Hadley Park Branch Library is closed Saturday, October 19.

The Book of Boy
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
HarperCollins 2018
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Status:
Checked Out
Description

A Newbery Honor Book * Booklist Editors' Choice * BookPage Best Books * Chicago Public Library Best Fiction * Horn Book Fanfare * Kirkus Reviews Best Books * Publishers Weekly Best Books * Wall Street Journal Best of the Year * An ALA Notable Book

A young outcast is swept up into a thrilling and perilous medieval treasure hunt in this award-winning literary page-turner by acclaimed bestselling author Catherine Gilbert Murdock. The Book of Boy was awarded a Newbery Honor. "A treat from start to finish."—Wall Street Journal

Boy has always been relegated to the outskirts of his small village. With a hump on his back, a mysterious past, and a tendency to talk to animals, he is often mocked by others in his town—until the arrival of a shadowy pilgrim named Secondus. Impressed with Boy's climbing and jumping abilities, Secondus engages Boy as his servant, pulling him into an action-packed and suspenseful expedition across Europe to gather seven precious relics of Saint Peter.

Boy quickly realizes this journey is not an innocent one. They are stealing the relics and accumulating dangerous enemies in the process. But Boy is determined to see this pilgrimage through until the end—for what if St. Peter has the power to make him the same as the other boys?

This epic and engrossing quest story by Newbery Honor author Catherine Gilbert Murdock is for fans of Adam Gidwitz's The Inquisitor's Tale and Grace Lin's Where the Mountain Meets the Moon, and for readers of all ages. Features a map and black-and-white art by Ian Schoenherr throughout.

Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
02/06/2018
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062686220
ASIN:
B0722N6D2F
Reading Level:
MG
Level 4.3, 6 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Catherine Gilbert Murdock. (2018). The Book of Boy. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Catherine Gilbert Murdock. 2018. The Book of Boy. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Catherine Gilbert Murdock, The Book of Boy. HarperCollins, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Catherine Gilbert Murdock. The Book of Boy. HarperCollins, 2018. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection10
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
9001de3d-f963-8292-165e-d02c5130bcf2
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Jan 02, 2018 16:22:11
Date Updated:
Jan 02, 2018 16:22:11
Last Metadata Check:
Oct 13, 2019 10:18:39
Last Metadata Change:
Oct 13, 2019 10:18:39
Last Availability Check:
Oct 13, 2019 10:18:40
Last Availability Change:
Oct 04, 2019 21:56:53
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Oct 14, 2019 22:44:44

OverDrive Product Record

id
7320f162-593c-45a4-80b8-61677a390572
primaryCreator
    • name: Catherine Gilbert Murdock
    • role: Author
starRating
0
title
The Book of Boy
crossRefId
3272960
sortTitle
Book of Boy
images
    • cover300Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/732/0F1/62/{7320F162-593C-45A4-80B8-61677A390572}Img400.jpg
    • cover:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{7320F162-593C-45A4-80B8-61677A390572}Img100.jpg
    • thumbnail:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{7320F162-593C-45A4-80B8-61677A390572}Img200.jpg
    • cover150Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/732/0F1/62/{7320F162-593C-45A4-80B8-61677A390572}Img150.jpg
dateAdded
2018-01-02T17:05:56.893-05:00
contentDetails
      • account:
          • id: 1351
          • name: Nashville Public Library (TN)
      • type: text/html
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=239&titleID=3272960
mediaType
eBook
formats
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • value: 9780062686220
            • type: ISBN
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
MG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: BookofBoy9780062686220
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 7327719
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062686220
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 29
            • type: Printing
            • value: 29
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 02/06/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=7320f162-593c-45a4-80b8-61677a390572&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: BookofBoy9780062686220
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B0722N6D2F
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 02/06/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=7320f162-593c-45a4-80b8-61677a390572&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: BookofBoy9780062686220
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 7140899
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062686220
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 02/06/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=7320f162-593c-45a4-80b8-61677a390572&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Murdock, Catherine Gilbert
      • name: Catherine Gilbert Murdock
imprint
Greenwillow Books
publishDate
2018-02-06T00:00:00-05:00
ATOS
4.3
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Book of Boy
fullDescription

A Newbery Honor Book * Booklist Editors' Choice * BookPage Best Books * Chicago Public Library Best Fiction * Horn Book Fanfare * Kirkus Reviews Best Books * Publishers Weekly Best Books * Wall Street Journal Best of the Year * An ALA Notable Book

A young outcast is swept up into a thrilling and perilous medieval treasure hunt in this award-winning literary page-turner by acclaimed bestselling author Catherine Gilbert Murdock. The Book of Boy was awarded a Newbery Honor. "A treat from start to finish."—Wall Street Journal

Boy has always been relegated to the outskirts of his small village. With a hump on his back, a mysterious past, and a tendency to talk to animals, he is often mocked by others in his town—until the arrival of a shadowy pilgrim named Secondus. Impressed with Boy's climbing and jumping abilities, Secondus engages Boy as his servant, pulling him into an action-packed and suspenseful expedition across Europe to gather seven precious relics of Saint Peter.

Boy quickly realizes this journey is not an innocent one. They are stealing the relics and accumulating dangerous enemies in the process. But Boy is determined to see this pilgrimage through until the end—for what if St. Peter has the power to make him the same as the other boys?

This epic and engrossing quest story by Newbery Honor author Catherine Gilbert Murdock is for fans of Adam Gidwitz's The Inquisitor's Tale and Grace Lin's Where the Mountain Meets the Moon, and for readers of all ages. Features a map and black-and-white art by Ian Schoenherr throughout.

gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 3
popularity
1345
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BFAIAAA2J/products/7320f162-593c-45a4-80b8-61677a390572/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
7320f162-593c-45a4-80b8-61677a390572
starRating
4.1
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{7320F162-593C-45A4-80B8-61677A390572}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{7320F162-593C-45A4-80B8-61677A390572}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/732/0F1/62/{7320F162-593C-45A4-80B8-61677A390572}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/732/0F1/62/{7320F162-593C-45A4-80B8-61677A390572}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Juvenile Literature
      • value: Historical Fiction
publishDateText
02/06/2018
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

A Newbery Honor Book * Booklist Editors' Choice * BookPage Best Books * Chicago Public Library Best Fiction * Horn Book Fanfare * Kirkus Reviews Best Books * Publishers Weekly Best Books * Wall Street Journal Best of the Year * An ALA Notable Book

A young outcast is swept up into a thrilling and perilous medieval treasure hunt in this award-winning literary page-turner by acclaimed bestselling author Catherine Gilbert Murdock. The Book of Boy was awarded a Newbery Honor. "A treat from start to finish."—Wall Street Journal

Boy has always been relegated to the outskirts of his small village. With a hump on his back, a mysterious past, and a tendency to talk to animals, he is often mocked by others in his town—until the arrival of a shadowy pilgrim named Secondus. Impressed with Boy's climbing and jumping abilities, Secondus engages Boy as his servant, pulling him into an action-packed and suspenseful...

sortTitle
Book of Boy
crossRefId
3272960
awards
      • source: American Library Association
      • value: Newbery Honor Book
      • source: Association for Library Service to Children
      • value: Notable Children's Books
publisher
HarperCollins