All library locations are closed beginning at 6 PM Wednesday, Nov 27, and reopen for normal hours on Saturday, Nov 30. Happy Thanksgiving!

An Irish country village
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Published:
New York : Forge Books, 2008.
Format:
Book
Edition:
1st hardcover ed.
Physical Desc:
431 pages ; 24 cm.
Status:
Annex - Adult Fiction
Fiction Taylor
Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction
Fiction Taylor
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Fiction Taylor
Description

Patrick Taylor first charmed readers with An Irish Country Doctor, a warm and enchanting novel in the tradition of James Herriot and Jan Karon. Now Taylor returns to the colorful Northern Ireland community of Ballybucklebo, where there's always something brewing beneath the village's deceptively sleepy surface.

Young Doctor Barry Laverty has only just begun his assistantship under his eccentric mentor, Dr. Fingal Flahertie O'Reilly, but he already feels right at home in Ballybucklebo. When the sudden death of a patient casts a cloud over Barry's reputation, his chances of establishing himself in the village are endangered, especially since the grieving widow is threatening a lawsuit.

While he anxiously waits for the postmortem results that he prays will exonerate him, Barry must regain the trust of the gossipy Ulster village, one patient at a time. From a put-upon shop girl with a mysterious rash to the troubled pregnancy of a winsome young lass who's not quite married yet, Ballybucklebo provides plenty of cases to keep the two country G.P.s busy.

Not all their challenges are medical in nature. When a greedy developer sets his sights on the very heart of the community, the village pub, it's up to the doctors to save the Black Swan (affectionately known to the locals as the "Mucky Duck") from being turned into an overpriced tourist trap. After all, the good citizens of Ballybucklebo need some place to drink to each other's health. . . .

Whether you've visited in the past, or are discovering Ballybucklebo for the first time, An Irish Country Village is an ideal location for anyone looking for wit, warmth, and just a touch of blarney.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Annex - Adult Fiction
Fiction Taylor
On Shelf
Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction
Fiction Taylor
On Shelf
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Fiction Taylor
On Shelf
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Fiction Taylor
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780765316240, 0765316242

Notes

General Note
"A Tom Doherty Associates book."
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Taylor, P. (2008). An Irish country village. 1st hardcover ed. New York: Forge Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Taylor, Patrick, 1941-. 2008. An Irish Country Village. New York: Forge Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Taylor, Patrick, 1941-, An Irish Country Village. New York: Forge Books, 2008.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Taylor, Patrick. An Irish Country Village. 1st hardcover ed. New York: Forge Books, 2008. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
ec2da57b-3131-2397-fcd7-a7652d7f930d
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeNov 21, 2019 11:43:56 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeNov 21, 2019 11:43:52 AM

MARC Record

LEADER01559cam a2200385 a 4500
001ocn173749064
003OCoLC
00520080201015158.0
008071002s2008    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2007040871
020 |a 9780765316240
020 |a 0765316242
035 |a (OCoLC)173749064|z (OCoLC)156832552
040 |a DLC|c DLC|d BTCTA|d YDXCP|d BAKER|d UKM|d TNN
043 |a e-ie---
049 |a TNNA
099 |a Fiction|a Taylor
1001 |a Taylor, Patrick,|d 1941-
24513|a An Irish country village /|c Patrick Taylor.
250 |a 1st hardcover ed.
260 |a New York :|b Forge Books,|c 2008.
300 |a 431 p. ;|c 24 cm.
500 |a "A Tom Doherty Associates book."
650 0|a Physicians|v Fiction.
650 0|a Country life|z Northern Ireland|v Fiction.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b18916582|b 02-15-17|c 11-16-07
910 |a CARL0000299023
949 |b 35192036855744|c Fiction Taylor|h EP|j EP|l AFIC|m BK|s S|p 25.95|w 73|x 20080201|t 20191026|q CNV|r RXD|v 9|y 20190630|z 2
949 |b 35192036925521|c Fiction Taylor|h GH|j GH|l AFIC|m BK|s S|p 16.10|w 47|x 20080306|t 20190912|q CNV|r CNV|v 4|y 20171222|z 1
949 |b 35192036925513|c Fiction Taylor|h MN|j MN|l AFIC|m BK|s S|p 16.10|w 54|x 20080306|t 20190805|q CNV|r CNV|v 1|y 20190716|z 0
991 |a ax|a do|a ep|a go|a (2)gh|a mn|b 02-01-08|c m|d a|e 9|f eng|g nyu|h 3|i 7
998 4|a LDR0905 20170610171609 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170610171609 NPUB
949 |b 35192036855751|c Fiction Taylor|h AX|j AX|l AFIC|m BK|s S|p 25.95|w 75|x 20080201|t  |q CNV|r CNV|v 8|y 20191105|z 0