The Poet X
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
HarperCollins 2018
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Status:
Checked Out
Description

A National Book Award Longlist title!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

Also in This Series
Formats
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
03/06/2018
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062822482
Reading Level:
UG
Level 5.2, 5 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
800
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Elizabeth Acevedo. (2018). The Poet X. Unabridged HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Elizabeth Acevedo. 2018. The Poet X. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Elizabeth Acevedo, The Poet X. HarperCollins, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Elizabeth Acevedo. The Poet X. Unabridged HarperCollins, 2018.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection20

There are 7 holds on this title.

Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
3adbc38a-c6c9-9479-859e-a1ffd7bfec84
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Feb 15, 2018 12:22:21
Date Updated:
Feb 15, 2018 12:22:21
Last Metadata Check:
Dec 15, 2018 16:36:56
Last Metadata Change:
Dec 15, 2018 16:36:56
Last Availability Check:
Dec 15, 2018 16:36:57
Last Availability Change:
Dec 14, 2018 03:52:38

OverDrive Product Record

id
ae09aa78-16ba-4d98-984e-b26f9ac8de8b
primaryCreator
    • name: Elizabeth Acevedo
    • role: Author
starRating
0
title
The Poet X
crossRefId
3309411
sortTitle
Poet X
images
    • cover300Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/AE0/9AA/78/{AE09AA78-16BA-4D98-984E-B26F9AC8DE8B}Img400.jpg
    • cover:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{AE09AA78-16BA-4D98-984E-B26F9AC8DE8B}Img100.jpg
    • thumbnail:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{AE09AA78-16BA-4D98-984E-B26F9AC8DE8B}Img200.jpg
    • cover150Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/AE0/9AA/78/{AE09AA78-16BA-4D98-984E-B26F9AC8DE8B}Img150.jpg
dateAdded
2018-02-15T12:17:00-05:00
contentDetails
      • account:
          • id: 1351
          • name: Nashville Public Library (TN)
      • type: text/html
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=239&titleID=3309411
mediaType
Audiobook
formats
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • value: 9780062822482
            • type: ISBN
            • value: harpercollins_audio#9780062822482
            • type: 8
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{AE09AA78-16BA-4D98-984E-B26F9AC8DE8B}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{AE09AA78-16BA-4D98-984E-B26F9AC8DE8B}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/AE0/9AA/78/{AE09AA78-16BA-4D98-984E-B26F9AC8DE8B}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/AE0/9AA/78/{AE09AA78-16BA-4D98-984E-B26F9AC8DE8B}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: PoetX-5910
      • partCount: 3
      • fileSize: 101213244
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062822482
            • type: 8
            • value: harpercollins_audio#9780062822482
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 03/06/2018
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/3309411-ThePoetX.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=ae09aa78-16ba-4d98-984e-b26f9ac8de8b&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: PoetX-5910
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 101196903
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: harpercollins_audio#9780062822482
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062822482
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 03/06/2018
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/3309411-ThePoetX.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=ae09aa78-16ba-4d98-984e-b26f9ac8de8b&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Acevedo, Elizabeth
      • bioText: Elizabeth Acevedo is the daughter of Dominican immigrants. The Poet X is her debut novel. She lives with her partner in Washington, DC. Find her online at www.acevedowrites.com.
      • name: Elizabeth Acevedo
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Acevedo, Elizabeth
      • bioText: Elizabeth Acevedo is the daughter of Dominican immigrants. The Poet X is her debut novel. She lives with her partner in Washington, DC. Find her online at www.acevedowrites.com.
      • name: Elizabeth Acevedo
subjects
      • value: Poetry
      • value: Young Adult Fiction
      • value: Young Adult Literature
publishDate
2018-03-06T00:00:00-05:00
edition
Unabridged
publishDateText
03/06/2018
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription

A National Book Award Longlist title!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited...

isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Poet X
fullDescription

A National Book Award Longlist title!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

sortTitle
Poet X
crossRefId
3309411
awards
      • source: National Book Foundation
      • value: National Book Award Finalist
popularity
3545
publisher
HarperCollins
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BFAIAAA2J/products/ae09aa78-16ba-4d98-984e-b26f9ac8de8b/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
ae09aa78-16ba-4d98-984e-b26f9ac8de8b
starRating
4.5