Hadley Park Branch Library is closed Saturday, October 19.

The Poet X
(OverDrive Read, Kindle Book, Adobe EPUB eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
HarperCollins 2018
Format:
OverDrive Read, Kindle Book, Adobe EPUB eBook
Status:
Checked Out
Description

Winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

Also in This Series
Formats
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with with reading apps installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
03/06/2018
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062662828
ASIN:
B0727TNBDH
Reading Level:
UG
Level 5.2, 5 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
800
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Elizabeth Acevedo. (2018). The Poet X. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Elizabeth Acevedo. 2018. The Poet X. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Elizabeth Acevedo, The Poet X. HarperCollins, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Elizabeth Acevedo. The Poet X. HarperCollins, 2018. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection30

There are 4 holds on this title.

Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
3adbc38a-c6c9-9479-859e-a1ffd7bfec84
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Feb 15, 2018 12:22:18
Date Updated:
Feb 15, 2018 12:22:18
Last Metadata Check:
Oct 17, 2019 04:17:18
Last Metadata Change:
Oct 16, 2019 18:43:48
Last Availability Check:
Oct 17, 2019 04:17:19
Last Availability Change:
Oct 12, 2019 20:25:39
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Oct 18, 2019 23:13:39

OverDrive Product Record

id
593e2aa2-fdf1-4001-9911-e45e0c5305b0
primaryCreator
    • name: Elizabeth Acevedo
    • role: Author
starRating
0
title
The Poet X
crossRefId
3302220
sortTitle
Poet X
images
    • cover300Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/593/E2A/A2/{593E2AA2-FDF1-4001-9911-E45E0C5305B0}Img400.jpg
    • cover:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{593E2AA2-FDF1-4001-9911-E45E0C5305B0}Img100.jpg
    • thumbnail:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{593E2AA2-FDF1-4001-9911-E45E0C5305B0}Img200.jpg
    • cover150Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/593/E2A/A2/{593E2AA2-FDF1-4001-9911-E45E0C5305B0}Img150.jpg
dateAdded
2018-02-15T12:36:45.393-05:00
contentDetails
      • account:
          • id: 1351
          • name: Nashville Public Library (TN)
      • type: text/html
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=239&titleID=3302220
mediaType
eBook
formats
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • value: 9780062662828
            • type: ISBN
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
UG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: PoetX9780062662828
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 4139624
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062662828
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 37
            • type: Printing
            • value: 37
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 03/06/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=593e2aa2-fdf1-4001-9911-e45e0c5305b0&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: PoetX9780062662828
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B0727TNBDH
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 03/06/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=593e2aa2-fdf1-4001-9911-e45e0c5305b0&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: PoetX9780062662828
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 980534
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062662828
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 03/06/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=593e2aa2-fdf1-4001-9911-e45e0c5305b0&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Acevedo, Elizabeth
      • bioText: Elizabeth Acevedo is the author of The Poet X, which won the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael J. Printz Award, the Pura Belpré Award, and the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award. She is a National Poetry Slam champion and holds an MFA in creative writing from the University of Maryland. Acevedo lives with her partner in Washington, DC. You can find out more about her at www.acevedowrites.com.
      • name: Elizabeth Acevedo
imprint
HarperTeen
publishDate
2018-03-06T00:00:00-05:00
ATOS
5.2
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Poet X
fullDescription

Winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 3
      • value: Grade 4
popularity
6805
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BFAIAAA2J/products/593e2aa2-fdf1-4001-9911-e45e0c5305b0/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
593e2aa2-fdf1-4001-9911-e45e0c5305b0
starRating
4.6
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{593E2AA2-FDF1-4001-9911-E45E0C5305B0}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{593E2AA2-FDF1-4001-9911-E45E0C5305B0}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/593/E2A/A2/{593E2AA2-FDF1-4001-9911-E45E0C5305B0}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/593/E2A/A2/{593E2AA2-FDF1-4001-9911-E45E0C5305B0}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Poetry
      • value: Young Adult Fiction
      • value: Young Adult Literature
publishDateText
03/06/2018
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

A National Book Award Longlist title!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited...

sortTitle
Poet X
lexileScore
800
crossRefId
3302220
awards
      • source: National Book Foundation
      • value: National Book Award Finalist
      • source: American Library Association
      • value: Michael L. Printz Award
      • source: Young Adult Library Services Association
      • value: Teen's Top Ten
      • source: American Library Association
      • value: Pura Belpré Award Winner
      • source: Young Adult Library Services Association
      • value: Best Fiction for Young Adults
publisher
HarperCollins