Get NPL COVID-19 closure information.
 
Holds on physical items have been suspended; while the library is closed we encourage you to check out our electronic resources.
 

A dedicated man : an Inspector Alan Banks mystery
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Avon Books, 1992, c1988.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
261 pages ; 18 cm.
Status:
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Fiction Robinso
Description

New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson delivers a compelling and chilling story of evil in the most unexpected places--perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo and Ian Rankin.

A dedicated man is dead in the wild outdoors--a former university professor, wealthy historian and archaeologist who loved his adopted village. It is a particularly heinous slaying, considering the esteem in which the victim, Harry Steadman, was held by his neighbors and colleagues--by everyone, it seems, except the one person who bludgeoned the life out of the respected scholar and left him half-buried in a farmer's field.

Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks left the violence of London behind for what he hoped would be the peaceful life of a country policeman. But the brutality of Steadman's murder only reinforces one ugly, indisputable truth: Evil can flourish in even the most beautiful of settings. There are dangerous secrets hidden in the history of this remote community that have already led to one death. And Banks will have to plumb a dark and shocking local past to find his way to a killer before yesterday's sins cause more blood to be shed.

A Dedicated Man is a riveting, fascinating, and thoroughly thrilling novel of suspense.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Fiction Robinso
On Shelf
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780380716456 (pbk.), 0380716453 (pbk.)
Reading Level:
UG
Level 5.6, 12 Points

Notes

General Note
Originally published: New York : Scribner, c1988.
Description
The body of a well-liked local historian is found half-buried under a drystone wall near the village of Helmthorpe, Swainsdale. Who on earth would want to kill such a thoughtful, dedicated man? Penny Cartwright, a beautiful folk singer with a mysterious past, a shady land-developer, Harry's editor and a local thriller writer are all suspects--and all are figures from Harry's previous, idyllic summers in the dale. A young girl, Sally Lumb, knows more than she lets on, and her knowledge could lead to danger. Inspector Banks's second case unearths disturbing secrets behind a bucolic facade.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Robinson, P. (19921988). A dedicated man: an Inspector Alan Banks mystery. New York: Avon Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Robinson, Peter, 1950-. 19921988. A Dedicated Man: An Inspector Alan Banks Mystery. New York: Avon Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Robinson, Peter, 1950-, A Dedicated Man: An Inspector Alan Banks Mystery. New York: Avon Books, 19921988.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Robinson, Peter. A Dedicated Man: An Inspector Alan Banks Mystery. New York: Avon Books, 19921988. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
7664e25b-fac5-5cd6-fc08-03272a12da96
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeJan 23, 2020 02:54:31 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJan 23, 2020 02:54:26 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01837nam a2200325 a 4500
0051996030768244.6753.0
008920117r19921988nyub          000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780380716456 (pbk.)
020 |a 0380716453 (pbk.)
040 |a Baker & Taylor
049 |a TNNA
069 |a 03113824
099 |a Fiction|a Robinso
1001 |a Robinson, Peter,|d 1950-
24512|a A dedicated man :|b an Inspector Alan Banks mystery /|c Peter Robinson.
260 |a New York :|b Avon Books,|c 1992, c1988.
300 |a 261 p. ;|c 18 cm.
500 |a Originally published: New York : Scribner, c1988.
520 |a The body of a well-liked local historian is found half-buried under a drystone wall near the village of Helmthorpe, Swainsdale. Who on earth would want to kill such a thoughtful, dedicated man? Penny Cartwright, a beautiful folk singer with a mysterious past, a shady land-developer, Harry's editor and a local thriller writer are all suspects--and all are figures from Harry's previous, idyllic summers in the dale. A young girl, Sally Lumb, knows more than she lets on, and her knowledge could lead to danger. Inspector Banks's second case unearths disturbing secrets behind a bucolic facade.
650 0|a Banks, Alan (Fictitious character)|v Fiction.
650 0|a Police|z England|z Yorkshire|v Fiction.
650 0|a Detective and mystery stories, English.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b1460064x|b 10-19-16|c 09-20-00
910 |a CARL0000151025
991 |a bl|a (2)gh|a mn|b 09-20-00|c m|d a|e @|f eng|g nyu|h 2|i 4
988 |a .o8686609|c 3|l multi|f b|s a|x 06-21-13|y 06-28-13|z 07-03-13|3 s|k gh|k hm|k oh
998 4|a LDR0905 20170610071440 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170610071440 NPUB
949 |b 35192025627245|c Fiction Robinso|h MN|j MN|l AFIC|m PBK|s S|p 6.99|w 140|x 20001206|t  |q CNV|r JAM|v 1|y 20191230|z 0