Spiral : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York, NY : The Dial Press, c2011.
Format:
Book
Edition:
1st ed.
Physical Desc:
312 pages ; 24 cm.
Status:
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Fiction McEuen
Description
In this riveting debut thriller--a finalist for Best First Novel at the 2012 Thriller Awards and a nominee for a Nero Award--the race is on to stop the devastating proliferation of the ultimate bioweapon. Spiral is perfect for fans of Michael Crichton, Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child, and Richard Preston. When Nobel laureate Liam Connor is found dead at the bottom of one of Ithaca, New York's famous gorges, his research collaborator, Cornell professor of nanoscience Jake Sterling, refuses to believe it was suicide. Why would one of the world's most eminent biologists, a eighty-six-year old man in good health who survived some of the darkest days of the Second World War, have chosen to throw himself off a bridge? And who was the mysterious woman caught on camera at the scene? Soon it becomes clear that a cache of supersophisticated nanorobots--each the size of a spider--has disappeared from the dead man's laboratory. Stunned by grief, Jake, Liam's granddaughter, Maggie, and Maggie's nine-year-old son, Dylan, try to put the pieces together. They uncover ingeniously coded messages Liam left behind pointing toward a devastating secret he gleaned off the shores of war-ravaged Japan and carried for more than sixty years. What begins as a quest for answers soon leads to a horrifying series of revelations at the crossroads of biological warfare and nanoscience. At this dangerous intersection, a skilled and sadistic assassin, an infamous Japanese war criminal, and a ruthless U.S. government official are all players in a harrowing game of power, treachery, and intrigue--a game whose winner will hold the world's fate literally in the palm of his hand.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Fiction McEuen
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780385342117 (acid-free paper), 038534211X (acid-free paper)

Notes

Description
The race is on to stop the devastating proliferation of the ultimate bioweapon.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

McEuen, P. (2011). Spiral: a novel. New York, NY: The Dial Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

McEuen, Paul. 2011. Spiral: A Novel. New York, NY: The Dial Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

McEuen, Paul, Spiral: A Novel. New York, NY: The Dial Press, 2011.

MLA Citation (style guide)

McEuen, Paul. Spiral: A Novel. New York, NY: The Dial Press, 2011. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
bd690f59-dc37-ed7a-6c29-aeb55c32bc51
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeDec 27, 2019 11:21:48 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeFeb 19, 2020 10:45:45 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01222cam a2200361 a 4500
001ocn707334574
003OCoLC
00520110316071705.2
008110315s2011    nyu           000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780385342117 (acid-free paper)
020 |a 038534211X (acid-free paper)
040 |a POT|c POT|d TnLvILS
043 |a n-us-ny
049 |a TNN
049 |a IG$A
099 |a Fiction|a McEuen
1001 |a McEuen, Paul.
24510|a Spiral :|b a novel /|c Paul McEuen.
250 |a 1st ed.
260 |a New York, NY :|b The Dial Press,|c c2011.
300 |a 312 p. ;|c 24 cm.
520 |a The race is on to stop the devastating proliferation of the ultimate bioweapon.
650 0|a Nanoscience|v Fiction.
650 0|a Biological warfare|v Fiction.
650 0|a Suspense fiction, American.
651 0|a Ithaca (N.Y.)|v Fiction.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b20569087|b 02-21-17|c 01-28-11
910 |a CARL0000366773
949 |b 35192041794573|c Fiction McEuen|h MN|j MN|l AFIC|m BK|s S|p 13.82|w 24|x 20110322|t 20191227|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20191227|z 0
991 |a lo|a mn|b 03-22-11|c m|d a|e i|f eng|g nyu|h 0|i 10
998 4|a LDR0905 20170610231736 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170610231736 NPUB