Hadley Park Branch Library is closed Saturday, October 19.

Sarah, Plain and Tall: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1
(OverDrive Read, Kindle Book, Adobe EPUB eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Published:
HarperCollins 2013
Format:
OverDrive Read, Kindle Book, Adobe EPUB eBook
Status:
Checked Out
Description

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal--winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Also in This Series
Formats
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with with reading apps installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
06/25/2013
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062285768
ASIN:
B00BS8SO9M
Reading Level:
MG
Level 3.4, 1 Points
Lexile measure:
650
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Patricia MacLachlan. (2013). Sarah, Plain and Tall: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Patricia MacLachlan. 2013. Sarah, Plain and Tall: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Patricia MacLachlan, Sarah, Plain and Tall: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1. HarperCollins, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Patricia MacLachlan. Sarah, Plain and Tall: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1. HarperCollins, 2013. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection10
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
9e1551b2-13ff-9780-a826-1cc70da6d9a7
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Sep 18, 2013 10:51:00
Date Updated:
Oct 13, 2019 07:10:29
Last Metadata Check:
Oct 13, 2019 07:11:00
Last Metadata Change:
Oct 13, 2019 05:26:44
Last Availability Check:
Oct 13, 2019 07:11:00
Last Availability Change:
Oct 07, 2019 13:54:41
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Oct 15, 2019 23:15:01

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/8B3/59B/24/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/8B3/59B/24/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062285768
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00BS8SO9M
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062285768
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Patricia MacLachlan
title
Sarah, Plain and Tall
dateAdded
2013-07-23T04:55:16.757-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=239&titleID=1253063
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Nashville Public Library (TN)
          • id: 1351
sortTitle
Sarah Plain and Tall Sarah Plain and Tall Series Book 01
crossRefId
1253063
series
Sarah, Plain and Tall
subtitle
Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1
id
8b359b24-7e4d-4f4f-b838-abd657303a1e
starRating
4.2

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
MG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: SarahPlainandTall9780062285768
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 1394592
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062285768
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 12
            • type: Printing
            • value: 12
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 06/25/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/sarah-plain-and?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: SarahPlainandTall9780062285768
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00BS8SO9M
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 06/25/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/sarah-plain-and?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: SarahPlainandTall9780062285768
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062285768
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 06/25/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/sarah-plain-and?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: MacLachlan, Patricia
      • bioText:

        Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless novels for young readers, including Newbery Medal winner Sarah, Plain and Tall; Word After Word After Word; Kindred Souls; The Truth of Me; The Poet's Dog; and My Father's Words. She is also the author of countless beloved picture books, a number of which she cowrote with her daughter, Emily. She lives in Williamsburg, Massachusetts.

      • name: Patricia MacLachlan
publishDate
2013-06-25T00:00:00-04:00
ATOS
3.4
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Sarah, Plain and Tall
fullDescription

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal--winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 2
      • value: Grade 3
popularity
1256
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BFAIAAA2J/products/8b359b24-7e4d-4f4f-b838-abd657303a1e/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
8b359b24-7e4d-4f4f-b838-abd657303a1e
starRating
4.2
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/8B3/59B/24/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/8B3/59B/24/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Historical Fiction
publishDateText
06/25/2013
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal--winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

sortTitle
Sarah Plain and Tall Sarah Plain and Tall Series Book 01
lexileScore
660
crossRefId
1253063
series
Sarah, Plain and Tall
subtitle
Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1
publisher
HarperCollins