Hadley Park Branch Library is closed Saturday, October 19.

The Cardboard Kingdom
(Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Published:
Random House Children's Books 2018
Format:
Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Status:
Checked Out
Description
Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Awkward, and All's Faire in Middle School, this graphic novel follows a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary cardboard into fantastical homemade costumes as they explore conflicts with friends, family, and their own identity."A breath of fresh air, this tender and dynamic collection is a must-have." —Kirkus, StarredWelcome to a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary boxes into colorful costumes, and their ordinary block into cardboard kingdom. This is the summer when sixteen kids encounter knights and rogues, robots and monsters—and their own inner demons—on one last quest before school starts again. In the Cardboard Kingdom, you can be anything you want to be—imagine that!The Cardboard Kingdom was created, organized, and drawn by Chad Sell with writing from ten other authors: Jay Fuller, David DeMeo, Katie Schenkel, Kris Moore, Molly Muldoon, Vid Alliger, Manuel Betancourt, Michael Cole, Cloud Jacobs, and Barbara Perez Marquez. The Cardboard Kingdom affirms the power of imagination and play during the most important years of adolescent identity-searching and emotional growth.NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS * THE NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY * SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL * A TEXAS BLUEBONNET 2019-20 MASTER LIST SELECTION"There's room for everyone inside The Cardboard Kingdom, where friendship and imagination reign supreme." —Ingrid Law, New York Times bestselling author of Savvy"A timely and colorful graphic novel debut that, like its many offbeat but on-point characters, marches to the beat of its own cardboard drum." —Tim Federle, award-winning author of Better Nate Than Ever
Also in This Series
Formats
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
06/05/2018
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781524719395
ASIN:
B0776FXP44
Reading Level:
LG
Level 2.4, 1 Points
Lexile code:
GN: Graphic Novel
Lexile measure:
150
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Chad Sell. (2018). The Cardboard Kingdom. Random House Children's Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Chad Sell. 2018. The Cardboard Kingdom. Random House Children's Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Chad Sell, The Cardboard Kingdom. Random House Children's Books, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Chad Sell. The Cardboard Kingdom. Random House Children's Books, 2018. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection10

There is 1 hold on this title.

Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
01c886f2-f771-1e49-28b2-a0bc0cb02ef3
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Sep 14, 2018 15:18:16
Date Updated:
Sep 14, 2018 15:18:16
Last Metadata Check:
Oct 13, 2019 10:46:07
Last Metadata Change:
Oct 06, 2019 11:52:31
Last Availability Check:
Oct 13, 2019 10:46:08
Last Availability Change:
Oct 07, 2019 06:04:46
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Oct 15, 2019 14:33:33

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Cardboard Kingdom
crossRefId
3879225
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0111-1/{6D8CD258-66C9-4533-9E91-FDBB1B3AB793}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0111-1/{6D8CD258-66C9-4533-9E91-FDBB1B3AB793}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0111-1/6D8/CD2/58/{6D8CD258-66C9-4533-9E91-FDBB1B3AB793}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0111-1/6D8/CD2/58/{6D8CD258-66C9-4533-9E91-FDBB1B3AB793}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781524719395
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 552031
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B0776FXP44
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781524719395
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 552031
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Chad Sell
id
6d8cd258-66c9-4533-9e91-fdbb1b3ab793
title
The Cardboard Kingdom
starRating
3.9
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=239&titleID=3879225
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Nashville Public Library (TN)
          • id: 1351

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
LG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: CardboardKingdom9781524719395
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B0776FXP44
      • rights:
            • type: Kindle
            • value: 1
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 06/05/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=6d8cd258-66c9-4533-9e91-fdbb1b3ab793&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: CardboardKingdom9781524719395
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 5489
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781524719395
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 552031
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 06/05/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=6d8cd258-66c9-4533-9e91-fdbb1b3ab793&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
keywords
      • value: Friendship
      • value: superhero
      • value: chapter books for kids age 8-10
      • value: Graphic Novels For Kids 9-12
      • value: kids books ages 9-12
      • value: books for kids age 9 12
      • value: books for 11 year old boys
      • value: books for 8 year old boys
      • value: books for 9 year old boys
      • value: books for boys age 9 12
      • value: books for 11 year old girls
      • value: books for 9 year old girls
      • value: chapter books for kids age 9-12
      • value: books for 10 year old girls
      • value: books for 10 year old boys
      • value: girls books ages 9-12
      • value: comic books for boys ages 9-12
      • value: comic books for girls ages 9-12
      • value: graphic novel for kids 8-12
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Sell, Chad
      • bioText: Chad Sell grew up in a small town in central Wisconsin. He lived in a neighborhood much like the Cardboard Kingdom where he and his friends bounded through backyards in imaginative games and outfits! He also drew a lot and came up with all kinds of colorful characters. His favorites were often the villains, because despite being different and misunderstood, they were powerful, confident, and got the best costumes. Chad lives in Chicago with his husband and two cats.
        Follow the creators of the kingdom on Twitter at @TheCardboardK.
      • name: Chad Sell
imprint
Knopf Books for Young Readers
publishDate
2018-06-05T00:00:00-04:00
ATOS
2.4
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Cardboard Kingdom
fullDescription
Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Awkward, and All's Faire in Middle School, this graphic novel follows a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary cardboard into fantastical homemade costumes as they explore conflicts with friends, family, and their own identity.
"A breath of fresh air, this tender and dynamic collection is a must-have." —Kirkus, Starred
Welcome to a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary boxes into colorful costumes, and their ordinary block into cardboard kingdom. This is the summer when sixteen kids encounter knights and rogues, robots and monsters—and their own inner demons—on one last quest before school starts again.
In the Cardboard Kingdom, you can be anything you want to be—imagine that!
The Cardboard Kingdom was created, organized, and drawn by Chad Sell with writing from ten other authors: Jay Fuller, David DeMeo, Katie Schenkel, Kris Moore, Molly Muldoon, Vid Alliger, Manuel Betancourt, Michael Cole, Cloud Jacobs, and Barbara Perez Marquez. The Cardboard Kingdom affirms the power of imagination and play during the most important years of adolescent identity-searching and emotional growth.
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS * THE NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY * SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL * A TEXAS BLUEBONNET 2019-20 MASTER LIST SELECTION
"There's room for everyone inside The Cardboard Kingdom, where friendship and imagination reign supreme." —Ingrid Law, New York Times bestselling author of Savvy
"A timely and colorful graphic novel debut that, like its many offbeat but on-point characters, marches to the beat of its own cardboard drum." —Tim Federle, award-winning author of Better Nate Than Ever
gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 50
      • value: Grade 1
popularity
4745
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BFAIAAA2J/products/6d8cd258-66c9-4533-9e91-fdbb1b3ab793/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
6d8cd258-66c9-4533-9e91-fdbb1b3ab793
starRating
4.5
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0111-1/{6D8CD258-66C9-4533-9E91-FDBB1B3AB793}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0111-1/{6D8CD258-66C9-4533-9E91-FDBB1B3AB793}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0111-1/6D8/CD2/58/{6D8CD258-66C9-4533-9E91-FDBB1B3AB793}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0111-1/6D8/CD2/58/{6D8CD258-66C9-4533-9E91-FDBB1B3AB793}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Comic and Graphic Books
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Juvenile Literature
publishDateText
06/05/2018
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription
Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Awkward, and All's Faire in Middle School, this graphic novel follows a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary cardboard into fantastical homemade costumes as they explore conflicts with friends, family, and their own identity.
"A breath of fresh air, this tender and dynamic collection is a must-have." —Kirkus, Starred
Welcome to a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary boxes into colorful costumes, and their ordinary block into cardboard kingdom. This is the summer when sixteen kids encounter knights and rogues, robots and monsters—and their own inner demons—on one last quest before school starts again.
In the Cardboard Kingdom, you can be anything you want to be—imagine that!
The Cardboard Kingdom was created, organized, and drawn by Chad Sell with writing from ten other authors: Jay Fuller, David DeMeo, Katie Schenkel,...
sortTitle
Cardboard Kingdom
lexileScore
150
crossRefId
3879225
publisher
Random House Children's Books