We're expanding curbside service to 3 new locations beginning 9/21. Get details.

Book drops are open at all locations except Edmondson Pike.

Grift sense
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Published:
New York, NY : Pocket Books, c2001.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
304 pages ; 24 cm.
Status:
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Fiction Swain
Description
grift sense n 1: the instinct for spotting a scam 2: the knack for hustling a hustler 3: the ability to out-con a con 4: what Tony Valentine has in spades Meet Tony Valentine -- former cop, lifelong misanthrope, and sixtysomething freelance grifter-hunter. He's also something of a legend -- and not just among the retirees of Palm Harbor, Florida. There isn't a pit boss from the boardwalk of Atlantic City to Las Vegas' main drag who hasn't called on Valentine to dump the grifters out with the trash. He has never thought twice about seeing every one of them rot in jail. So much for his sentimental side. Then along comes his new job. Her name is Nola Briggs, a honey-blond blackjack dealer from Las Vegas who's behind bars without a prayer in the world. Unless you count Valentine -- and even he wouldn't bet on her innocence. Likewise Nick Nicocropolis, the owner of the Acropolis Casino & Resort. He's got Nola on camera playing crooked blackjack to a shark named Frank Fontaine. Now Frank has disappeared, leaving his alleged accomplice to take the heat. All Valentine's got to play with is Nola. She isn't saying a word. Valentine's plan: post a reasonable bail, turn her loose, and see how -- and where -- she runs. Shadowing a woman like Nola leads Valentine into a lethal world of greedy hustlers, bloodthirsty hit men, corrupt police, and a Las Vegas underworld that's taking him down with it. He counted on that; what he didn't count on is just how innocent Nola appears to be when her past starts showing. Or how many people want her out of the picture. Unfortunately neither Nola nor Valentine knows why. And it's going to be tough as hell for them to survive an enemy's vendetta when they don't know who their enemies are -- or where they're hiding. With its bullet-fast pace, triple-crossing plot twists, diamond-hard prose, winning characters, and neon-soaked setting, Grift sense marks the ascendancy of an author with a "been-there, done-that" attitude -- and a talent for the literary sucker punch in the tradition of Laurence Shames and Elmore Leonard.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Fiction Swain
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
0743406222

Notes

General Note
"A mystery introducing Tony Valentine"--Jacket cover.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Swain, J. (2001). Grift sense. New York, NY: Pocket Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Swain, James. 2001. Grift Sense. New York, NY: Pocket Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Swain, James, Grift Sense. New York, NY: Pocket Books, 2001.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Swain, James. Grift Sense. New York, NY: Pocket Books, 2001. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
d6ea486f-8508-f350-d175-03364938f054
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeJan 01, 2019 11:58:25 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeSep 17, 2020 11:04:30 PM

MARC Record

LEADER00991cam a2200289 a 4500
001ocm46960890
003OCoLC
00520010601082538.0
008010517s2001    nyu           000 0 eng d
020 |a 0743406222
040 |a IL2|c IL2|d TNN
049 |a TNNA
099 |a Fiction|a Swain
1001 |a Swain, James.
24510|a Grift sense /|c James Swain.
260 |a New York, NY :|b Pocket Books,|c c2001.
300 |a 304 p. ;|c 24 cm.
500 |a "A mystery introducing Tony Valentine"--Jacket cover.
650 0|a Valentine, Tony (Fictitious character)|v Fiction.
650 0|a Detective and mystery stories.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b1490777x|b 11-02-16|c 06-01-01
910 |a CARL0000166011
949 |b 35192027051790|c Fiction Swain|h GH|j GH|l AFIC|m BK|s S|p 23.95|w 78|x 20010628|t 20181228|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20181129|z 1
991 |a gh|a lo|b 06-28-01|c m|d a|e @|f eng|g nyu|h 0|i 5
998 4|a LDR0905 20170610081015 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170610081015 NPUB