All library locations are closed beginning at 6 PM Wednesday, Nov 27, and reopen for normal hours on Saturday, Nov 30. Happy Thanksgiving!

The pirate's coin : a Sixty-eight rooms adventure
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Contributors:
Published:
New York : Random House, c2013.
Format:
Book
Edition:
1st ed.
Physical Desc:
219 pages : ill. ; 22 cm.
Status:
East - Kids Fiction
JUV Fiction Malone
Main Library - Kids Fiction
JUV Fiction Malone
Description
Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love the third The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure-- a perfect next step for kids who love the Magic Tree House series , and just right for readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck. Sixth Graders Ruthie and Jack return to the Art Institute of Chicago's magical Thorne Rooms. During a school presentation, Ruthie and Jack discover that their classmate Kendra is descended from Phoebe Monroe, the young slave they befriended when they traveled to 19th-century South Carolina. Kendra tells them that long ago her family lost their good name and their business selling herbal remedies when mobsters accused them of stealing the recipes! Only Ruthie and Jack know the truth--because only they know about the secret ledger that Phoebe wrote the recipes in long ago! Ruthie and Jack's mission to clear Kendra's name takes them back to the Thorne Rooms, where a mysterious old coin leads them to 1753 Cape Cod and to Jack's own ancestor . . . the pirate Jack Norfleet! But playing with history can be dangerous ! Suddenly, Jack's very existence is in jeopardy! Can Ruthie and Jack find the proof they need to help Kendra? And can they fix the past and save Jack's future . . . before it's too late? Here's What People Are Saying about The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures! The New York Times: "Irresistible." Chicago Sun-Times: "Exhilarating." Chicago Tribune: "Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal."
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
East - Kids Fiction
JUV Fiction Malone
On Shelf
Main Library - Kids Fiction
JUV Fiction Malone
On Shelf
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780307977175, 030797717X, 9780307977205 (trade), 030797720X (trade), 9780307977182 (lib. bdg.), 0307977188 (lib. bdg.)
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.1, 6 Points
Lexile measure:
740

Notes

General Note
Sequel to: Stealing magic.
Description
A magical coin coin leads sixth-graders Ruthie and Jack to 1753 Massachusetts and to Jack's pirate ancestor when they return to the Art Institute of Chicago's miniature Thorne Rooms on a mission to restore an African American family's reputation.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Malone, M., & Call, G. (2013). The pirate's coin: a Sixty-eight rooms adventure. New York: Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Malone, Marianne and Greg, Call. 2013. The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-eight Rooms Adventure. New York: Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Malone, Marianne and Greg, Call, The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-eight Rooms Adventure. New York: Random House, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Malone, Marianne., and Greg Call. The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-eight Rooms Adventure. New York: Random House, 2013. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
dde75e40-66d3-8d4a-8230-12cbaa0bd6ce
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeNov 16, 2019 11:38:17 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeNov 16, 2019 11:28:22 PM

MARC Record

LEADER03176cam a2200625 a 4500
001ocn795503516
003OCoLC
00520130624121716.0
008120611s2013    nyua   c      000 1 eng  
010 |a 2012017540
020 |a 9780307977175
020 |a 030797717X
020 |a 9780307977205 (trade)
020 |a 030797720X (trade)
020 |a 9780307977182 (lib. bdg.)
020 |a 0307977188 (lib. bdg.)
042 |a lcac|a pcc
043 |a n-us-il
049 |a TNNA
099 |a JUV|a Fiction|a Malone
1001 |a Malone, Marianne.
24514|a The pirate's coin :|b a Sixty-eight rooms adventure /|c Marianne Malone ; illustrations by Greg Call.
250 |a 1st ed.
260 |a New York :|b Random House,|c c2013.
300 |a 219 p. :|b ill. ;|c 22 cm.
4901 |a Sixty-eight rooms adventure ;|v book 3.
500 |a Sequel to: Stealing magic.
520 |a A magical coin coin leads sixth-graders Ruthie and Jack to 1753 Massachusetts and to Jack's pirate ancestor when they return to the Art Institute of Chicago's miniature Thorne Rooms on a mission to restore an African American family's reputation.
61020|a Art Institute of Chicago|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Time travel|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Miniature rooms|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Magic|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Genealogy|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a African Americans|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Adventure stories, Juvenile.
7001 |a Call, Greg,|e ill.
8001 |a Malone, Marianne.|t Sixty-eight rooms adventure.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b21980093|b 08-19-16|c 06-12-13
908 |a fol14520847
908 |a fol14902457
910 |a CARL0000417209
949 |b FF00068631|c F MAL|h 17185|j 17185|l JFIC|m SBK|s S|p 14.49|w 0|x 20131212|t 20180514|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20180510|z 0
949 |b MK10065861|c F MAL|h 1M330|j 1M330|l JFIC|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 3|x 20140422|t 20190813|q CNV|r MDB|v 0|y 20190515|z 0
949 |b MK10060180|c F MAL|h 2L650|j 2L650|l JFIC|m SBK|n 002.2013|s S|p 15.00|w 7|x 20140417|t 20171108|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20170701|z 0
949 |b MK10102356|c F MAL|h 2L650|j 2L650|l JFIC|m SBK|n 002.2014|s S|p 15.00|w 4|x 20150410|t 20181108|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20170701|z 1
949 |b MK10057132|c F MAL|h 2T717|j 2T717|l JFIC|m SBK|s S|p 16.99|w 7|x 20140401|t 20190513|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20190513|z 0
949 |b FF00185393|c F Mal|h 4S612|j 4S612|l YFIC|m SBK|s SP|p 11.91|w 0|x 20190219|t 20190219|q LDR|r LDR|v 0|y 20190219|z 0
949 |b FF00091348|c F MAL|h 65397|j 65397|l YFIC|m SBK|s S|p 5.99|w 0|x 20150227|t 20170701|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20170701|z 0
949 |b 35192044295784|c JUV Fiction Malone|h GH|j EA|l JFIC|m BK|s S|p 9.84|w 16|x 20130628|t 20180411|q CNV|r EMN|v 0|y 20180411|z 0
949 |b 35192044295818|c JUV Fiction Malone|h MN|j MN|l JFIC|m BK|s S|p 9.84|w 32|x 20130628|t 20191008|q CNV|r CNV|v 4|y 20180614|z 3
991 |a bl|a (5)child|a ep|a gh|a mn|a rp|b 06-24-13|c m|d a|e 8|f eng|g nyu|h 4|i 10
988 |a .o8677359|c 5|l multi|f b|s a|x 06-12-13|y 06-19-13|z 06-24-13|3 s|k bl|k gh|k hm|k in|k mn
998 4|a LDR0905 20170611043702 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170614222650 NSCH |b LDR0905 20170614152108 NSCH |b LDR0905 20170611043702 NPUB