All library locations are closed beginning at 6 PM Wednesday, Nov 27, and reopen for normal hours on Saturday, Nov 30. Happy Thanksgiving!

Before I met you : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Atria Paperback, 2013.
Format:
Book
Edition:
First Atria Books trade paperback edition.
Physical Desc:
435 pages ; 21 cm.
Status:
East - Adult Fiction
Fiction Jewell
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Fiction Jewell
Description
"Lisa Jewell leaves the chick-lit tag firmly behind with Before I Met You , a poignant story about a young woman uncovering her grandmother's bohemian life in 1920s London--and finding her own place in the world in the process."-- Good Housekeeping (UK) "Jewell's moving novel immerses readers in the lives of these unique characters through the universal themes of family and a search for belonging...a compelling and entertaining novel." -- Publishers Weekly Jazz Age London, a passionate and forbidden interracial romance, and the unbreakable bond between a bright young woman and her eccentric grandmother come together brilliantly in this gem of a novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone , perfect for fans of Downton Abbey , Twenties Girl , and The Chaperone. After her grandmother Arlette's death, Betty is finally ready to begin her life. She had forfeited university, parties, boyfriends, summer jobs--all the usual preoccupations of a woman her age--in order to care for Arlette in their dilapidated, albeit charming home on the English island of Guernsey. Her will included a beneficiary unknown to Betty and her family, a woman named Clara Pickle who presumably could be found at a London address. Now, having landed on a rather shabby street corner in '90s Soho, Betty is determined to find the mysterious Clara. She's ready for whatever life has to throw her way. Or so she thinks . . . In 1920s bohemian London, Arlette De La Mare is starting her new life in a time of postwar change. Beautiful and charismatic, she is soon drawn into the hedonistic world of the Bright Young People. But two years after her arrival in London, tragedy strikes and she flees back to her childhood home and remains there for the rest of her life. As Betty navigates the ups and downs of city life and begins working as a nanny for a rock star tabloid magnet, her search for Clara leads her to a man--a stranger to Betty, but someone who meant the world to her grandmother. Will the secrets of Arlette's past help Betty find her own way to happiness in the present? A rich detective story and a captivating look at London then and now, Before I Met You is an unforgettable novel about two very different women, separated by seventy years, but united by big hearts and even bigger dreams.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
East - Adult Fiction
Fiction Jewell
On Shelf
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Fiction Jewell
Checked Out
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Fiction Jewell
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781476702940 (pbk.), 1476702942 (pbk.)

Notes

Description
In Jazz Age London, a tale of a passionate and forbidden interracial romance, and the unbreakable bond between a bright young woman and her eccentric grandmother, unfolds.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Jewell, L. (2013). Before I met you: a novel. First Atria Books trade paperback edition. New York: Atria Paperback.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Jewell, Lisa. 2013. Before I Met You: A Novel. New York: Atria Paperback.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Jewell, Lisa, Before I Met You: A Novel. New York: Atria Paperback, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Jewell, Lisa. Before I Met You: A Novel. First Atria Books trade paperback edition. New York: Atria Paperback, 2013. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
3ef136df-ea84-3aff-57a9-2d1a0246c3c8
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeNov 18, 2019 11:23:46 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeNov 18, 2019 11:13:52 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01989cam a2200481 i 4500
001ocn830667859
003OCoLC
00520131031020553.0
008130318r20132012nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2013004344
020 |a 9781476702940 (pbk.)
020 |a 1476702942 (pbk.)
042 |a pcc
043 |a e-uk-en
049 |a TNNA
099 |a Fiction|a Jewell
1001 |a Jewell, Lisa.
24510|a Before I met you :|b a novel /|c Lisa Jewell.
250 |a First Atria Books trade paperback edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Atria Paperback,|c 2013.
300 |a 435 pages ;|c 21 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
520 |a In Jazz Age London, a tale of a passionate and forbidden interracial romance, and the unbreakable bond between a bright young woman and her eccentric grandmother, unfolds.
650 0|a Jazz musicians|v Fiction.
650 0|a Artists|v Fiction.
650 0|a Family secrets|v Fiction.
650 0|a Grandmothers|v Fiction.
650 0|a Nineteen twenties|v Fiction.
650 0|a Historical fiction, English.
650 0|a Romantic suspense fiction.
651 0|a London (England)|v Fiction.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b22012898|b 10-13-15|c 07-03-13
910 |a CARL0000418549
949 |b 35192044861544|c Fiction Jewell|h EA|j EA|l AFIC|m PBK|s S|p 10.58|w 21|x 20131119|t 20190904|q CNV|r ovn|v 9|y 20190813|z 0
949 |b 35192044861577|c Fiction Jewell|h GH|j GH|l AFIC|m PBK|s C|p 10.58|w 45|x 20131119|t 20191118|q CNV|r JAM|v 13|y 20190819|z 3
949 |b 35192044861569|c Fiction Jewell|h MN|j MN|l AFIC|m PBK|s S|p 10.58|w 41|x 20131119|t 20190826|q CNV|r CNV|v 10|y 20190109|z 0
991 |a bl|a do|a ea|a gh|a ma|a mn|a se|b 10-31-13|c m|d a|e 6|f eng|g nyu|h 0|i 7
988 |a .o8693328|c 7|l multi|f b|s a|x 07-09-13|y 10-16-13|z 10-31-13|3 s|k bl|k do|k ea|k ma|k mn|k rp|k se
998 4|a LDR0905 20170611044428 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170611044428 NPUB