23
Last Availability Check:
May 19, 2019 07:53:22
Last Availability Change:
Mar 04, 2018 08:02:24

OverDrive Product Record

id
2b87d45b-c897-417a-b399-254b2537bcf7
primaryCreator
    • name: K. L. Going
    • role: Author
starRating
4.6
title
Pieces of Why
crossRefId
2159125
sortTitle
Pieces of Why
images
    • cover300Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1191-1/2B8/7D4/5B/{2B87D45B-C897-417A-B399-254B2537BCF7}Img400.jpg
    • cover:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{2B87D45B-C897-417A-B399-254B2537BCF7}Img100.jpg
    • thumbnail:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1191-1/{2B87D45B-C897-417A-B399-254B2537BCF7}Img200.jpg
    • cover150Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1191-1/2B8/7D4/5B/{2B87D45B-C897-417A-B399-254B2537BCF7}Img150.jpg
dateAdded
2015-10-06T10:47:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • account:
          • id: 1351
          • name: Nashville Public Library (TN)
      • type: text/html
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=239&titleID=2159125
mediaType
Audiobook
formats
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9781101917497
            • type: 8
            • value: 9781101917510
            • type: ISBN
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • identifiers:
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9781101917497
            • type: 8
            • value: 9781101917510
            • type: ISBN
      • name: OverDrive Listen

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{2B87D45B-C897-417A-B399-254B2537BCF7}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1191-1/{2B87D45B-C897-417A-B399-254B2537BCF7}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1191-1/2B8/7D4/5B/{2B87D45B-C897-417A-B399-254B2537BCF7}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1191-1/2B8/7D4/5B/{2B87D45B-C897-417A-B399-254B2537BCF7}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: PiecesofWhy-61320
      • partCount: 4
      • fileSize: 133255774
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9781101917497
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101917510
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 09/08/2015
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1191-1/2159125-PiecesOfWhy.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=2b87d45b-c897-417a-b399-254b2537bcf7&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: PiecesofWhy-61320
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 133050826
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9781101917497
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101917510
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 09/08/2015
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1191-1/2159125-PiecesOfWhy.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=2b87d45b-c897-417a-b399-254b2537bcf7&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Going, K. L.
      • bioText: K. L. Going lives with her family in the Hudson Valley area of New York State. Since graduating from college she has worked as an adult literacy tutor, a ticket agent for a major airline, a front desk clerk at a resort hotel, and an assistant in a Manhattan literary agency. She has lived in Maine, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Louisiana and New York. K.L. is the author of many books, including Fat Kid Rules The World, The Liberation of Gabriel King, and Dog in Charge. Her first novel, Fat Kid Rules the World, was a YALSA Michael L. Printz honor book.
      • name: K. L. Going
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Parsons, Azure
      • name: Azure Parsons
imprint
Listening Library (Audio)
subjects
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Juvenile Literature
publishDate
2015-09-08T00:00:00-04:00
edition
Unabridged
publishDateText
09/08/2015
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription
From the award winning author of Fat Kid Rules the World and The Liberation of Gabriel King comes a lyrical, middle grade gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes—perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine
Tia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend. Tia's dream is to change the world with her voice; and by all accounts, she might be talented enough. But when a shooting happens in her neighborhood and she learns the truth about the crime that sent her father to prison years ago, Tia finds she can't sing anymore. The loss prompts her to start asking the people in her community hard questions—questions everyone has always been too afraid to ask.
Full of humanity, Pieces of Why is a timely story that addresses grief, healing, and forgiveness, told through the eyes of a...
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Pieces of Why
fullDescription
From the award winning author of Fat Kid Rules the World and The Liberation of Gabriel King comes a lyrical, middle grade gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes—perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine
Tia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend. Tia's dream is to change the world with her voice; and by all accounts, she might be talented enough. But when a shooting happens in her neighborhood and she learns the truth about the crime that sent her father to prison years ago, Tia finds she can't sing anymore. The loss prompts her to start asking the people in her community hard questions—questions everyone has always been too afraid to ask.
Full of humanity, Pieces of Why is a timely story that addresses grief, healing, and forgiveness, told through the eyes of a gifted girl who hears rhythm and song everywhere in her life.
From the Hardcover edition.
sortTitle
Pieces of Why
crossRefId
2159125
popularity
79
publisher
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BFAIAAA2J/products/2b87d45b-c897-417a-b399-254b2537bcf7/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
2b87d45b-c897-417a-b399-254b2537bcf7
starRating
4.6