In less time than it takes to read this, you can help us decide where to go next: take our NPL Universe survey.

Curbside Service: get info on upcoming Richland Park Branch service here, and learn about temporary changes during early voting here.

Book return is available at all 21 locations.

Sarah, Plain and Tall: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Published:
HarperCollins 2013
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language, and it's a strong choice for independent reading. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss, and love.

This anniversary edition includes author Patricia MacLachlan's Newbery speech, a discussion guide, and a reading list.

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb's Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather's Dance.

Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
06/25/2013
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062285768
ASIN:
B00BS8SO9M
Reading Level:
MG
Level 3.4, 1 Points
Lexile measure:
650
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Patricia MacLachlan. (2013). Sarah, Plain and Tall: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Patricia MacLachlan. 2013. Sarah, Plain and Tall: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Patricia MacLachlan, Sarah, Plain and Tall: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1. HarperCollins, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Patricia MacLachlan. Sarah, Plain and Tall: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1. HarperCollins, 2013. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
9e1551b2-13ff-9780-a826-1cc70da6d9a7
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Sep 18, 2013 10:51:00
Date Updated:
Sep 27, 2020 06:01:24
Last Metadata Check:
Sep 27, 2020 06:02:03
Last Metadata Change:
Sep 27, 2020 05:57:46
Last Availability Check:
Sep 27, 2020 06:02:04
Last Availability Change:
Sep 12, 2020 13:13:42
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Sep 28, 2020 23:53:13

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/8B3/59B/24/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/8B3/59B/24/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062285768
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00BS8SO9M
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062285768
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Patricia MacLachlan
title
Sarah, Plain and Tall
dateAdded
2013-07-23T04:55:16.757-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=239&titleID=1253063
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Nashville Public Library (TN)
          • id: 1351
sortTitle
Sarah Plain and Tall Sarah Plain and Tall Series Book 01
crossRefId
1253063
series
Sarah, Plain and Tall
subtitle
Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1
id
8b359b24-7e4d-4f4f-b838-abd657303a1e
starRating
4.3

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
MG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: SarahPlainandTall9780062285768
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 1394618
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062285768
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 12
            • type: Printing
            • value: 12
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 06/25/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/sarah-plain-and?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: SarahPlainandTall9780062285768
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00BS8SO9M
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 06/25/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/sarah-plain-and?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: SarahPlainandTall9780062285768
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062285768
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 06/25/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/sarah-plain-and?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: MacLachlan, Patricia
      • bioText:

        Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless novels for young readers, including Newbery Medal winner Sarah, Plain and Tall; Word After Word After Word; Kindred Souls; The Truth of Me; The Poet's Dog; and My Father's Words. She is also the author of countless beloved picture books, a number of which she cowrote with her daughter, Emily. She lives in Williamsburg, Massachusetts.

      • name: Patricia MacLachlan
publishDate
2013-06-25T00:00:00-04:00
ATOS
3.4
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Sarah, Plain and Tall
fullDescription

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language, and it's a strong choice for independent reading. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss, and love.

This anniversary edition includes author Patricia MacLachlan's Newbery speech, a discussion guide, and a reading list.

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb's Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather's Dance.

gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 2
      • value: Grade 3
popularity
2066
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BFAIAAA2J/products/8b359b24-7e4d-4f4f-b838-abd657303a1e/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
8b359b24-7e4d-4f4f-b838-abd657303a1e
starRating
4.3
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/8B3/59B/24/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/8B3/59B/24/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Historical Fiction
publishDateText
06/25/2013
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. This chapter book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 5 to 7 who are ready to read independently. It's a fun way to keep your child engaged and as a supplement for activity books for children.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah,...

sortTitle
Sarah Plain and Tall Sarah Plain and Tall Series Book 01
lexileScore
660
crossRefId
1253063
series
Sarah, Plain and Tall
subtitle
Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1
publisher
HarperCollins