The Orphan Choir
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(3)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Picador, 2014, c2013.
Format:
Book
Edition:
First U.S. edition.
Physical Desc:
273 pages ; 22 cm.
Status:
Bellevue - Adult Fiction
Fiction Hannah
Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction
Fiction Hannah
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Fiction Hannah
Description

A MOTHER WITH AN EMPTY NEST IS BEING HAUNTED BY A GHOSTLY CHILDREN'S CHOIR. ARE THEY GIVING HER AN IMPORTANT MESSAGE THAT ONLY SHE CAN HEAR, OR ARE THEIR MOTIVES MORE SINISTER?

Louise Beeston is being haunted. Louise has no reason left to stay in the city. She can't see her son, Joseph, who is away at boarding school, where he performs in a prestigious boys' choir. Her troublesome neighbor has begun blasting choral music at all hours of the night--and to make matters worse, she's the only one who can hear it.

Hoping to find some peace, Louise convinces her husband, Stuart, to buy them a country house in an idyllic, sun-dappled gated community called Swallowfield. But it seems that the haunting melodies of the choir have followed her there. Could it be that her city neighbor has trailed her to Swallowfield, just to play an elaborate, malicious prank? Is there really a ghostly chorus playing outside her door? And why won't they stop? Growing desperate, she begins to worry about her mental health.

Against the pleas and growing disquiet of her husband, Louise starts to suspect that this sinister choir is not only real but a warning. But of what? And how can it be, when no one else can hear it?

In The Orphan Choir , Sophie Hannah brings us along on a darkly suspenseful investigation of obsession, loss, and the malevolent forces that threaten to break apart a loving family.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Bellevue - Adult Fiction
Fiction Hannah
On Shelf
Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction
Fiction Hannah
On Shelf
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Fiction Hannah
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250041029, 1250041023

Notes

General Note
Originally published in Great Britain by Arrow Books.
Description
"Louise Beeston is haunted... Louise has no reason left to stay in the city. She can't see her son, Joseph, who is away at boarding school where he performs in a prestigious boys' choir. And her troublesome neighbor has begun blasting choral music all hours of the night. And to make matters worse, she's the only one who can hear it. Hoping to find some peace, Louise convinces her husband, David, to buy them a country house in an idyllic, sun-dappled community called Swallowfield. But it seems that the haunting melodies of the choir have followed her there. Could it be that her city neighbor has trailed her to Swallowfield, just to play an elaborate, malicious prank? Is there really a ghostly chorus playing outside her door? And why won't they stop? Growing desperate, she begins to worry about her mental health. Against the pleas and growing disquiet of her husband, Louise starts to suspect that this sinister choir is not only real, but a warning. But of what? And how can it be, when no one else can hear it? In The Orphan Choir, Sophie Hannah brings us along on a darkly suspenseful investigation of obsession, loss, and the malevolent forces that threaten to break apart a loving family. - The Orphan Choir was a major bestseller in the U.K. when it published in June 2013, outselling Hannah's immensely popular Zailer and Waterhouse series. - For fans of Shirley Jackson and Stephen King "--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Hannah, S. (20142013). The Orphan Choir. First U.S. edition. New York: Picador.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Hannah, Sophie, 1971-. 20142013. The Orphan Choir. New York: Picador.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Hannah, Sophie, 1971-, The Orphan Choir. New York: Picador, 20142013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Hannah, Sophie. The Orphan Choir. First U.S. edition. New York: Picador, 20142013. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
353a6e07-fd7b-7616-5fab-6f00097d236e
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeNov 06, 2019 03:26:52 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeDec 07, 2019 11:12:40 PM

MARC Record

LEADER03040cam a2200409 i 4500
001ocn855858202
003OCoLC
00520140213074448.0
008130813t20142013nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2013028081
020 |a 9781250041029
020 |a 1250041023
049 |a TNNA
099 |a Fiction|a Hannah
1001 |a Hannah, Sophie,|d 1971-
24514|a The Orphan Choir /|c Sophie Hannah.
250 |a First U.S. edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Picador,|c 2014, c2013.
300 |a 273 pages ;|c 22 cm.
336 |a text|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier.
500 |a Originally published in Great Britain by Arrow Books.
520 |a "Louise Beeston is haunted... Louise has no reason left to stay in the city. She can't see her son, Joseph, who is away at boarding school where he performs in a prestigious boys' choir. And her troublesome neighbor has begun blasting choral music all hours of the night. And to make matters worse, she's the only one who can hear it. Hoping to find some peace, Louise convinces her husband, David, to buy them a country house in an idyllic, sun-dappled community called Swallowfield. But it seems that the haunting melodies of the choir have followed her there. Could it be that her city neighbor has trailed her to Swallowfield, just to play an elaborate, malicious prank? Is there really a ghostly chorus playing outside her door? And why won't they stop? Growing desperate, she begins to worry about her mental health. Against the pleas and growing disquiet of her husband, Louise starts to suspect that this sinister choir is not only real, but a warning. But of what? And how can it be, when no one else can hear it? In The Orphan Choir, Sophie Hannah brings us along on a darkly suspenseful investigation of obsession, loss, and the malevolent forces that threaten to break apart a loving family. - The Orphan Choir was a major bestseller in the U.K. when it published in June 2013, outselling Hannah's immensely popular Zailer and Waterhouse series. - For fans of Shirley Jackson and Stephen King "--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Women|x Mental health|v Fiction.
650 0|a Psychological fiction, English.
650 0|a Suspense fiction, English.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b22182639|b 02-16-17|c 10-24-13
910 |a CARL0000425400
991 |a bl|a ep|a go|a (2)gh|a hm|a in|a mn|a se|b 02-13-14|c m|d a|e 8|f eng|g nyu|h 4|i 9
988 |a .o8774717|c 8|l multi|f b|s a|x 10-25-13|y 01-29-14|z 02-13-14|3 s|k bl|k ep|k gh|k hm|k ma|k mn|k rp|k tl
998 4|a LDR0905 20170611052402 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170611052402 NPUB
949 |b 35192045152984|c Fiction Hannah|h BL|j BL|l AFIC|m BK|s S|p 14.55|w 30|x 20140219|t 20180917|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20170630|z 0
949 |b 35192045153057|c Fiction Hannah|h GO|j GO|l AFIC|m BK|s S|p 14.55|w 16|x 20140219|t 20190917|q CNV|r MEP|v 1|y 20190831|z 0
949 |b 35192045153032|c Fiction Hannah|h MN|j MN|l AFIC|m BK|s S|p 14.55|w 11|x 20140219|t 20170702|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20170630|z 0