Crime of privilege
(CD audio book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Contributors:
Published:
[New York] : Random House Audio, 2013.
Format:
CD audio book
Edition:
Unabridged.
Physical Desc:
11 sound discs (840 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Status:
Bellevue - Adult Audiobook
CD AUDIO Fiction Walker
Southeast - Adult Audiobook
CD AUDIO Fiction Walker
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY" THE SACRAMENTO BEE" In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, "Crime of Privilege" is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America and the dangerous ways they come together. A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach. All they have in common is the presence of one of America s most beloved and influential families. But nobody is asking questions. Not the police. Not the prosecutors. And certainly not George Becket, a young lawyer toiling away in the basement of the Cape & Islands district attorney s office. George has always lived at the edge of power. He wasn t born to privilege, but he understands how it works and has benefitted from it in ways he doesn t like to admit. Now, an investigation brings him deep inside the world of the truly wealthy and shows him what a perilous place it is. Years have passed since a young woman was found brutally slain at an exclusive Cape Cod golf club, and no one has ever been charged. Cornered by the victim s father, George can t explain why certain leads were never explored leads that point in the direction of a single family and he agrees to look into it. What begins as a search through the highly stratified layers of Cape Cod society, soon has George racing from Idaho to Hawaii, Costa Rica to France to New York City. But everywhere he goes he discovers people like himself: people with more secrets than answers, people haunted by a decision years past to trade silence for protection from life s sharp edges. George finds his friends are not necessarily still friends and a spouse can be unfaithful in more ways than one. And despite threats at every turn, he is driven to reconstruct the victim s last hours while searching not only for a killer but for his own redemption. Praise for "Crime of Privilege" Twisting, engrossing, irresistible. William Landay, author of "Defending Jacob" Stunning . . . an outstanding crime story. "Library Journal "(starred review) A terrifically entertaining race of a read . . . jam-packed with intelligence, insight, morality and heart. Top-notch and highly recommended John Lescroart A gripping thriller . . . an unsettling, multilayered look at the insidious symbiosis between power and corruption. "Maclean s" A legal thriller and a murder mystery cloaked in pure enjoyment . . . The author s wit, dry and cutting, is razor-sharp. "Bookreporter" "" An engaging, very well-paced novel . . . exciting and unpredictable. " Examiner.com"

"From the Hardcover edition.""

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Bellevue - Adult Audiobook
CD AUDIO Fiction Walker
On Shelf
Southeast - Adult Audiobook
CD AUDIO Fiction Walker
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780385367219, 038536721X, 9780385367233, 0385367236

Notes

General Note
Title from web page.
General Note
Compact discs.
General Note
Duration: 14:00:00.
Participants/Performers
Read by Stephen Hoye.
Description
George Becket, assistant to the Cape & Islands District Attorney, makes a fateful decision when he agrees to re-open a scandalous case: the unsolved murder of a young woman. The investigation puts him up against not only one of America's most powerful and adored families, but also the most haunting mistake of his own past. Intelligent and engrossing, a thriller about class and crime, a novel about the ways in which power and privilege corrupt justice.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Walker, W., & Hoye, S. (2013). Crime of privilege. Unabridged. [New York]: Random House Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Walker, Walter and Stephen. Hoye. 2013. Crime of Privilege. [New York]: Random House Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Walker, Walter and Stephen. Hoye, Crime of Privilege. [New York]: Random House Audio, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Walker, Walter., and Stephen Hoye. Crime of Privilege. Unabridged. [New York]: Random House Audio, 2013.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
ff5666ef-09d8-aaf2-2a85-b841255f15a2
Go To Grouped Work View in Staff Client
Last File Modification Time Aug 21, 2018 11:31:15 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Sep 17, 2018 10:59:17 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02113cim a2200457 a 4500
001ocn810999497
003OCoLC
00520130619100807.0
007sd fungnnmmneu        
008120919s2013    nyunnnn        f  n eng d
020 |a 9780385367219
020 |a 038536721X
020 |a 9780385367233
020 |a 0385367236
02842 |a RHA 4094
049 |a TNNA
099 |a CD AUDIO |a Fiction |a Walker
1001 |a Walker, Walter.
24510 |a Crime of privilege |h [sound recording] / |c Walter Walker.
250 |a Unabridged.
260 |a [New York] : |b Random House Audio, |c 2013.
300 |a 11 sound discs (840 min.) : |b digital ; |c 4 3/4 in.
500 |a Title from web page.
5110 |a Read by Stephen Hoye.
500 |a Compact discs.
500 |a Duration: 14:00:00.
520 |a George Becket, assistant to the Cape & Islands District Attorney, makes a fateful decision when he agrees to re-open a scandalous case: the unsolved murder of a young woman. The investigation puts him up against not only one of America's most powerful and adored families, but also the most haunting mistake of his own past. Intelligent and engrossing, a thriller about class and crime, a novel about the ways in which power and privilege corrupt justice.
650 0 |a Upper class |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Murder |x Investigation |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Suspense fiction, American.
650 0 |a Audiobooks.
7001 |a Hoye, Stephen.
898 |a qBookOnCD
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b21741529 |b 02-15-17 |c 01-16-13
910 |a CARL0000407259
949 |b 35192044277816 |c CD AUDIO Fiction Walker |h BL |j BL |l AAUBK |m CDA |n 001.Includes 11 discs |s S |p 24.75 |w 21 |x 20130621 |t 20180327 |q CNV |r CNV |v 1 |y 20170814 |z 0
949 |b 35192045456047 |c CD AUDIO Fiction Walker |h SE |j SE |l AAUBK |m CDA |s S |p 45.00 |w 14 |x 20140923 |t 20180821 |q CNV |r JAM |v 2 |y 20170814 |z 1
991 |a bl |a mn |a se |a tl |b 06-19-13 |c m |d 3 |e 5 |f eng |g nyu |h 0 |i 6
988 |a .o8552204 |c 5 |l multi |f a |s a |x 01-16-13 |y 06-17-13 |z 06-19-13 |3 s |k bl |k ea |k go |k mn |k tl
998 4 |a LDR0905 20170611033545 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170611033545 NPUB