Trespassing on Einstein's lawn : a father, a daughter, the meaning of nothing, and the beginning of everything
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Bantam Books, [2014].
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
418 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm.
Status:
Bellevue - Adult Non-Fiction
530.01 G299t
Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction
530.01 G299t
Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction
530.01 G299t
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS In a memoir of family bonding and cutting-edge physics for readers of Brian Greene's The Hidden Reality and Jim Holt's Why Does the World Exist?, Amanda Gefter tells the story of how she conned her way into a career as a science journalist--and wound up hanging out, talking shop, and butting heads with the world's most brilliant minds. At a Chinese restaurant outside of Philadelphia, a father asks his fifteen-year-old daughter a deceptively simple question: "How would you define nothing?" With that, the girl who once tried to fail geometry as a conscientious objector starts reading up on general relativity and quantum mechanics, as she and her dad embark on a life-altering quest for the answers to the universe's greatest mysteries. Before Amanda Gefter became an accomplished science writer, she was a twenty-one-year-old magazine assistant willing to sneak her and her father, Warren, into a conference devoted to their physics hero, John Wheeler. Posing as journalists, Amanda and Warren met Wheeler, who offered them cryptic clues to the nature of reality: The universe is a self-excited circuit, he said. And, The boundary of a boundary is zero. Baffled, Amanda and Warren vowed to decode the phrases--and with them, the enigmas of existence. When we solve all that, they agreed, we'll write a book. Trespassing on Einstein's Lawn is that book, a memoir of the impassioned hunt that takes Amanda and her father from New York to London to Los Alamos. Along the way, they bump up against quirky science and even quirkier personalities, including Leonard Susskind, the former Bronx plumber who invented string theory; Ed Witten, the soft-spoken genius who coined the enigmatic M-theory; even Stephen Hawking. What they discover is extraordinary: the beginnings of a monumental paradigm shift in cosmology, from a single universe we all share to a splintered reality in which each observer has her own. Reality, the Gefters learn, is radically observer-dependent, far beyond anything of which Einstein or the founders of quantum mechanics ever dreamed--with shattering consequences for our understanding of the universe's origin. And somehow it all ties back to that conversation, to that Chinese restaurant, and to the true meaning of nothing. Throughout their journey, Amanda struggles to make sense of her own life--as her journalism career transforms from illusion to reality, as she searches for her voice as a writer, as she steps from a universe shared with her father to at last carve out one of her own. It's a paradigm shift you might call growing up. By turns hilarious, moving, irreverent, and profound, Trespassing on Einstein's Lawn weaves together story and science in remarkable ways. By the end, you will never look at the universe the same way again. Praise for Trespassing on Einstein's Lawn "Nothing quite prepared me for this book. Wow. Reading it, I alternated between depression--how could the rest of us science writers ever match this?--and exhilaration." -- Scientific American "To Do: Read Trespassing on Einstein's Lawn . Reality doesn't have to bite." -- New York "A zany superposition of genres . . . It's at once a coming-of-age chronicle and a father-daughter road trip to the far reaches of this universe and 10,500 others." -- The Philadelphia Inquirer
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Bellevue - Adult Non-Fiction
530.01 G299t
On Shelf
Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction
530.01 G299t
On Shelf
Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction
530.01 G299t
On Shelf
Thompson Lane - Adult Non-Fiction
530.01 G299t
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780345531438 (acid-free paper), 0345531434 (acid-free paper)

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references.
Description
"Opening with the author's attempt to sneak herself and her father into a conference attended by the planet's great scientific thinkers (including Brian Greene, Max Tegmark, and coiner of the term "black hole" John Wheeler), Trespassing on Einstein's Lawn takes readers on an exhilarating and memorable journey to the mysterious heart of the universe"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Gefter, A. (2014). Trespassing on Einstein's lawn: a father, a daughter, the meaning of nothing, and the beginning of everything. New York: Bantam Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Gefter, Amanda. 2014. Trespassing On Einstein's Lawn: A Father, a Daughter, the Meaning of Nothing, and the Beginning of Everything. New York: Bantam Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Gefter, Amanda, Trespassing On Einstein's Lawn: A Father, a Daughter, the Meaning of Nothing, and the Beginning of Everything. New York: Bantam Books, 2014.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Gefter, Amanda. Trespassing On Einstein's Lawn: A Father, a Daughter, the Meaning of Nothing, and the Beginning of Everything. New York: Bantam Books, 2014. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
562c9bcb-e35a-9bbf-e885-8df75e05ea0f
Go To Grouped Work View in Staff Client
Last File Modification Time Aug 14, 2018 11:59:31 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Oct 16, 2018 11:26:17 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02165cam a2200433 i 4500
001ocn844789517
003OCoLC
00520140211114401.0
008130522s2014    nyu      b    000 0 eng  
010 |a 2013013874
020 |a 9780345531438 (acid-free paper)
020 |a 0345531434 (acid-free paper)
042 |a pcc
049 |a TNNA
092 |a 530.01 |b G299t
1001 |a Gefter, Amanda.
24510 |a Trespassing on Einstein's lawn : |b a father, a daughter, the meaning of nothing, and the beginning of everything / |c Amanda Gefter.
264 1 |a New York : |b Bantam Books, |c [2014]
300 |a 418 pages : |b illustrations ; |c 25 cm.
336 |a text |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |2 rdacarrier.
520 |a "Opening with the author's attempt to sneak herself and her father into a conference attended by the planet's great scientific thinkers (including Brian Greene, Max Tegmark, and coiner of the term "black hole" John Wheeler), Trespassing on Einstein's Lawn takes readers on an exhilarating and memorable journey to the mysterious heart of the universe"-- |c Provided by publisher.
504 |a Includes bibliographical references.
60010 |a Gefter, Amanda |v Anecdotes.
650 0 |a Physics |x Philosophy.
650 0 |a Beginning.
650 0 |a Quantum theory.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b22306596 |b 02-15-17 |c 01-17-14
910 |a CARL0000430334
949 |b 35192045152174 |c 530.01 G299t |h BL |j BL |l ANF |m BK |s S |p 16.29 |w 13 |x 20140219 |t 20170702 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170630 |z 0
949 |b 35192045152182 |c 530.01 G299t |h HM |j HM |l ANF |m BK |s S |p 16.29 |w 17 |x 20140219 |t 20180814 |q CNV |r CNV |v 4 |y 20170630 |z 0
949 |b 35192045152190 |c 530.01 G299t |h MN |j MN |l ANF |m BK |s S |p 16.29 |w 45 |x 20140219 |t 20180326 |q CNV |r DJH |v 2 |y 20180221 |z 0
949 |b 35192045410788 |c 530.01 G299t |h TL |j TL |l ANF |m BK |s S |p 28.00 |w 18 |x 20140918 |t 20180517 |q CNV |r CNV |v 1 |y 20170630 |z 0
991 |a bl |a hm |a mn |a tl |b 02-11-14 |c m |d a |e 8 |f eng |g nyu |h 0 |i 4
988 |a .o8836784 |c 3 |l multi |f b |s a |x 01-17-14 |y 01-28-14 |z 02-11-14 |3 s |k bl |k gh |k mn
998 4 |a LDR0905 20170611055223 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170611055223 NPUB