Library account access and other online library services (eBooks, databases, etc.) will be unavailable between 1AM and 5:30AM on Monday, March 25.

The Forbidden Library: The Forbidden Library Series, Book 1
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Published:
Penguin Young Readers Group 2014
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description
The Forbidden Library kicks off an action-packed fantasy series with classic appeal, a resourceful heroine, a host of magical creatures, and no shortage of narrow escapes—perfect for fans of Story Thieves, Coraline, Inkheart, and Harry PotterAlice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That—along with everything else—changed the day she met her first fairyWhen Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon—an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.From the Hardcover edition.
Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
04/15/2014
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781101604236
ASIN:
B00DMCPR7O
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.8, 11 Points
Lexile measure:
920
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Django Wexler. (2014). The Forbidden Library: The Forbidden Library Series, Book 1. Penguin Young Readers Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Django Wexler. 2014. The Forbidden Library: The Forbidden Library Series, Book 1. Penguin Young Readers Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Django Wexler, The Forbidden Library: The Forbidden Library Series, Book 1. Penguin Young Readers Group, 2014.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Django Wexler. The Forbidden Library: The Forbidden Library Series, Book 1. Penguin Young Readers Group, 2014. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection33
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
dc68304f-0179-fd03-aa70-16de25535fe0
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Apr 15, 2014 20:51:23
Date Updated:
Mar 22, 2019 10:01:46
Last Metadata Check:
Mar 22, 2019 13:11:36
Last Metadata Change:
Mar 18, 2019 18:26:50
Last Availability Check:
Mar 22, 2019 13:11:37
Last Availability Change:
Feb 23, 2019 12:40:17

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1523-1/{B83AB068-A24E-4280-9415-8A891104D57A}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1523-1/{B83AB068-A24E-4280-9415-8A891104D57A}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1523-1/B83/AB0/68/{B83AB068-A24E-4280-9415-8A891104D57A}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1523-1/B83/AB0/68/{B83AB068-A24E-4280-9415-8A891104D57A}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101604236
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00DMCPR7O
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101604236
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Django Wexler
title
The Forbidden Library
dateAdded
2014-04-15T16:20:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=239&titleID=1343975
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Nashville Public Library (TN)
          • id: 1351
sortTitle
Forbidden Library The Forbidden Library Series Book 01
crossRefId
1343975
series
The Forbidden Library
subtitle
The Forbidden Library Series, Book 1
id
b83ab068-a24e-4280-9415-8a891104d57a
starRating
4.2

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
MG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: ForbiddenLibrary9781101604236
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 8939760
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101604236
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 04/15/2014
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/forbidden-library-b83ab0?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: ForbiddenLibrary9781101604236
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00DMCPR7O
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 04/15/2014
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/forbidden-library-b83ab0?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: ForbiddenLibrary9781101604236
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101604236
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 04/15/2014
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/forbidden-library-b83ab0?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
keywords
      • value: fantasy
      • value: kids books ages 9-12
      • value: books for 12 year old boys
      • value: books for 11 year old girls
      • value: books for 12 year old girls
      • value: fantasy books for kids age 9 12
      • value: books for 10 year old girls
      • value: books for 13 year old girls
      • value: best books for 10 year old boys
      • value: best books for 10 year old girls
      • value: best books for 11 year old girls
      • value: books best sellers for kids 9-12
      • value: books for 10 year old boy
      • value: best books for 10 year olds
      • value: books for 10 year old girls best sellers
      • value: best books for 12 year old girls
      • value: books for 13 year old girls best sellers
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Wexler, Django
      • name: Django Wexler
      • role: Illustrator
      • fileAs: Jansson, Alexander
      • name: Alexander Jansson
imprint
Kathy Dawson Books
publishDate
2014-04-15T00:00:00-04:00
ATOS
5.8
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Forbidden Library
fullDescription
The Forbidden Library kicks off an action-packed fantasy series with classic appeal, a resourceful heroine, a host of magical creatures, and no shortage of narrow escapes—perfect for fans of Story Thieves, Coraline, Inkheart, and Harry Potter
Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That—along with everything else—changed the day she met her first fairy
When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon—an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.
It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.
From the Hardcover edition.
gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 4
popularity
632
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BFAIAAA2J/products/b83ab068-a24e-4280-9415-8a891104d57a/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
b83ab068-a24e-4280-9415-8a891104d57a
starRating
4.2
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1523-1/{B83AB068-A24E-4280-9415-8A891104D57A}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1523-1/{B83AB068-A24E-4280-9415-8A891104D57A}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1523-1/B83/AB0/68/{B83AB068-A24E-4280-9415-8A891104D57A}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1523-1/B83/AB0/68/{B83AB068-A24E-4280-9415-8A891104D57A}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Fantasy
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
publishDateText
04/15/2014
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription
The Forbidden Library kicks off an action-packed fantasy series with classic appeal, a resourceful heroine, a host of magical creatures, and no shortage of narrow escapes—perfect for fans of Story Thieves, Coraline, Inkheart, and Harry Potter
Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That—along with everything else—changed the day she met her first fairy
When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon—an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat...
sortTitle
Forbidden Library The Forbidden Library Series Book 01
crossRefId
1343975
series
The Forbidden Library
subtitle
The Forbidden Library Series, Book 1
publisher
Penguin Young Readers Group