To dwell in darkness : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2014].
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Desc:
324 pages : maps ; 24 cm.
Status:
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Fiction Crombie
Hermitage - Adult Fiction
Fiction Crombie
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Fiction Crombie
Description

In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder.

 Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Station. By fortunate coincidence, Melody Talbot, Gemma's trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander.

The bombing isn't the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He's still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss--who's been avoiding him--is attacked, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values--and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Fiction Crombie
On Shelf
Hermitage - Adult Fiction
Fiction Crombie
On Shelf
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Fiction Crombie
On Shelf
Southeast - Adult Fiction
Fiction Crombie
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062271600 (hardcover), 0062271601 (hardcover)

Notes

General Note
Map on lining papers.
Description
"In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder. Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Station. By fortunate coincidence, Melody Talbot, Gemma's trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander. The bombing isn't the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He's still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss--who's been avoiding him--is attacked, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values--and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is" --,from publisher's web site.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Crombie, D. (2014). To dwell in darkness: a novel. First edition. New York, NY: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Crombie, Deborah. 2014. To Dwell in Darkness: A Novel. New York, NY: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Crombie, Deborah, To Dwell in Darkness: A Novel. New York, NY: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2014.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Crombie, Deborah. To Dwell in Darkness: A Novel. First edition. New York, NY: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2014. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
6582f121-fd60-05b8-73e9-b95f027def88
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeDec 06, 2019 11:21:02 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeDec 08, 2019 10:43:16 PM

MARC Record

LEADER03451cam a2200457 i 4500
001ocn873503973
003OCoLC
00520140924062955.0
008130622s2014    nyub          000 f eng  
020 |a 9780062271600 (hardcover)
020 |a 0062271601 (hardcover)
043 |a e-uk-en
049 |a TNNA
099 |a Fiction|a Crombie
1001 |a Crombie, Deborah.
24510|a To dwell in darkness :|b a novel /|c Deborah Crombie.
250 |a First edition.
264 1|a New York, NY :|b William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,|c [2014]
300 |a 324 pages :|b maps ;|c 24 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
500 |a Map on lining papers.
520 |a "In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder. Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Station. By fortunate coincidence, Melody Talbot, Gemma's trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander. The bombing isn't the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He's still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss--who's been avoiding him--is attacked, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values--and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is" --|c from publisher's web site.
650 0|a Kincaid, Duncan (Fictitious character)|v Fiction.
650 0|a James, Gemma (Fictitious character : Crombie)|v Fiction.
650 0|a Police|z England|z London|v Fiction.
650 0|a Murder|x Investigation|v Fiction.
650 0|a Detective and mystery stories, American.
651 0|a London (England)|v Fiction.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b22209943|b 12-05-16|c 11-15-13
910 |a CARL0000426255
949 |b 35192046435941|c Fiction Crombie|h GH|j GH|l AFIC|m BK|s S|p 14.37|w 33|x 20140924|t 20191125|q CNV|r CNV|v 3|y 20181024|z 1
949 |b 35192046435958|c Fiction Crombie|h HM|j HM|l AFIC|m BK|s S|p 14.37|w 16|x 20140924|t 20191125|q CNV|r CNV|v 2|y 20191112|z 0
949 |b 35192046435974|c Fiction Crombie|h MN|j MN|l AFIC|m BK|s S|p 14.37|w 27|x 20140924|t 20191118|q CNV|r CNV|v 4|y 20191031|z 0
949 |b 35192046435990|c Fiction Crombie|h SE|j SE|l AFIC|m BK|s S|p 14.37|w 15|x 20140924|t 20191206|q CNV|r CNV|v 2|y 20191105|z 2
991 |a bl|a do|a ep|a gh|a hm|a ma|a mn|a oh|a rp|a se|a tl|b 09-24-14|c m|d a|e 5|f eng|g nyu|h 0|i 11
988 |a .o8792148|c 10|l multi|f b|s a|x 11-15-13|y 09-23-14|z 09-24-14|3 s|k bl|k do|k ep|k gh|k hm|k ma|k mn|k rp|k se|k tl
998 4|a LDR0905 20170611052908 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170611052908 NPUB