Get NPL COVID-19 closure information.
 
Holds on physical items have been suspended; while the library is closed we encourage you to check out our electronic resources.
 

The watermelon seed
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Disney/Hyperion Books, c2013.
Format:
Book
Edition:
1st ed.
Physical Desc:
1 v. (unpaged) : col. ill. ; 27 cm.
Status:
East - Kids Easy
E Pizzoli
Edmondson Pike - Kids Easy
E Pizzoli
Southeast - Kids Easy
E Pizzoli
Description
Greg Pizzoli's beloved Geisel Award-winning gem playfully taps kids' classic question about what could happen if they swallow a seed. Crocodile loves watermelon, but what will happen when his greatest fear of swallowing a watermelon seed comes to pass? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? Only one thing is certain: his wild imagination will have kids laughing out loud and begging for another read. With perfect comic pacing, bold color and dynamic sense of design, three-time Theodor Seuss Geisel Award recipient Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut transforms this familiar childhood anxiety into a contemporary classic read-aloud perfect for fans of I Want My Hat Back . * "[A]n expert debut."-- Publishers Weekly (starred review) * "Children will love this hilarious book. The story has broad appeal, making it a great first purchase."-- School Library Journal (starred review) Don't miss these other favorite books by Greg Pizzoli: The Book Hog Good Night Owl Number One Sam Templeton Gets His Wish This Story is for You The Twelve Days of Christmas
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Bellevue - Kids Easy
E Pizzoli
Checked Out
Bellevue - Kids Easy
E Pizzoli
Checked Out
East - Kids Easy
E Pizzoli
On Shelf
Edmondson Pike - Kids Easy
E Pizzoli
Checked Out
Edmondson Pike - Kids Easy
E Pizzoli
On Shelf
Edmondson Pike - Kids Easy
E Pizzoli
Checked Out
Hermitage - Kids Easy
E Pizzoli
Checked Out
Main Library - Kids Easy
E Pizzoli
Checked Out
Richland Park - Kids Easy
E Pizzoli
On Hold Shelf
Southeast - Kids Easy
E Pizzoli
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781423171010, 1423171012
Reading Level:
LG
Level 1, 0.5 Points
Lexile measure:
350

Notes

Description
After swallowing a watermelon seed, a crocodile imagines a scary outcome.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Pizzoli, G. (2013). The watermelon seed. New York: Disney/Hyperion Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Pizzoli, Greg. 2013. The Watermelon Seed. New York: Disney/Hyperion Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Pizzoli, Greg, The Watermelon Seed. New York: Disney/Hyperion Books, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Pizzoli, Greg. The Watermelon Seed. New York: Disney/Hyperion Books, 2013. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
0a25b93c-2c8e-4425-cf9e-a91278db3474
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeMay 28, 2020 11:36:15 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 28, 2020 11:21:03 PM

MARC Record

LEADER08124cam a2201045 a 4500
001ocn797969761
003OCoLC
00520130521082529.0
008120626s2013    nyua   b      000 1 eng  
010 |a 2012020297
020 |a 9781423171010
020 |a 1423171012
049 |a TNNA
099 |a E|a Pizzoli
1001 |a Pizzoli, Greg.
24514|a The watermelon seed /|c Greg Pizzoli.
250 |a 1st ed.
260 |a New York :|b Disney/Hyperion Books,|c c2013.
300 |a 1 v. (unpaged) :|b col. ill. ;|c 27 cm.
520 |a After swallowing a watermelon seed, a crocodile imagines a scary outcome.
592
650 0|a Watermelons|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Seeds|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Imagination|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Crocodiles|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Humorous stories, Juvenile.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b21887044|b 04-27-17|c 04-11-13
908 |a  2012020297
910 |a CARL0000412995
949 |b MK10088487|c E PIZ|h 10105|j 10105|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 17.00|w 45|x 20150211|t 20200127|q CNV|r MDB|v 1|y 20190515|z 0
949 |b MK10069663|c E PIZ|h 11122|j 11122|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 44|x 20140508|t 20200521|q CNV|r RLW|v 1|y 20170830|z 1
949 |b QQ00165197|c E PIZ|h 16184|j 16184|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 17|x 20140213|t 20190429|q CNV|r RLW|v 0|y 20170830|z 0
949 |b QQ00165123|c E PIZ|h 17185|j 17185|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 3|x 20140214|t 20190919|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20180514|z 0
949 |b QQ00165125|c E PIZ|h 18200|j 18200|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 11|x 20140214|t 20170425|q CNV|r RLW|v 0|y 20170830|z 0
949 |b MK10079899|c E PIZ|h 19205|j 19205|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 16|x 20141208|t 20200130|q CNV|r RLW|v 0|y 20170830|z 1
949 |b MK10078436|c E PIZ|h 1A215|j 1A215|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 17.00|w 34|x 20141110|t 20200130|q CNV|r RLW|v 2|y 20170830|z 5
949 |b QQ00165130|c E Piz|h 1B225|j 1B225|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 12.00|w 1|x 20200108|t 20200518|q JXJ|r JXJ|v 1|y 20200108|z 0
949 |b QQ00165133|c E PIZ|h 1C230|j 1C230|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 20|x 20140226|t 20200309|q CNV|r JAM|v 2|y 20180419|z 2
949 |b QQ00165134|c E PIZ|h 1C230|j 1C230|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 14|x 20140226|t 20190920|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20180419|z 0
949 |b QQ00165138|c E PIZ|h 1D235|j 1D235|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 22|x 20140213|t 20200107|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20180517|z 0
949 |b QQ00166922|c E PIZ|h 1F252|j 1F252|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 15|x 20140331|t 20200518|q CNV|r JAM|v 2|y 20180515|z 2
949 |b QQ00166924|c E PIZ|h 1G265|j 1G265|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 67|x 20140331|t 20190930|q CNV|r RLW|v 0|y 20170830|z 14
949 |b QQ00165149|c E PIZ|h 1H280|j 1H280|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 11|x 20140218|t 20190501|q CNV|r RLW|v 0|y 20170830|z 0
949 |b QQ00165155|c E PIZ|h 1K315|j 1K315|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 102|x 20140213|t 20200310|q CNV|r JAM|v 7|y 20180511|z 2
949 |b FF00175995|c E Piz|h 1N335|j 1N335|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 18.76|w 5|x 20181219|t 20200131|q LDR|r LDR|v 1|y 20181219|z 1
949 |b QQ00166928|c E PIZ|h 1P345|j 1P345|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 34|x 20140331|t 20200203|q CNV|r JAM|v 4|y 20190513|z 3
949 |b QQ00165163|c E PIZ|h 1Q350|j 1Q350|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 26|x 20140213|t 20200212|q CNV|r JAM|v 1|y 20181009|z 0
949 |b QQ00166929|c E PIZ|h 1U380|j 1U380|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 27|x 20140401|t 20190516|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20190513|z 0
949 |b QQ00166931|c E PIZ|h 1V395|j 1V395|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 32|x 20140331|t 20200122|q CNV|r JAM|v 1|y 20180514|z 2
949 |b QQ00165167|c E PIZ|h 1W405|j 1W405|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 18|x 20140213|t 20190415|q CNV|r RLW|v 0|y 20170830|z 0
949 |b A02182748|c E/P|h 1X415|j 1X415|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 10.00|w 2|x 20170815|t 20180503|q JAM|r JAM|v 0|y 20171206|z 4
949 |b QQ00165169|c E PIZ|h 1Y420|j 1Y420|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 22|x 20140213|t 20190327|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20180425|z 0
949 |b MK10066200|c E PIZ|h 22465|j 22465|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 20|x 20140416|t 20181004|q CNV|r RLW|v 0|y 20170831|z 1
949 |b MK10069799|c E PIZ|h 25496|j 25496|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 34|x 20140506|t 20190502|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20190425|z 1
949 |b QQ00165175|c E PIZ|h 26500|j 26500|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 12|x 20140218|t 20180223|q CNV|r RLW|v 0|y 20170831|z 3
949 |b QQ00168382|c E PIZ|h 28520|j 28520|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 8|x 20140417|t 20191114|q CNV|r RLW|v 0|y 20170831|z 1
949 |b FF00148862|c E Piz|h 29522|j 29522|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 18.56|w 8|x 20180104|t 20191023|q LDR|r RLW|v 0|y 20180109|z 4
949 |b MK10070310|c E PIZ|h 2A530|j 2A530|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 60|x 20140513|t 20200128|q CNV|r RLW|v 1|y 20170831|z 5
949 |b A02070795|c E PIZ|h 2C560|j 2C560|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 20.00|w 22|x 20141104|t 20190430|q CNV|r RLW|v 0|y 20170831|z 0
949 |b QQ00165183|c E PIZ|h 2E576|j 2E576|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 20.00|w 27|x 20140214|t 20191003|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20180517|z 1
949 |b MK10066129|c E PIZ|h 2G595|j 2G595|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 10|x 20140411|t 20190822|q CNV|r MDB|v 0|y 20190822|z 0
949 |b QQ00165184|c E PIZ|h 2H610|j 2H610|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 17|x 20140213|t 20190516|q CNV|r RLW|v 0|y 20170831|z 1
949 |b QQ00167500|c E PIZ|h 2I618|j 2I618|l JEVERY|m SBK|n 002.2014|s S|p 20.00|w 11|x 20140408|t 20200205|q CNV|r RLW|v 1|y 20170831|z 0
949 |b MK10251731|c E Piz|h 2K640|j 2K640|l JEVERY|m SBK|s SP|p 16.99|w 0|x 20200413|t 20200413|q LDR|r LDR|v 0|y 20200413|z 0
949 |b FF00090693|c E PIZ|h 2L650|j 2L650|l JEVERY|m SBK|n 002.2013|s S|p 20.00|w 50|x 20150209|t 20200214|q CNV|r RLW|v 4|y 20170831|z 2
949 |b QQ00167501|c E PIZ|h 2M670|j 2M670|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 15.00|w 1|x 20170315|t 20191002|q CNV|r MDB|v 0|y 20180508|z 2
949 |b QQ00165188|c E PIZ|h 2N682|j 2N682|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 20.00|w 23|x 20140218|t 20191004|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20190403|z 1
949 |b QQ00165189|c E PIZ|h 2O685|j 2O685|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 11|x 20140409|t 20200519|q CNV|r RLW|v 0|y 20170831|z 2
949 |b MK10066814|c E PIZ|h 2R710|j 2R710|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 15.00|w 6|x 20140411|t 20191125|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20190329|z 1
949 |b QQ00165192|c E PIZ|h 2S715|j 2S715|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 18|x 20140213|t 20191217|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20180514|z 0
949 |b QQ00165194|c E PIZ|h 2W755|j 2W755|l JEVERY|m SBK|n 002.2013|s S|p 20.00|w 5|x 20140219|t 20190808|q CNV|r MDB|v 0|y 20190807|z 0
949 |b MK10119689|c E PIZ|h 2X765|j 2X765|l JEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 9|x 20150807|t 20190911|q CNV|r RLW|v 0|y 20170831|z 0
949 |b FF00091680|c E PIZ|h 67440|j 67440|l YEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 14.49|w 0|x 20150303|t 20170701|q CNV|r MDB|v 0|y 20180611|z 0
949 |b QQ00165160|c E PIZ|h 75585|j 75585|l YEVERY|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 10|x 20140213|t 20190508|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20190412|z 1
949 |b 35192045300062|c E Pizzoli|h BL|j BL|l JEASY|m BK|s C|p 16.99|w 95|x 20141229|t 20200528|q CNV|r MCH|v 6|y 20200223|z 11
949 |b 35192045300070|c E Pizzoli|h BL|j BL|l JEASY|m BK|s C|p 16.99|w 81|x 20141229|t 20200314|q CNV|r ECT|v 5|y 20180421|z 8
949 |b 35192044133480|c E Pizzoli|h EA|j EA|l JEASY|m BK|s S|p 10.72|w 65|x 20130522|t 20200123|q CNV|r EMW|v 0|y 20191019|z 3
949 |b 35192044133498|c E Pizzoli|h EP|j EP|l JEASY|m BK|s S|p 10.72|w 61|x 20130522|t 20200229|q CNV|r CMJ|v 3|y 20190617|z 7
949 |b 35192044133522|c E Pizzoli|h EP|j EP|l JEASY|m BK|s C|p 10.72|w 70|x 20130522|t 20200308|q CNV|r CNV|v 4|y 20190718|z 4
949 |b 35192044133506|c E Pizzoli|h EP|j EP|l JEASY|m BK|s C|p 10.72|w 25|x 20130522|t 20200307|q CNV|r CMJ|v 4|y 20190719|z 4
949 |b 35192044133563|c E Pizzoli|h HM|j HM|l JEASY|m BK|s C|p 10.72|w 96|x 20130522|t 20200229|q CNV|r CNV|v 3|y 20181105|z 11
949 |b 35192045692252|c E Pizzoli|h MN|j MN|l JEASY|m BK|s C|p 9.40|w 62|x 20140403|t 20200512|q CNV|r ovn|v 4|y 20191005|z 7
949 |b 35192044133514|c E Pizzoli|h RP|j RP|l JEASY|m BK|s H|p 10.72|w 70|x 20130522|t 20200313|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20200221|z 3
949 |b 35192045371873|c E Pizzoli|h SE|j SE|l JEASY|m BK|s S|p 16.99|w 47|x 20141020|t 20200309|q CNV|r CNV|v 5|y 20190310|z 12
991 |a (2)bl|a bx|a (15)child|a ea|a (3)ep|a (2)hm|a lo|a (2)mn|a rp|a (2)se|b 05-21-13|c m|d a|e 8|f eng|g nyu|h 4|i 30
988 |a .o8622590|c 10|l multi|f b|s a|x 04-11-13|y 05-10-13|z 05-21-13|3 s|k bx|k ea|k ep|k gh|k go|k hm|k ma|k mn|k oh|k tl
988 |a .o8853332|c 1|l mn |f b|s a|x 02-07-14|y 03-28-14|z 03-31-14|3 s|k mn
998 4|a LDR0905 20170611040949 NPUB |b GMU000013620180910135031 |b LDR0905 20170614165722 NSCH |b LDR0905 20170611040949 NPUB