Hadley Park Branch Library is closed Saturday, October 19.

Hood : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Harper Perennial, 2011.
Format:
Book
Edition:
1st Harper Perennial ed.
Physical Desc:
309, 16 pages ; 21 cm.
Status:
East - Adult Fiction
Fiction Donoghu
Hermitage - Adult Fiction
Fiction Donoghu
Description
From the New York Times bestselling author of Room,Emma Donoghue, Hood is a graceful tale of a young woman who must come toterms with love and loss in the wake of her partner's sudden passing. The NewYork Times Book Review calls Hood "utterly charming," writing that,"Ms. Donoghue displays her confidence by avoiding the grandiose and the showy,and dipping into the ordinary with control and the occasional sustainingdescriptive flashes of a born writer." For readers of Jeanette Winterson's Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit and JoyceCarol Oates's The Widow's Story, Donoghue's Hood is a masterfullycrafted narrative of relationships and a daring, deft exploration of the love'simperfection--and how it can nonetheless dominate our lives as we grow andchange.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
East - Adult Fiction
Fiction Donoghu
On Shelf
Hermitage - Adult Fiction
Fiction Donoghu
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062117106 (trade pbk.), 0062117106 (trade pbk.)

Notes

General Note
"First published in Great Britain by Hamish Hamilton"--T.p. verso.
Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references.
Description
Kate Wall is flying to Dublin for the funeral of her younger sister Cara. Staying with her sedentary father and sister's housemate Pen, Kate comes to realize several things: that Pen and Cara were lovers, that she herself is more Irish than she thought and that the past is ever present.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Donoghue, E. (2011). Hood: a novel. 1st Harper Perennial ed. New York: Harper Perennial.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Donoghue, Emma, 1969-. 2011. Hood: A Novel. New York: Harper Perennial.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Donoghue, Emma, 1969-, Hood: A Novel. New York: Harper Perennial, 2011.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Donoghue, Emma. Hood: A Novel. 1st Harper Perennial ed. New York: Harper Perennial, 2011. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
3fd2163b-c41f-0c50-1e12-ea3f29774408
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeSep 20, 2019 11:20:51 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeOct 15, 2019 10:44:03 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01781cam a2200409 a 4500
001ocn730414086
003OCoLC
00520111017114322.7
008110612r20111995nyu      b    000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780062117106 (trade pbk.)
020 |a 0062117106 (trade pbk.)
040 |a BTCTA|b eng|c BTCTA|d YDXCP|d UPZ|d TnLvILS
043 |a e-ie---
049 |a TNN
049 |a IG$A
099 |a Fiction|a Donoghu
1001 |a Donoghue, Emma,|d 1969-
24510|a Hood :|b a novel /|c Emma Donoghue.
250 |a 1st Harper Perennial ed.
260 |a New York :|b Harper Perennial,|c 2011.
300 |a 309, 16 p. ;|c 21 cm.
500 |a "First published in Great Britain by Hamish Hamilton"--T.p. verso.
504 |a Includes bibliographical references.
520 |a Kate Wall is flying to Dublin for the funeral of her younger sister Cara. Staying with her sedentary father and sister's housemate Pen, Kate comes to realize several things: that Pen and Cara were lovers, that she herself is more Irish than she thought and that the past is ever present.
650 0|a Loss (Psychology)|v Fiction.
650 0|a Sisters|x Death|v Fiction.
650 0|a Lesbians|v Fiction.
650 0|a Psychological fiction, Irish.
651 0|a Dublin (Ireland)|v Fiction.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b20792402|b 04-12-17|c 07-26-11
910 |a CARL0000376612
949 |b 35192043520679|c Fiction Donoghu|h MN|j EA|l AFIC|m PBK|s S|p 9.29|w 26|x 20111024|t 20181008|q CNV|r EMN|v 0|y 20181008|z 0
949 |b 35192043520661|c Fiction Donoghu|h HM|j HM|l AFIC|m PBK|s S|p 9.29|w 16|x 20111024|t 20170702|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20170630|z 1
991 |a bl|a gh|a hm|a mn|b 10-24-11|c m|d a|e i|f eng|g nyu|h 0|i 5
998 4|a LDR0905 20170611001244 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170611001244 NPUB