NPL will offer curbside service at select locations beginning June 8. Get details.

Sh*t my dad says
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York, N. Y. : It Books, 2010.
Format:
Book
Edition:
1st ed.
Physical Desc:
xiii, 158 pages ; 19 cm.
Status:
Bordeaux - Adult Non-Fiction
814.6 H1956s
Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction
814.6 H1956s
Goodlettsville - Adult Non-Fiction
814.6 H1956s
Description

"This book is ridiculously hilarious, and makes my father look like a normal member of society." --Chelsea Handler

Tuesdays with Morrie meets F My Life in this hilarious book about a son's relationship with his foul-mouthed father by the comedy writer who created the massively popular Twitter feed of the same name.

A few months ago, comedy writer Justin Halpern, 29, found himself living at home with his 73-year-old father after being dumped by his longtime girlfriend. Sam Halpern had never minced words, and when Justin moved back home, he was smart enough to write down all the ridiculous things his dad said to him, like "The universe does not give a fuck about you. You are a speck in its shit," and "The worst thing you can be is a liar....Okay fine, yes, the worst thing you can be is a Nazi, but THEN, number two is liar. Nazi 1, Liar 2," and "Everybody loves that Da Vinci code book. Bullshit, it sucks. I read it. It's for all the dummies." These quotes, or philosophies, have become "Shit My Dad Says," a Twitter page that in less than a month was being followed by over 500,000 people, had spawned articles in newspapers and magazines, as well as inspiring calls from movie and television producers, celebrities, and just about everyone else who heard about the site.

SH*T MY DAD SAYS, Justin Halpern's first book, is a mix of his dad's quotations and longer-form essays in the vein of David Sedaris and Chelsea Hander. It is a hilarious, unforgettable account of a unique father-son relationship and the filthy words of wisdom that have defined it.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Bordeaux - Adult Non-Fiction
814.6 H1956s
On Shelf
Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction
814.6 H1956s
On Shelf
Goodlettsville - Adult Non-Fiction
814.6 H1956s
On Shelf
Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction
814.6 H1956s
On Shelf
Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction
814.6 H1956s
On Shelf
Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction
814.6 H1956s
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780061992704, 0061992704

Notes

Description
Tuesdays with Morrie meets F My Life in this hilarious coming-of-age book about a son's relationship with his foul-mouthed father by the 29-year-old comedy writer who created the massively popular Twitter feed of the same name.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Halpern, J. (2010). Sh*t my dad says. New York, N. Y.: It Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Halpern, Justin, 1980-. 2010. Sh*t My Dad Says. New York, N. Y.: It Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Halpern, Justin, 1980-, Sh*t My Dad Says. New York, N. Y.: It Books, 2010.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Halpern, Justin. Sh*t My Dad Says. New York, N. Y.: It Books, 2010. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
733d44c0-dba8-dd27-10f1-89aabd6704b8
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeFeb 16, 2020 11:19:51 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJun 05, 2020 10:43:26 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02243cam a2200469 a 4500
001ocn600191793
003OCoLC
00520100625061527.0
008100405s2010    nyu           000 0aeng d
020 |a 9780061992704
020 |a 0061992704
035 |a (OCoLC)600191793|z (OCoLC)460060870
040 |a UPZ|c UPZ|d BTCTA|d YDXCP|d IH7|d MR0|d GO3|d ZQP|d CPL|d TNN
043 |a n-us---
049 |a TNNA
092 |a 814.6|b H1956s
1001 |a Halpern, Justin,|d 1980-
24510|a Sh*t my dad says /|c Justin Halpern.
2463 |a Shit my dad says.
250 |a 1st ed.
260 |a New York, N. Y. :|b It Books,|c 2010.
300 |a xiii, 158 p. ;|c 19 cm.
520 |a Tuesdays with Morrie meets F My Life in this hilarious coming-of-age book about a son's relationship with his foul-mouthed father by the 29-year-old comedy writer who created the massively popular Twitter feed of the same name.
60010|a Halpern, Justin,|d 1980-
60010|a Halpern, Sam|v Quotations.
650 0|a Fathers and sons|v Humor.
650 0|a Adult children|v Humor.
650 0|a American wit and humor.
650 0|a Humorists, American|y 21st century|v Biography.
650 0|a Fathers and sons|z United States|v Biography.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b20280671|b 02-21-17|c 05-25-10
910 |a CARL0000353587
949 |b 35192040114468|c 814.6 H1956s|h BX|j BX|l ANF|m BK|s S|p 9.83|w 35|x 20100805|t 20200216|q CNV|r CNV|v 1|y 20170630|z 1
949 |b 35192039950609|c 814.6 H1956s|h EP|j EP|l ANF|m BK|s S|p 9.83|w 55|x 20100625|t 20191016|q CNV|r KJS|v 0|y 20190605|z 2
949 |b 35192039950617|c 814.6 H1956s|h GH|j GH|l ANF|m BK|s S|p 9.83|w 58|x 20100625|t 20191001|q CNV|r JWW|v 0|y 20190930|z 3
949 |b 35192040114476|c 814.6 H1956s|h GO|j GO|l ANF|m BK|s S|p 9.83|w 50|x 20100805|t 20200211|q CNV|r CNV|v 2|y 20170630|z 2
949 |b 35192039967363|c 814.6 H1956s|h MN|j MN|l ANF|m BK|s S|p 8.84|w 49|x 20100729|t 20190702|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20190608|z 4
949 |b 35192039950633|c 814.6 H1956s|h MN|j MN|l ANF|m BK|s S|p 9.83|w 45|x 20100625|t 20200129|q CNV|r SNH|v 1|y 20180628|z 3
991 |a bl|a bx|a do|a ep|a go|a gh|a ma|a (2)mn|a rp|a se|a tl|b 06-25-10|c m|d a|e 5|f eng|g nyu|h 0|i 13
998 4|a LDR0905 20170610220158 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170610220158 NPUB