NPL now offers curbside service at select locations. Book drops are open at all library locations.

The Three-year Swim Club the untold story of Maui's Sugar Ditch kids and their quest for Olympic glory
(CD audio book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors:
Published:
New York : Hachette Audio, 2015.
Format:
CD audio book
Edition:
Unabridged retail ed.
Physical Desc:
14 sound discs (900 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Status:
Green Hills - Adult Audiobook
CD AUDIO 797.21 C5149t
Description
For readers of Unbroken and The Boys in the Boat comes the inspirational, untold story of impoverished children who transformed themselves into world-class swimmers.

In 1937, a schoolteacher on the island of Maui challenged a group of poverty-stricken sugar plantation kids to swim upstream against the current of their circumstance. The goal? To become Olympians.

They faced seemingly insurmountable obstacles. The children were Japanese-American, were malnourished and barefoot and had no pool; they trained in the filthy irrigation ditches that snaked down from the mountains into the sugarcane fields. Their future was in those same fields, working alongside their parents in virtual slavery, known not by their names but by numbered tags that hung around their necks. Their teacher, Soichi Sakamoto, was an ordinary man whose swimming ability didn't extend much beyond treading water.

In spite of everything, including the virulent anti-Japanese sentiment of the late 1930s, in their first year the children outraced Olympic athletes twice their size; in their second year, they were national and international champs, shattering American and world records and making headlines from L.A. to Nazi Germany. In their third year, they'd be declared the greatest swimmers in the world, but they'd also face their greatest obstacle: the dawning of a world war and the cancellation of the Games. Still, on the battlefield, they'd become the 20 th century's most celebrated heroes, and in 1948, they'd have one last chance for Olympic glory.

They were the Three-Year Swim Club. This is their story.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Green Hills - Adult Audiobook
CD AUDIO 797.21 C5149t
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781619693845, 1619693844
UPC:
9781619693845
Lexile measure:
1260

Notes

General Note
Title from web page.
General Note
Compact discs.
Participants/Performers
Read by Alex Chadwick.
Description
The inspirational story of a group of impoverished children who were transformed into champion swimmers. In 1937 an ordinary grammar school teacher on the island of Maui took a group of underprivileged children mostly of Japanese ancestry and, in three short years, transformed them into Olympic champions.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Checkoway, J., & Chadwick, A. (2015). The Three-year Swim Club: the untold story of Maui's Sugar Ditch kids and their quest for Olympic glory. Unabridged retail ed. New York: Hachette Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Checkoway, Julie and Alex. Chadwick. 2015. The Three-year Swim Club: The Untold Story of Maui's Sugar Ditch Kids and Their Quest for Olympic Glory. New York: Hachette Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Checkoway, Julie and Alex. Chadwick, The Three-year Swim Club: The Untold Story of Maui's Sugar Ditch Kids and Their Quest for Olympic Glory. New York: Hachette Audio, 2015.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Checkoway, Julie., and Alex Chadwick. The Three-year Swim Club: The Untold Story of Maui's Sugar Ditch Kids and Their Quest for Olympic Glory. Unabridged retail ed. New York: Hachette Audio, 2015.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
f8cb818c-343b-e2df-1ac5-00197aadb9cb
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeJun 16, 2020 11:42:11 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJul 04, 2020 11:22:34 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01966cim a2200445 a 4500
001ocn907157328
003OCoLC
00520151130114813.0
007sd fungnnmmneu        
008150305s2015    nyunnnn        b  n eng d
020 |a 9781619693845
020 |a 1619693844
0243 |a 9781619693845
043 |a n-us-hi|a n-us---
049 |a TNNA
099 |a CD AUDIO|a 797.21|a C5149t
1001 |a Checkoway, Julie.
24514|a The Three-year Swim Club|h [sound recording] :|b the untold story of Maui's Sugar Ditch kids and their quest for Olympic glory /|c Julie Checkoway.
250 |a Unabridged retail ed.
260 |a New York :|b Hachette Audio,|c 2015.
300 |a 14 sound discs (900 min.) :|b digital ;|c 4 3/4 in.
306 |a 150000.
500 |a Title from web page.
5110 |a Read by Alex Chadwick.
500 |a Compact discs.
520 |a The inspirational story of a group of impoverished children who were transformed into champion swimmers. In 1937 an ordinary grammar school teacher on the island of Maui took a group of underprivileged children mostly of Japanese ancestry and, in three short years, transformed them into Olympic champions.
61120|a Olympic Games|n (14th :|d 1948 :|c London, England).
650 0|a Japanese American children|z Hawaii|z Maui.
650 0|a Swimming|z Hawaii|z Maui|x History.
650 0|a Swimmers|z Hawaii|z Maui|v Biography.
650 0|a Audiobooks.
7001 |a Chadwick, Alex.
898 |a qBookOnCD
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b23156429|b 12-05-15|c 10-09-15
910 |a CARL0000475330
949 |b 35192048073732|c CD AUDIO 797.21 C5149t|h GH|j GH|l AAUBK|m CDA|n 001.Includes 14 discs|s S|p 16.50|w 24|x 20151204|t 20200616|q CNV|r CNV|v 3|y 20180626|z 0
991 |a do|a gh|b 11-30-15|c m|d 3|e 8|f eng|g nyu|h 4|i 1
988 |a .o9742682|c 2|l multi|f a|s a|x 10-09-15|y 11-18-15|z 11-30-15|3 s|k do|k gh
998 4|a LDR0905 20170611110614 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170611110614 NPUB