The Swap
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Published:
HarperCollins 2014
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description

Coming soon as a Disney Channel Original Movie, Megan Shull's smart and funny twist on Freaky Friday is perfect for fans of Wendy Mass, Jerry Spinelli, and Jon Scieszka!

With one random wish, Jack and Ellie are living life in each other's shoes. He's her. And she's him. ELLIE assumed popular guys didn't worry about body image, being perfect, or talking to girls, but acting like you're cool with everything is tougher than it looks. JACK thought girls had it easy—no fights with bullies, no demanding dads, no power plays—but facing mean girls at sleepovers and getting grilled about your period is way harder than taking a hit to the face at sports practice.

Now they're dealing with each other's middle school dramas—locker room teasing, cliques, video game battles, bra shopping, and a slew of hilariously awkward moments—until they hopefully switch back! Told in both Jack's and Ellie's voices, The Swap offers a fresh and honest take on tween friendship, all while exploring more serious themes of family, loss, empathy, and what it really means to be yourself. And as Jon Scieszka says, it's "seriously, truly, fearlessly funny!"

Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
08/26/2014
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062311719
ASIN:
B00H1UK4C6
Reading Level:
MG
Level 3.8, 11 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Megan Shull. (2014). The Swap. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Megan Shull. 2014. The Swap. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Megan Shull, The Swap. HarperCollins, 2014.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Megan Shull. The Swap. HarperCollins, 2014. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
793814ad-bda4-03e4-b3f9-e79e2c7fc0af
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Aug 04, 2016 12:39:25
Date Updated:
Nov 19, 2017 01:10:38
Last Metadata Check:
Apr 21, 2019 08:31:16
Last Metadata Change:
Jun 24, 2018 08:02:36
Last Availability Check:
Apr 21, 2019 08:31:17
Last Availability Change:
Apr 11, 2019 21:47:12

OverDrive Product Record

id
c35c133a-86a8-42a4-b790-e0558f2cb72c
primaryCreator
    • name: Megan Shull
    • role: Author
starRating
4.5
title
The Swap
crossRefId
1485024
sortTitle
Swap
images
    • cover300Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/C35/C13/3A/{C35C133A-86A8-42A4-B790-E0558F2CB72C}Img400.jpg
    • cover:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{C35C133A-86A8-42A4-B790-E0558F2CB72C}Img100.jpg
    • thumbnail:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{C35C133A-86A8-42A4-B790-E0558F2CB72C}Img200.jpg
    • cover150Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/C35/C13/3A/{C35C133A-86A8-42A4-B790-E0558F2CB72C}Img150.jpg
dateAdded
2016-08-04T12:36:10.153-04:00
contentDetails
      • account:
          • id: 1351
          • name: Nashville Public Library (TN)
      • type: text/html
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=239&titleID=1485024
mediaType
eBook
formats
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • value: 9780062311719
            • type: ISBN
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • value: B00H1UK4C6
            • type: ASIN
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • identifiers:
            • value: 9780062311719
            • type: ISBN
      • name: OverDrive Read

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
MG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: Swap9780062311719
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 2033870
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062311719
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 40
            • type: Printing
            • value: 40
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 08/26/2014
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/swap-c35c13?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: Swap9780062311719
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00H1UK4C6
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 08/26/2014
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/swap-c35c13?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: Swap9780062311719
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062311719
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 08/26/2014
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/swap-c35c13?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Shull, Megan
      • bioText:

        Megan Shull is the award-winning author of five books for kids, including The Swap, now a Disney Channel Original Movie. Megan holds a doctorate in educational psychology from Cornell University, where she also earned her undergraduate degree. Born and raised in Ithaca, New York, Megan lives and writes in her hometown—a small college town surrounded by waterfalls, quiet, rolling hills, and secret swimming holes.

      • name: Megan Shull
imprint
Katherine Tegen Books
publishDate
2014-08-26T00:00:00-04:00
ATOS
3.8
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Swap
fullDescription

Coming soon as a Disney Channel Original Movie, Megan Shull's smart and funny twist on Freaky Friday is perfect for fans of Wendy Mass, Jerry Spinelli, and Jon Scieszka!

With one random wish, Jack and Ellie are living life in each other's shoes. He's her. And she's him. ELLIE assumed popular guys didn't worry about body image, being perfect, or talking to girls, but acting like you're cool with everything is tougher than it looks. JACK thought girls had it easy—no fights with bullies, no demanding dads, no power plays—but facing mean girls at sleepovers and getting grilled about your period is way harder than taking a hit to the face at sports practice.

Now they're dealing with each other's middle school dramas—locker room teasing, cliques, video game battles, bra shopping, and a slew of hilariously awkward moments—until they hopefully switch back! Told in both Jack's and Ellie's voices, The Swap offers a fresh and honest take on tween friendship, all while exploring more serious themes of family, loss, empathy, and what it really means to be yourself. And as Jon Scieszka says, it's "seriously, truly, fearlessly funny!"

gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 2
popularity
512
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BFAIAAA2J/products/c35c133a-86a8-42a4-b790-e0558f2cb72c/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
c35c133a-86a8-42a4-b790-e0558f2cb72c
starRating
4.5
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{C35C133A-86A8-42A4-B790-E0558F2CB72C}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{C35C133A-86A8-42A4-B790-E0558F2CB72C}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/C35/C13/3A/{C35C133A-86A8-42A4-B790-E0558F2CB72C}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/C35/C13/3A/{C35C133A-86A8-42A4-B790-E0558F2CB72C}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Humor (Fiction)
publishDateText
08/26/2014
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

Coming soon as a Disney Channel Original Movie, Megan Shull's smart and funny twist on Freaky Friday is perfect for fans of Wendy Mass, Jerry Spinelli, and Jon Scieszka!

With one random wish, Jack and Ellie are living life in each other's shoes. He's her. And she's him. ELLIE assumed popular guys didn't worry about body image, being perfect, or talking to girls, but acting like you're cool with everything is tougher than it looks. JACK thought girls had it easy—no fights with bullies, no demanding dads, no power plays—but facing mean girls at sleepovers and getting grilled about your period is way harder than taking a hit to the face at sports practice.

Now they're dealing with each other's middle school dramas—locker room teasing, cliques, video game battles, bra shopping, and a slew of hilariously awkward moments—until they hopefully switch back! Told in both Jack's and Ellie's voices, The Swap offers a fresh and honest take on tween...

sortTitle
Swap
crossRefId
1485024
publisher
HarperCollins