Talking to the dead : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Published:
New York : Delacorte Press, c2012.
Format:
Book
Edition:
1st U.S. ed.
Physical Desc:
337 pages ; 25 cm.
Status:
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Fiction Bingham
Thompson Lane - Adult Fiction
Fiction Bingham
Description
A mesmerizing and thrilling novel--perfect for fans of Tana French and Stieg Larsson--that introduces a modern, unforgettable rookie cop whose past is as fascinating and as deadly as the crimes she investigates.   NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Boston Globe * The Seattle Times SHE KNOWS WHAT IT'S LIKE. . . .   At first, the murder scene appears sad, but not unusual: a young woman undone by drugs and prostitution, her six-year-old daughter dead alongside her. But then detectives find a strange piece of evidence in the squalid house: the platinum credit card of a very wealthy--and long dead--steel tycoon. What is a heroin-addicted hooker doing with the credit card of a well-known and powerful man who died months ago? This is the question that the most junior member of the investigative team, Detective Constable Fiona Griffiths, is assigned to answer.   But D.C. Griffiths is no ordinary cop. She's earned a reputation at police headquarters in Cardiff, Wales, for being odd, for not picking up on social cues, for being a little overintense. And there's that gap in her past, the two-year hiatus that everyone assumes was a breakdown. But Fiona is a crack investigator, quick and intuitive. She is immediately drawn to the crime scene, and to the tragic face of the six-year-old girl, who she is certain has something to tell her . . . something that will break the case wide open.   Ignoring orders and protocol, Fiona begins to explore far beyond the rich man's credit card and into the secrets of her seaside city. And when she uncovers another dead prostitute, Fiona knows that she's only begun to scratch the surface of a dark world of crime and murder. But the deeper she digs, the more danger she risks--not just from criminals and killers but from her own past . . . and the abyss that threatens to pull her back at any time. Praise for Talking to the Dead   "Gritty, compelling . . . a procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year."-- USA Today   "With Detective Constable Fiona 'Fi' Griffiths, Harry Bingham . . . finds a sweet spot in crime fiction . . . think Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander . . . Denise Mina's 'Paddy' Meehan [or] Lee Child's Jack Reacher. . . . The writing is terrific." --The Boston Globe   "The mystery-thriller genre is already so staffed with masterminds that it's hard to make room for another. But along comes a book like Talking to the Dead, and suddenly an unadvertised opening is filled. . . . [This] has the feel of something fresh and compelling."--New York Daily News   "A stunner with precision plotting, an unusual setting, and a deeply complex protagonist . . . We have the welcome promise of more books to come about Griffiths."-- The Seattle Times   "Recommended highly . . . [a] riveting procedural thriller." --Library Journal (starred review)
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Fiction Bingham
On Shelf
Thompson Lane - Adult Fiction
Fiction Bingham
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780345533739 (acid-free paper) :, 0345533739 (acid-free paper) :

Notes

Description
Rookie cop Fiona Griffiths, on the cusp of breaking her first big case, uncovers a dire conspiracy that takes her into a dark underworld that threatens her with her own personal demons.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Bingham, H. (2012). Talking to the dead: a novel. 1st U.S. ed. New York: Delacorte Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Bingham, Harry, 1967-. 2012. Talking to the Dead: A Novel. New York: Delacorte Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Bingham, Harry, 1967-, Talking to the Dead: A Novel. New York: Delacorte Press, 2012.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Bingham, Harry. Talking to the Dead: A Novel. 1st U.S. ed. New York: Delacorte Press, 2012. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
686e8e9c-2255-c451-3de6-99a333ca8f80
Go To Grouped Work View in Staff Client
Last File Modification Time Jul 02, 2018 11:19:19 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Oct 21, 2018 10:55:33 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01562cam a2200373 a 4500
001ocn758844689
003OCoLC
00520121004075254.0
008111025s2012    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2011041365
020 |a 9780345533739 (acid-free paper) :
020 |a 0345533739 (acid-free paper) :
043 |a e-uk-wl
049 |a TNNA
099 |a Fiction |a Bingham
1001 |a Bingham, Harry, |d 1967-
24510 |a Talking to the dead : |b a novel / |c Harry Bingham.
250 |a 1st U.S. ed.
260 |a New York : |b Delacorte Press, |c c2012.
300 |a 337 p. ; |c 25 cm.
520 |a Rookie cop Fiona Griffiths, on the cusp of breaking her first big case, uncovers a dire conspiracy that takes her into a dark underworld that threatens her with her own personal demons.
650 0 |a Policewomen |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Mothers and daughters |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Detective and mystery stories, English.
651 0 |a Cardiff (Wales) |v Fiction.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b21402620 |b 08-11-16 |c 08-08-12
910 |a CARL0000396778
949 |b 35192043085178 |c Fiction Bingham |h GH |j GH |l AFIC |m BK |s S |p 14.72 |w 28 |x 20121004 |t 20180316 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170630 |z 0
949 |b 35192043085194 |c Fiction Bingham |h TL |j TL |l AFIC |m BK |s S |p 14.72 |w 33 |x 20121004 |t 20180702 |q CNV |r CNV |v 1 |y 20171016 |z 0
991 |a gh |a tl |b 10-04-12 |c m |d a |e 8 |f eng |g nyu |h 0 |i 3
988 |a .o8426740 |c 3 |l multi |f b |s a |x 08-10-12 |y 10-01-12 |z 10-04-12 |3 s |k ep |k hm |k oh
998 4 |a LDR0905 20170611022843 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170611022843 NPUB