Pieces of why
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(2)
Author:
Published:
New York, New York : Kathy Dawson Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) LLC, [2015].
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
pages cm.
Status:
Madison - Kids Fiction
JUV Fiction Going
Main Library - Kids Fiction
JUV Fiction Going
Description
From the award winning author of Fat Kid Rules the World and The Liberation of Gabriel King comes a lyrical, middle grade gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes--perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine Tia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend. Tia's dream is to change the world with her voice; and by all accounts, she might be talented enough. But when a shooting happens in her neighborhood and she learns the truth about the crime that sent her father to prison years ago, Tia finds she can't sing anymore. The loss prompts her to start asking the people in her community hard questions--questions everyone has always been too afraid to ask. Full of humanity, Pieces of Why is a timely story that addresses grief, healing, and forgiveness, told through the eyes of a gifted girl who hears rhythm and song everywhere in her life.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Madison - Kids Fiction
JUV Fiction Going
On Shelf
Main Library - Kids Fiction
JUV Fiction Going
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780803734746 (hardcover), 0803734743 (hardcover)
Reading Level:
MG
Level 4.9, 6 Points
Lexile measure:
790

Notes

Description
Twelve-year-old Tia lives in a white slum in New Orleans with her mother, and her whole world revolves around singing in the gospel choir with her best friend, Keisha--but when practice is interrupted by a shooting outside the church, and a baby is killed, Tia finds that she cannot sing, and she is forced to confront her feelings about her incarcerated father who killed a girl in a failed robbery years before.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Going, K. L. (2015). Pieces of why. New York, New York: Kathy Dawson Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) LLC.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Going, K. L. 2015. Pieces of Why. New York, New York: Kathy Dawson Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) LLC.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Going, K. L, Pieces of Why. New York, New York: Kathy Dawson Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) LLC, 2015.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Going, K. L. Pieces of Why. New York, New York: Kathy Dawson Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) LLC, 2015. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
0e15e0a4-6cba-aa60-c357-242f85f1db90
Go To Grouped Work View in Staff Client
Last File Modification Time May 21, 2019 11:25:07 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time May 21, 2019 11:13:55 PM

MARC Record

LEADER04660cam a2200709 i 4500
001ocn899137960
003OCoLC
00520150923101836.0
008141219s2015    nyu    c      000 1 eng c
010 |a 2014040314
020 |a 9780803734746 (hardcover)
020 |a 0803734743 (hardcover)
042 |a lcac |a pcc
043 |a n-us-la
049 |a TNNA
099 |a JUV |a Fiction |a Going
1001 |a Going, K. L. |q (Kelly L.), |e author.
24510 |a Pieces of why / |c by K.L. Going.
264 1 |a New York, New York : |b Kathy Dawson Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) LLC, |c [2015]
300 |a pages cm.
336 |a text |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |2 rdacarrier.
520 |a Twelve-year-old Tia lives in a white slum in New Orleans with her mother, and her whole world revolves around singing in the gospel choir with her best friend, Keisha--but when practice is interrupted by a shooting outside the church, and a baby is killed, Tia finds that she cannot sing, and she is forced to confront her feelings about her incarcerated father who killed a girl in a failed robbery years before.
650 0 |a Gospel singers |v Juvenile fiction.
650 0 |a Children's choirs |v Juvenile fiction.
650 0 |a Children of prisoners |v Juvenile fiction.
650 0 |a Traumatic neuroses |v Juvenile fiction.
650 0 |a Fathers and daughters |v Juvenile fiction.
650 0 |a Mothers and daughters |v Juvenile fiction.
651 0 |a New Orleans (La.) |v Juvenile fiction.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b23130982 |b 11-28-15 |c 09-11-15
908 |a  2014040314
910 |a CARL0000472917
949 |b 35192047938091 |c JUV Fiction Going |h MN |j MN |l JFIC |m BK |s S |p 9.40 |w 9 |x 20151013 |t 20190326 |q CNV |r CNV |v 2 |y 20181129 |z 0
949 |b 35192047938083 |c JUV Fiction Going |h MA |j MA |l JFIC |m BK |s S |p 9.40 |w 3 |x 20151013 |t 20170702 |q CNV |r JAM |v 0 |y 20181207 |z 1
949 |b B00754589 |c F GOI |h 44130 |j 44130 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 5 |x 20150930 |t 20190520 |q CNV |r JAM |v 2 |y 20190510 |z 0
949 |b B00755318 |c F GOI |h 45238 |j 45238 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 3 |x 20151102 |t 20190520 |q CNV |r JAM |v 0 |y 20190517 |z 0
949 |b B00753485 |c F GOI |h 46260 |j 46260 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 17.00 |w 4 |x 20150924 |t 20190322 |q CNV |r CNV |v 2 |y 20170701 |z 0
949 |b B00754363 |c F GOI |h 47270 |j 47270 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 9.00 |w 9 |x 20150930 |t 20190514 |q CNV |r JAM |v 1 |y 20180522 |z 2
949 |b B00751299 |c F GOI |h 48275 |j 48275 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 7 |x 20150918 |t 20190509 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170701 |z 2
949 |b B00753085 |c F GOI |h 4B355 |j 4B355 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 1 |x 20150924 |t 20181011 |q CNV |r JAM |v 0 |y 20181009 |z 0
949 |b B00754702 |c F GOI |h 4D400 |j 4D400 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 1 |x 20151009 |t 20151111 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170701 |z 0
949 |b B00752539 |c F GOI |h 4E410 |j 4E410 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 1 |x 20150921 |t 20151124 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170701 |z 0
949 |b B00751637 |c F GOI |h 4F434 |j 4F434 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 2 |x 20150918 |t 20180205 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170701 |z 0
949 |b B00752442 |c F GOI |h 4H498 |j 4H498 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 13 |x 20150922 |t 20190301 |q CNV |r CNV |v 2 |y 20170701 |z 0
949 |b B00754253 |c F GOI |h 4I510 |j 4I510 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 7 |x 20150930 |t 20180124 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170701 |z 0
949 |b B00753800 |c F GOI |h 4J535 |j 4J535 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 3 |x 20150924 |t 20180822 |q CNV |r MDB |v 0 |y 20180820 |z 0
949 |b B00753382 |c F GOI |h 4K540 |j 4K540 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 9 |x 20150924 |t 20190515 |q CNV |r JAM |v 2 |y 20190510 |z 0
949 |b B00752249 |c F GOI |h 4L545 |j 4L545 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 4 |x 20150924 |t 20190513 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170701 |z 1
949 |b B00752848 |c F GOI |h 4N555 |j 4N555 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 2 |x 20150924 |t 20151022 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170701 |z 0
949 |b B00752350 |c F GOI |h 4S612 |j 4S612 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 5 |x 20150922 |t 20180920 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170701 |z 0
949 |b B00751197 |c F GOI |h 4T675 |j 4T675 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 5 |x 20150917 |t 20190124 |q CNV |r CNV |v 1 |y 20170701 |z 0
949 |b B00751538 |c F GOI |h 6H705 |j 6H705 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 4 |x 20150917 |t 20161026 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170701 |z 0
949 |b B00751095 |c F GOI |h 4U730 |j 4U730 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 4 |x 20150917 |t 20180514 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170701 |z 0
949 |b B00751436 |c F GOI |h 4V770 |j 4V770 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 16.99 |w 0 |x 20150917 |t 20170701 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170701 |z 0
949 |b B00753573 |c REAL F GOI |h 4X805 |j 4X805 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 17.00 |w 8 |x 20150924 |t 20190325 |q CNV |r CNV |v 2 |y 20170701 |z 0
991 |a (3)child |a eh |a ma |a mn |b 09-23-15 |c m |d a |e 8 |f eng |g nyu |h 0 |i 1
988 |a .o9715629 |c 3 |l multi |f b |s a |x 09-11-15 |y 09-17-15 |z 09-23-15 |3 s |k eh |k ma |k mn
998 4 |a LDR0905 20170611105052 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170615011256 NSCH |b LDR0905 20170611105052 NPUB