The unchangeable spots of leopards
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Viking, 2013.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
254 pages ; 24 cm.
Status:
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Fiction Jansma
Description
"F. Scott Fitzgerald meets Wes Anderson" ( The Village Voice ) in this inventive and witty debut about a young man's quest to become a writer and the misadventures in life and love that take him around the globe From as early as he can remember, the hopelessly unreliable--yet hopelessly earnest--narrator of this ambitious debut novel has wanted to become a writer. From the jazz clubs of Manhattan to the villages of Sri Lanka, Kristopher Jansma's irresistible narrator will be inspired and haunted by the success of his greatest friend and rival in writing, the eccentric and brilliantly talented Julian McGann, and endlessly enamored with Julian's enchanting friend, Evelyn, the green-eyed girl who got away. After the trio has a disastrous falling out, desperate to tell the truth in his writing and to figure out who he really is, Jansma's narrator finds himself caught in a never-ending web of lies. As much a story about a young man and his friends trying to make their way in the world as a profoundly affecting exploration of the nature of truth and storytelling, The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards will appeal to readers of Tom Rachman's The Imperfectionists and Jennifer Egan's Pulitzer Prize--winning A Visit from the Goon Squad with its elegantly constructed exploration of the stories we tell to find out who we really are.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Fiction Jansma
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780670026005, 067002600X

Notes

Description
"An inventive and witty debut about a young man's quest to become a writer and the misadventures in life and love that take him around the globe From as early as he can remember, the hopelessly unreliable--yet hopelessly earnest--narrator of this ambitious debut novel has wanted to become a writer. From the jazz clubs of Manhattan to the villages of Sri Lanka, Kristopher Jansma's irresistible narrator will be inspired and haunted by the success of his greatest friend and rival in writing, the eccentric and brilliantly talented Julian McGann, and endlessly enamored with Julian's enchanting friend, Evelyn, the green-eyed girl who got away. After the trio has a disastrous falling out, desperate to tell the truth in his writing and to figure out who he really is, Jansma's narrator finds himself caught in a never-ending web of lies. As much a story about a young man and his friends trying to make their way in the world as a profoundly affecting exploration of the nature of truth and storytelling, The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards will appeal to readers of Tom Rachman's The Imperfectionists and Jennifer Egan's Pulitzer Prize-winning A Visit from the Goon Squad with its elegantly constructed exploration of the stories we tell to find out who we really are. "--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Jansma, K. (2013). The unchangeable spots of leopards. New York: Viking.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Jansma, Kristopher. 2013. The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards. New York: Viking.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Jansma, Kristopher, The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards. New York: Viking, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Jansma, Kristopher. The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards. New York: Viking, 2013. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
fd8afe89-c376-9145-d3b8-cd7c0a7e8d46
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeDec 27, 2019 11:22:41 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJan 23, 2020 10:44:13 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02363cam a2200325 a 4500
001ocn796756321
003OCoLC
00520130405023129.0
008120720s2013    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2012027179
020 |a 9780670026005
020 |a 067002600X
042 |a pcc
049 |a TNNA
099 |a Fiction|a Jansma
1001 |a Jansma, Kristopher.
24514|a The unchangeable spots of leopards /|c Kristopher Jansma.
260 |a New York :|b Viking,|c 2013.
300 |a 254 p. ;|c 24 cm.
520 |a "An inventive and witty debut about a young man's quest to become a writer and the misadventures in life and love that take him around the globe From as early as he can remember, the hopelessly unreliable--yet hopelessly earnest--narrator of this ambitious debut novel has wanted to become a writer. From the jazz clubs of Manhattan to the villages of Sri Lanka, Kristopher Jansma's irresistible narrator will be inspired and haunted by the success of his greatest friend and rival in writing, the eccentric and brilliantly talented Julian McGann, and endlessly enamored with Julian's enchanting friend, Evelyn, the green-eyed girl who got away. After the trio has a disastrous falling out, desperate to tell the truth in his writing and to figure out who he really is, Jansma's narrator finds himself caught in a never-ending web of lies. As much a story about a young man and his friends trying to make their way in the world as a profoundly affecting exploration of the nature of truth and storytelling, The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards will appeal to readers of Tom Rachman's The Imperfectionists and Jennifer Egan's Pulitzer Prize-winning A Visit from the Goon Squad with its elegantly constructed exploration of the stories we tell to find out who we really are. "--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Authors|v Fiction.
650 0|a Friendship|v Fiction.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b21529966|b 08-11-16|c 11-02-12
910 |a CARL0000403206
949 |b 35192043971781|c Fiction Jansma|h MN|j MN|l AFIC|m BK|s S|p 15.90|w 25|x 20130411|t 20191227|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20191227|z 0
991 |a (2)gh|a ma|a mn|b 04-05-13|c m|d a|e 6|f eng|g nyu|h 4|i 5
988 |a .o850619x|c 3|l multi|f b|s a|x 11-05-12|y 03-21-13|z 04-05-13|3 s|k ep|k gh|k mn
998 4|a LDR0905 20170611031010 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170611031010 NPUB